We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a BIG family vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic River Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for a BIG family vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was so lucky to find Rustic River Cabins for our family vacation. We had 24 people total and were able to rent four cabins next to each other for the weekend. The firepit was utilized every night as well as the grills that were provided for each cabin. The kids and toddlers in the group loved the trails that were behind the cabins to climb and explore and it was great being on the river, but being far enough above that we did not have to worry about the little ones getting too curious and falling in. The owners did everything they could to make sure that our experience was fantastic. I really appreciate all the extra touches and care that they provided.

Room Tip: We had cabins 3-6 which were closer to the firepit and public hot tub. Cabin 3 is the farthest from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

These are nice, rustic cabins right on the Big Thompson river. Owners are very nice, and cabins are clean. They are a couple miles outside of Estes Park so you feel like you are out of town, but still very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djoseph10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 5 and it was quaint and serene. I would call it rustic (hence the name of the cabins) but in a cute way. The cabin was older but CLEAN! This is the most important feature of any place I stay. James, one of the owners, informed us that they bought the place a couple years ago and are still in the process of fixing it up. They got side tracked by the flood and had to focus their attention on the repairs. But besides a few minor things (like a drawer being broke and maybe updating the bathroom fixtures) it was wonderful!
Cabin 5 has its own private hot tub and it is nice. But just as James predicted, my husband and son fell in love with the HUGE hot tub that all the cabins share and wanted to use that one instead!
An added bonus is a couple trails behind the property. We enjoyed a few hours back there hiking and exploring.
I loved the little back windows that look out to the rock wall that is directly behind the cabin. It reminded me of a display at the zoo. Such a silly thing but it made me smile.
Thank you for such a wonderful time! We will miss our little cabin!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is a throw back to yesteryear, extremely clean and comfortable cabins, the owners are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. We stayed in cabin 3 I think. It was on the small side for 3 people but we were only their to sleep and shower. It appears the owners have done a lot of work in the place since last June when we actually stayed. Which we would have, stayed longer than just 3 nights, but had to end our vacation after being in Aspen the first part. A most definite stay again if we go back to Estes Park.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JChisolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just got back from a week in Cabin #8. It was perfect for the two of us, cozy, clean and very charming. We loved taking advantage of the private hot tub out on the balcony. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, close to downtown Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. We would definitely stay again, I miss it already!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in cabin #6 which had 2 bdrms. & 2 baths. There was no bathtub, only showers, which made it difficult bathing our 2 yr. old. We managed though. That is about the only negative I have. Everything else was awesome. They are older cabins so things are not as modern as you would have at home, but the cabin was plenty warm and comfy. Never thought there would be 3' of snow this time of year. Melted down pretty quick so we were able to take a few hikes. If you want, you could even fish right in the river a few feet from your door. The owner, James, is very helpful and friendly and goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable. You won't go wrong staying here I promise you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmommyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were looking for a weekend getaway from the city. We never imagined it would be as fun or relaxing as our stay at Rustic River. James and his wife were extremely gracious, the fishing was amazing, the hit tub even better. Thanks Rustic River!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
4.2 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#3 of 20 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.9 mi away
River Spruce
River Spruce
#3 of 77 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#30 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.1 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#12 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic River Cabins

Property: Rustic River Cabins
Address: 2550 US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80515-9712
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic River Cabins are tucked away in the Big Thompson Canyon just four miles from the center of the city of Estes Park on the Big Thompson River. We are far enough from town so you don't have to deal with the heavy traffic of Estes Park, but close enough to enjoy all that the city and the Rocky Mountain National Park have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustic River Cabins Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing