We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly and wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic River Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in cabin 3 with our 3 dogs and had a great time. The bathroom is small but it was not a problem for us at all. We arrived late in the evening and the cabin was heated perfectly and the hot tub was ready to go! The cabins were clean and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. The views from the grounds are amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurseinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We love the pictures you took. The picture of the river is our favorite also. So happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again.
Happy Holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 98 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in cabin 4 which is one of the smaller cabins—good for a couple with dogs. If you are looking for a fancy over-the-top place, this isn’t the place for you. But if you are looking for a clean and comfortable pet-friendly cabin run by friendly and more than accommodating folks, this might be the place for you. When we arrived the heat wasn't on and the cabin was very cold. The owners were helpful to get it set higher but it took a couple hours to get to a comfortable temperature. We used this cabin as a weekend base “camp” to explore nearby Rocky Mountain National Park. The only drawback is the size of the bathroom—you literally have to sit sideways on the toilet because the sink is in the way and the shower is pretty small with a very low-flow shower head that couldn’t rinse the shampoo out of a woman’s long hair. But overall, we found the place to be a nice place to stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleeper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of Rustic River Cabins. We learn a lot about what we can do better with Trip Advisor. Even though we are open year round, we are taking a lot of time to fix things like the low flowing shower heads. We definitely learned our lesson with the heaters. This is our first winter in Estes Park. We now turn up the heaters the morning of each guest arrival so that the cabin is nice and cozy when you arrive. Thanks for letting us know. We look forward to your next visit to see the improvements we have made.
Happy holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Myself and my Fiancee decided that Rustic River Cabins would be a great place to take my parents when they travelled over from England.

They absolutely loved it. The view from the hot tub, the comfort of the bed (cabin 6), the tranquility and the cosiness of the accommodation.

It was so peaceful and quiet, and the stars were so beautiful to look at while relaxing in the hot tub.

We ourselves have camped in Allenspark, and stayed just down the road in other cabins, but seriously, you could not get any more rustic, yet inspirational than this. Amazing.

Cabin had mod cons such as TV, fridgefreezer etc - yet a real fireplace so you get the authenticity of the crackling firewood as you settle down on the comfortable couch - and the shower was super nice too. Plenty of towels provided - and extra comforters for the beds.
The kitchen was nicely stocked too - fig newtons - my fave - although we brought our own food too, so I didn't get the chance to tuck into them ;)

We will certainly be coming back again!!
Very pet friendly and the owners were super nice!!

5/5 for us!

Only one issue was a neighbor who pulled up at 1am and headlamps shone into the bedroom, but besides that - perfect.

Oh - almost forgot - saw the first snowfall of this season (fall 2012) and it was even more beautiful than the previous day!

Room Tip: A couple of cabins are near the road - but don't let this put you off. Buy some firewood yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Jamie,
Thank you for the great review. Glad you were here for the first snow fall of the year. We were also just amazed at how beautiful it was. It was very nice meeting you and your family. It is one of our favorite parts of running Rustic River Cabins.

Please come for a visit when ever you are in Estes Park.

Jeanine and James Pruitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just recently stayed in Cabin 8 and were so glad that we chose to stay at this property. If you are looking for a "hotel experience" this is not for you. If you want to be outside of town and have your own cabin with a kitchen to cook in, a grill and your own hot tub and view of the river.. then this is for you. This is a more "rustic" experience which is what we wanted. We loved sitting in the hot tub over looking the river at night. We enjoyed meeting the other people that were staying there and the new owners were super nice and friendly. The weather was awesome and we were able to sleep with the windows open every night. This was a great "home away from home"!

Room Tip: Cabin 8 is near the highway so you do hear that noise. However it also has its own hot tub which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exaslonghorn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

We are so glad that you had a great experience here at Rustic River Cabins. We strive to bring you some modern amenities but with a rustic feel. So glad that you enjoyed the hot tub and the star gazing from the private deck. We are working on a solution to the road noise this off season, so check back to the website to see what work we have done.

Jeanine and James Pruitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed three nights in the large cabin the weekend of September 8. The place is in a really beautiful setting in the Big Thompson Canyon and extremely close to Estes Park. The cabin was clean, large enough for the whole family to be comforatable and I thought was reasonably priced for the weekend. We met the owners on the way out and they were very nice and caring people who just purchased the property recently. I am definitely planning on coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are so glad that you had a good stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to review Rustic River Cabins and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to Estes Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the cabin with the private hot tub which was nice. Also the grill on the deck was usable and was nice not to have to drive into town to eat. The place is pretty compact. It is along the river, but up high so you are not really sitting right next to the water.

The owners/caretakers were very nice (helped you if you needed something, but otherwise left you be).

Was also dog-friendly. Overall we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the private hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for a quick 2 nights had a 1 bedroom with outdoor whirlpool. It was nice but very close to the road and the units are not directly on the river although it is right across the driveway on their property. road noise was a bit of a problem. Everything was as promised. We had a good stay. The units were clean and access to estes was just 5 minutes down the road. They do accept pets too. Overall a decent place but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to have nice clean rustic cabins. We just took over the property a month ago and are working on making the three star reviews into four and five star reviews. Look for newly remodeled cabins and beautiful grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#25 of 78 in Estes Park
309 reviews
4.2 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#28 of 78 in Estes Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
1,024 reviews
4.1 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
165 reviews
5.1 mi away
Timber Creek Chalets
Timber Creek Chalets
#43 of 78 in Estes Park
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic River Cabins

Address: 2550 US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80515-9712
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $79 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic River Cabins are tucked away in the Big Thompson Canyon just four miles from the center of the city of Estes Park on the Big Thompson River. We are far enough from town so you don't have to deal with the heavy traffic of Estes Park, but close enough to enjoy all that the city and the Rocky Mountain National Park have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustic River Cabins Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing