We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Vacation Ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Spring, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Best Family Vacation Ever”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

You will never meet a more caring, service-oriented staff. In fact, you (and your kids) will leave inspired to treat people as well as they do.
Writing as a father of two young children (5 and 2), it is perfect. The morning "Kids' Club" gives parents a refreshing break while keeping the kids entertained with horse/pony rides, rock wall climbing, hiking, arts & crafts, etc. My wife and I took advantage of the mornings to hike nearby "Twin Sisters" and "Lilly Lake," fly fish, ride horses, play a round of golf and just enjoy a quiet cup of coffee on the porch of our cabin.
Then, in the afternoons and evenings, there were almost countless activities to do as a family.
Our cabin, complete with fireplace and an endless supply of firewood, was very comfortable.
I could go on, but will sum it up by saying that this place and the people who run it are truly amazing. You will not want to leave at the end of the week!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
137
15
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX USA
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I are on our way home from a wonderful week at WRR. Couldn't wait to share our delight. We rode horses and participated in relay races with other guests who turned out to be "family" only a day or two into our visit. I even climbed a rock wall and zip lined for the first time in my life. The young staff members were so helpful and encouraging. I couldn't have accomplished that climbing wall without them! The staff is the best group of young people you could ask for. They are good and Godly folks who wait on you constantly, love on you and your kids and display the best example of Christ's love you could ask for. They are well-equipped for their job, are polite, warm and personable. WRR has activities for little ones, tweens, teens and adults...organized as well as on-your-own. You are welcome to be as busy or at-rest as you desire - participation in all or none of the activities is up to you...no pressure. Our guest speaker (they have one for each week) was terrific! Couldn't wait to get to bible study each morning. The surprise is the price in comparison to other ranches in the area. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our third trip to Wind River and couldn't believe it took us four years to find our way back to this place. The upgrades and renovations that have been done were phenomenal. Our kids are already begging us to forgo any other vacations or trips and make this one priority for next year.

My kids are 14, 12 and 9 and they had an absolute blast. Riding horses, the wrangler breakfast, the hootenanny, the Kids Olympics, the dance party...they couldn't stop naming all of their favorite things! Set in a beautiful location, your family will never forget the amazing experience you will have here.

You can pull together for some amazing family time or if you need some dating time with your spouse, or alone time, the kids have so much to do in a family and safe environment that you may not see them for hours on end.

The hiking was my favorite part. You are surrounded by amazing hikes in every direction. Lily Mountain, Twin Sisters, Estes Cone and of course, Longs Peak.

You owe it to yourself to come to Wind River. You will not regret it. The staff is wonderful and are there to serve you in every way. We all fell in love with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffhylton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place. If you're looking for a great family vacation, you owe to yourselves to experience Wind River. Activities for kids as well as adults. This place offers service in the true spirit of giving in order to ensure your family is able to enjoy the entire experience. Wind River is not just a vacation, it's a rejuvenation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Merriam Webster defines "vacation" as "a time of respite from something". This past week for the second time (and definitely not the last), I was honored to "vacation" with my daughter at Wind River Ranch. To try and encapsulate the utter joy that you find at Wind River in a short review is impossible. Suffice it to say, that this is definitely a destination that needs to be on your list. From the moment your arrive, you are transported to a spiritual experience like no other. You are escorted by wranglers on their favorite "ride" and greeted by the entire staff upon arrival. The accommodations could not be better - newly renovated with all the amenities of a cozy hotel, including maid service daily. Every meal is top notch - with special themes each day, including a final farewell dinner for adults only (stuffed pork chops and sea scallops at 9,000 feet) while the kiddies enjoyed a pizza party. Weekly speakers are invited to share testimony and lead the adults in Bible Study, while the children of all ages enjoy "God Time" with their age groups. Horseback riding is the main attraction, but there is plenty else to do as well, including White Water Rafting, Golf and Hiking. The horse riding was far and away the best I have ever seen and the head wrangler Cowboy Nick, along with his trusty staff should be commended.

While all of this (including an amazing pool and hot tub) is enough to make you pack your backs and head west, the main draw of this wonderful property is the message it shares with its guests day after day.Being surrounded by the staff and guests alike who love the Lord and are eager to renew their spirits doesn't happen very often on vacation. But at Wind River Ranch, you are able to refresh your spirit, quietly reflect and enjoy all that the Lord has to offer.

It is important to note that the staff, many of whom volunteer, are the guiding instruments that keep the focus on God. It is refreshing to spend time with fellow believers in such a beautiful setting, knowing that your life will be forever changed having stayed here. If you are looking for a place to connect closer to God, find joy in His creation, and enjoy that respite you have been longing for, look no further. As our 11 year old daughter said - "it is mindblowing and heart changing". Only 347 more days till we find our way back to Wind River Ranch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143Ellen143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from our first ever week at Wind River Ranch and are still struggling to find the words to adequately describe it! We have never been to a place that's so full of love and peace...but also FUN! Our entire family went and all of the kids aged 2 1/2-13 had a blast. We made lasting friendships and were reconnected as a family. We fell in love with the staff (they're amazingly selfless) and left renewed in our relationships with the Lord. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our second time coming to the ranch. I can't even do justice with words what a incredible week we have experienced. Make no mistake, the love flowing from this place is a direct reflection of the God they serve. Christ is the pillar on which everything you experience at Wind River Ranch is built.

While there are many options for a family vacation available, few will ever be able to renew your family and refresh your spirit like what you will experience at Wind River Ranch. Never mind the fact the food is amazing, the daily activities are top notch, the kid's camp is a safe, fun environment for your children, the cabins are deluxe (yet somehow still retain the ability to feel "rustic"), and the horse program and wranglers are the finest you will ever find. The real thing you will connect with is the people and the God they serve. The staff is so friendly and willing to serve you, and the fellow guests you meet become friends by the time you leave.

We have young adult, teenage, and pre-K children, and everyone of us found something tailored to our needs at the ranch. This is a vacation where no matter what the ages of your family, there is something that will engage them personally. There were retired couples, large family gatherings, and smaller families all present the week we were there. Not one of those families left the same as when they came.

This "vacation" is truly a way to minister to you wherever you are- whether you come here strong or broken, you will find a peace that passes all understanding and leave here with a renewed spirit and a renewed sense of purpose for your life which will last well beyond the time spent at Wind River Ranch. If you let it, this "vacation" will forever change you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.0 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
6.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,271 reviews
6.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

Property: Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Address: 5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind River Ranch is an all inclusive resort property that appeals to each family member. We invite you to read our reviews on TripAdvisor and hear why our guests not only love the investment they made in their family, but also why they choose to return again and again to WRR. This is a unique and very special family dude ranch experience and a mountaintop experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing