We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at Amberwood!”
Review of Amberwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amberwood
Certificate of Excellence
Dunwoody, GA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Time at Amberwood!”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed a week- a few days in the Sunday house and a few in the Honeymoon Cottage (#8). Both were a superior value to others in the area. The accommodations were neat and clean with comfortable beds and modern baths. La Nelle was a gracious host and went out of her way to be sure we were well taken care off. Internet in lobby works great. Location is 1 1/2 mi from Fall River entrance to RMNP. We would certainly return.

  • Liked — value and overall cleanliness/comfort
  • Disliked — nothing, really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KellySusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    54
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
120
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

You just can't say enough about Amberwood......It all starts with the wonderful Southern Hospitality you receive from LaNelle. Such a sweet woman, with a box of chocolates in hand, that was a hit with the wife. We were lucky enough to meet her son Bob, who built the Mountain Home #9, that we stayed in, again you can see where he got his kindness. The Mountain Home was very clean, incredible craftsmanship and just right down homey! The fireplace was a huge hit and we burned in it daily, and LaNelle kept us stocked on wood, she was like a ninja, it quietly kept appearing on our porch. Oh and by the way it is only pine, I asked Bob where do you get some oak or locust, he said in Missouri. I forgot no hardwoods out there, duh! This will without a doubt be our Estes Park home when we visit, which is usually once a year, cause that is exactly how they made us feel like it was home and they were our family!
If you stay anywhere else in Estes Park you are truely missing out! The wildlife is everywhere, we have photos of bull elk fighting in the front yard, very cool sight it was to see. Just right up the road is the North entrance into Rocky Mountain National Park and we saw bighorn sheep and more elk all over. We even had a red fox approach us while we were out on the front poarch. Then after our 4 days were up we had to go home we met Dave, and again you just can't say enough about the friendliness and hospitality, Dave went out of his way the evening before we left to print our boarding passes for our flight.
From myself and my wife we would like to say Thanks again for a wonderful time and giving us the weekend we needed, LaNelle, Bob and Dave you are the best, and felt like long lost family to us.
Thanks, Loren & Shelley Starr

  • Liked — The hospitality from owner and staff. Not to mention the great Mountain Home!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Farman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

I have stayed at Amberwood numerous times over the last few years. This is the place to stay if your going to spend most of your time in RMNP. The owners/staff are VERY friendly and accomodating and that is probably the biggest appeal. This is not a four star hotel but it is priced accordingly. It is an EXCELLENT value for what you get.

Flatlanders like me will feel like they are already in the park. They are surrounded be mountain views and wildlife is everywhere.

There are all different types of cabins for 2 people to 10+ and they offer different levels of comfort. Amberwood does not have airconditioning...as many northern colorado hotels do not..so in the summer months the windows are probably going to be open. Another issue is that I am tall and in one of the cabins I could not stand up all the way in one of the showers.

Estes Park is not really a great restaurant town..so to have a kitchen is great...They do a great job making sure you have everything you need to prepare meals. Most cabins and condos I've stayed in you had to bring pans and stuff...very inconvenient.

Ive included photos of the inside of the largest cabin (for large groups) and picture of an elk in the parking area.

P.S. If you want to see a lot of Elk the mid september mating season is CRAZY ...they are everwhere.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texan_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, WY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I stayed at the Sunday house for one night which is the 6 room hotel on the property. You can't beat the price and your only 2 miles from the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park. Each room has a fireplace and they supply you with a fire log for free. The room was very clean, the bed was firm and comfortable, the furniture was a little worn. If your only going to be in town for a short while and looking for a good deal you can't beat the Sunday house at Amberwood.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin_g_Despain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Owner/Management religiousity was clearly on display with gideon bibles all over the place. Nevertheless, the people were very nice, the place was clean and comfortable, and the price was more than reasonable. We'd go back...

  • Liked — Price/Value
  • Disliked — Bibles
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucretious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed at Amberwood on the last 2 nights of our Colorado vacation. The room was very clean and comfortable. Since all the cabins were full, we stayed in the Sunday House. The view from the porch was beautiful! We especially loved the fireplace. Amberwood is very convenient to town and RMNP. The only thing lacking in our room was a dining table. We would definitely stay at Amberwood again, hopefully in a cabin next time.

  • Liked — scenery
  • Disliked — small size
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake, va
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

After reading the reviews on this site, I was excited to stay at Amberwood. Even when my husband and I checked in, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great area and looks rustic from the road.

Then we opened the door. The cabin smelled musty and even when the windows were opened all day we could not get rid of the smell. There was a couch in the living area. I sat on it and dust flew into the air. It smelled so bad I did not sit on it again.

I have to say I was disappointed in Amberwood. My husband commented that it was clean, but everything was so old and worn I never felt clean. We were staying several places in Colorado and I was gald to leave and go to the next place.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank teachlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberwood

Property: Amberwood
Address: 1889 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amberwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amberwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberwood Estes Park
Amberwood Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing