We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at the cabins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic River Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay at the cabins”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Myself and my Fiancee decided that Rustic River Cabins would be a great place to take my parents when they travelled over from England.

They absolutely loved it. The view from the hot tub, the comfort of the bed (cabin 6), the tranquility and the cosiness of the accommodation.

It was so peaceful and quiet, and the stars were so beautiful to look at while relaxing in the hot tub.

We ourselves have camped in Allenspark, and stayed just down the road in other cabins, but seriously, you could not get any more rustic, yet inspirational than this. Amazing.

Cabin had mod cons such as TV, fridgefreezer etc - yet a real fireplace so you get the authenticity of the crackling firewood as you settle down on the comfortable couch - and the shower was super nice too. Plenty of towels provided - and extra comforters for the beds.
The kitchen was nicely stocked too - fig newtons - my fave - although we brought our own food too, so I didn't get the chance to tuck into them ;)

We will certainly be coming back again!!
Very pet friendly and the owners were super nice!!

5/5 for us!

Only one issue was a neighbor who pulled up at 1am and headlamps shone into the bedroom, but besides that - perfect.

Oh - almost forgot - saw the first snowfall of this season (fall 2012) and it was even more beautiful than the previous day!

Room Tip: A couple of cabins are near the road - but don't let this put you off. Buy some firewood yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Jamie,
Thank you for the great review. Glad you were here for the first snow fall of the year. We were also just amazed at how beautiful it was. It was very nice meeting you and your family. It is one of our favorite parts of running Rustic River Cabins.

Please come for a visit when ever you are in Estes Park.

Jeanine and James Pruitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just recently stayed in Cabin 8 and were so glad that we chose to stay at this property. If you are looking for a "hotel experience" this is not for you. If you want to be outside of town and have your own cabin with a kitchen to cook in, a grill and your own hot tub and view of the river.. then this is for you. This is a more "rustic" experience which is what we wanted. We loved sitting in the hot tub over looking the river at night. We enjoyed meeting the other people that were staying there and the new owners were super nice and friendly. The weather was awesome and we were able to sleep with the windows open every night. This was a great "home away from home"!

Room Tip: Cabin 8 is near the highway so you do hear that noise. However it also has its own hot tub which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exaslonghorn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so glad that you had a great experience here at Rustic River Cabins. We strive to bring you some modern amenities but with a rustic feel. So glad that you enjoyed the hot tub and the star gazing from the private deck. We are working on a solution to the road noise this off season, so check back to the website to see what work we have done.

Jeanine and James Pruitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed three nights in the large cabin the weekend of September 8. The place is in a really beautiful setting in the Big Thompson Canyon and extremely close to Estes Park. The cabin was clean, large enough for the whole family to be comforatable and I thought was reasonably priced for the weekend. We met the owners on the way out and they were very nice and caring people who just purchased the property recently. I am definitely planning on coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are so glad that you had a good stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to review Rustic River Cabins and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the cabin with the private hot tub which was nice. Also the grill on the deck was usable and was nice not to have to drive into town to eat. The place is pretty compact. It is along the river, but up high so you are not really sitting right next to the water.

The owners/caretakers were very nice (helped you if you needed something, but otherwise left you be).

Was also dog-friendly. Overall we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the private hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for a quick 2 nights had a 1 bedroom with outdoor whirlpool. It was nice but very close to the road and the units are not directly on the river although it is right across the driveway on their property. road noise was a bit of a problem. Everything was as promised. We had a good stay. The units were clean and access to estes was just 5 minutes down the road. They do accept pets too. Overall a decent place but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to have nice clean rustic cabins. We just took over the property a month ago and are working on making the three star reviews into four and five star reviews. Look for newly remodeled cabins and beautiful grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We didn't know what really to expect at 1st- But u can not go by what u see on the internet. The couple who owns the place were so awsome and go out of their way if u need anything. Not your average couple! Very down to earth with a heart of gold!
Made us feel like family.
Their currently working on somethings, but u can't call a place home without some work! It is beautiful! Due to the fire ban the bonfire was out. But. They have a nice outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. But our stay there was SWEET! The cabins are comfortable. If your looking for that perfect little hide away? You'll find it here! Your close to the highway but the traffic was not a bother. If u wanna either BBQ, or go out to eat. Not far from restaurants, shops in Estes Park. I went to Stanley Hotel to their Ghost Haunt Tour. But spent a most memorable and unforgettable very enjoyable relaxing time with my Husband here at Rustic River and plan to go back!
Great for thee whole family or a must if u just want that romantic get away! Back to nature. And that it was!
Owners James & Jenean Thank you and keep up the great work! We loved it & hated to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebberdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We are really settling into our new "job". It was a pleasure meeting both of you. We look forward to you returning for a visit. Next time, I am going with you to the Stanley Hotel for the haunting tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in cabin #4 on June 23rd and 24th, 2012. The cabins are right off the main highway. Cabin #4 was a 1 bedroom unit. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean it was. It had a nice kitchenette with a decent sized living room and one bedroom with a bathroom off the bedroom. They had a nice picnic area and the hot tub was nice as well. Unfortunately when we were there, we couldn't light a fire due to the ban. Otherwise, the only other negative was that we didn't realize that it didn't have air conditioning. It was very warm during the day, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the cabin.

Room Tip: Make sure to get cabin # 3 or higher. They were quieter. The other cabins were very close to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuninthesunOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
4.2 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#3 of 20 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.2 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#12 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic River Cabins

Property: Rustic River Cabins
Address: 2550 US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80515-9712
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic River Cabins are tucked away in the Big Thompson Canyon just four miles from the center of the city of Estes Park on the Big Thompson River. We are far enough from town so you don't have to deal with the heavy traffic of Estes Park, but close enough to enjoy all that the city and the Rocky Mountain National Park have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustic River Cabins Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing