We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place. If you're looking for a great family vacation, you owe to yourselves to experience Wind River. Activities for kids as well as adults. This place offers service in the true spirit of giving in order to ensure your family is able to enjoy the entire experience. Wind River is not just a vacation, it's a rejuvenation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Merriam Webster defines "vacation" as "a time of respite from something". This past week for the second time (and definitely not the last), I was honored to "vacation" with my daughter at Wind River Ranch. To try and encapsulate the utter joy that you find at Wind River in a short review is impossible. Suffice it to say, that this is definitely a destination that needs to be on your list. From the moment your arrive, you are transported to a spiritual experience like no other. You are escorted by wranglers on their favorite "ride" and greeted by the entire staff upon arrival. The accommodations could not be better - newly renovated with all the amenities of a cozy hotel, including maid service daily. Every meal is top notch - with special themes each day, including a final farewell dinner for adults only (stuffed pork chops and sea scallops at 9,000 feet) while the kiddies enjoyed a pizza party. Weekly speakers are invited to share testimony and lead the adults in Bible Study, while the children of all ages enjoy "God Time" with their age groups. Horseback riding is the main attraction, but there is plenty else to do as well, including White Water Rafting, Golf and Hiking. The horse riding was far and away the best I have ever seen and the head wrangler Cowboy Nick, along with his trusty staff should be commended.

While all of this (including an amazing pool and hot tub) is enough to make you pack your backs and head west, the main draw of this wonderful property is the message it shares with its guests day after day.Being surrounded by the staff and guests alike who love the Lord and are eager to renew their spirits doesn't happen very often on vacation. But at Wind River Ranch, you are able to refresh your spirit, quietly reflect and enjoy all that the Lord has to offer.

It is important to note that the staff, many of whom volunteer, are the guiding instruments that keep the focus on God. It is refreshing to spend time with fellow believers in such a beautiful setting, knowing that your life will be forever changed having stayed here. If you are looking for a place to connect closer to God, find joy in His creation, and enjoy that respite you have been longing for, look no further. As our 11 year old daughter said - "it is mindblowing and heart changing". Only 347 more days till we find our way back to Wind River Ranch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 143Ellen143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from our first ever week at Wind River Ranch and are still struggling to find the words to adequately describe it! We have never been to a place that's so full of love and peace...but also FUN! Our entire family went and all of the kids aged 2 1/2-13 had a blast. We made lasting friendships and were reconnected as a family. We fell in love with the staff (they're amazingly selfless) and left renewed in our relationships with the Lord. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunice2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our second time coming to the ranch. I can't even do justice with words what a incredible week we have experienced. Make no mistake, the love flowing from this place is a direct reflection of the God they serve. Christ is the pillar on which everything you experience at Wind River Ranch is built.

While there are many options for a family vacation available, few will ever be able to renew your family and refresh your spirit like what you will experience at Wind River Ranch. Never mind the fact the food is amazing, the daily activities are top notch, the kid's camp is a safe, fun environment for your children, the cabins are deluxe (yet somehow still retain the ability to feel "rustic"), and the horse program and wranglers are the finest you will ever find. The real thing you will connect with is the people and the God they serve. The staff is so friendly and willing to serve you, and the fellow guests you meet become friends by the time you leave.

We have young adult, teenage, and pre-K children, and everyone of us found something tailored to our needs at the ranch. This is a vacation where no matter what the ages of your family, there is something that will engage them personally. There were retired couples, large family gatherings, and smaller families all present the week we were there. Not one of those families left the same as when they came.

This "vacation" is truly a way to minister to you wherever you are- whether you come here strong or broken, you will find a peace that passes all understanding and leave here with a renewed spirit and a renewed sense of purpose for your life which will last well beyond the time spent at Wind River Ranch. If you let it, this "vacation" will forever change you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

For the fourth year in a row, we just experienced the most amazing week of our family all year. The staff are amazing in caring for your every need and more! The food is top notch (we live in New Orleans and know good food), the wranglers are very skilled teachers that take the proper care of the horses and riders of all skill levels, the program staff really creates an amazing week and the kids club & tween staff is amazing. What a gift from God to be able to retreat, refresh, connect with friends and family and connect with God in unique ways.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chalet. It’s a the top of the property and provides amazing views through the large pl...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I have been going for atleast nine years. Every year I'm crying at the end of the week. The place is so personal. The staff are amazing. I, as a teen, love going down to the barn and visting the Wranglers. My little sister, who is nine, can walk out the door and sprint off to meet her friends. We won't see her for ten hours, but don't ever need to fret. It is a very kid friendly place, but it also has things for those older, hormonal teens who can never find anything to like.The Bible studies are amazing. I always walk away feeling closer to God. The food is great. The activities range from hiking Long's Peak (if you're really intense), horse trail rides, and just chilling out at the Coco Cabana. We love getting to know other families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wind River Ranch is one of the most beautiful places that I have ever seen. It is nestled between Long's Peak and Twin Sisters, in a beautiful Valley. My Husband and I were amazed by the incredible staff, great food, our lovely cabin and the best horses! Our cabin was a deluxe, 2 bedroom cabin that was very clean and surpassed our expectations. The food was exceptional, with desert offered at every meal!My favorite meal was the steak dinner on our last night. The horses are very gentle and well trained. They are not your typical trail horses, they are very responsive to commands.The wranglers allowed me to help brush and unsaddle the horses. The trail rides were awesome, but my favorite activity was team -penning! God is evident everywhere, and the staff are truly servants. We enjoyed the daily worship and especially the devotional time on our lunch ride. DO NOT miss Cowboy Nicks testimony, it is incredible!! There are no TV's and limited cell phones, so I really felt that I was in another time. This was my dream vacation that I have been researching and planning for many years. I am so glad that the Lord led me to Wind River, I was not disappointed! The only problem is that I now am addicted, and feel pulled to return next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tupperconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,486 reviews
6.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
323 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
506 reviews
6.0 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
617 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

Address: 5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind River Ranch is an all inclusive resort property that appeals to each family member. We invite you to read our reviews on TripAdvisor and hear why our guests not only love the investment they made in their family, but also why they choose to return again and again to WRR. This is a unique and very special family dude ranch experience and a mountaintop experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing