We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Family Holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Family Holiday!”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is an awesome Christian retreat for couples and families. The staff are wonderful, food is excellent (we ganied weight in a week!), plenty of time with the horses and well-qulaified cowboy/cowgirl wranglers who are especiialy good at helping new riders. Pool and hot tub look out at 14,000 foot Longs Peak. Estes Park is a fun town only 15 minutes away, as is Rocky Mountian National Park. We've created lasting family memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim4cpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
139
15
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

What a great place - the view, the staff, the facilities, the food. And it is a great place for rest and rejuvenation in a Christian environment.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTexan401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

First time at the Wind River Ranch in July 2011. Great wranglers and staff who are aligned to serve the Lord in all they do. Our daughter woke up early each day to groom the horses with the wranglers before breakfast. Truly enjoyed the Bible Study each morning on the veranda with long's Peak in the background. We highly recommend all aspetcs of the Wind River Ranch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBrienFamily5342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My family just spent a week at Wind River Ranch. This was our fifth trip. No place else has ever made us feel like we have just glimpsed what heaven will be like with so much fun, wonder and people caring for each other.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeaOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Excellent staff. Solid Horse program. High quality meals. Many options: hiking, fly fishing, white water rafting, reading a book in a hammock in an Aspen grove...all in a family friendly, Christian environment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsh1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We just returned from our eighth vacation in a row at Wind River Ranch. This year we brought friends. Next year we hope to bring far-away kin.

We love Wind River Ranch. It combines a mountain vacation and a prayerful retreat; and our trips there renew us as nothing else ever has. Other guests welcome us like old friends; the accommodations, food, and activities are down-home perfect; and the mountain scenery lifts us out of an entire year's weariness.

The key to all this, I think, is the fact that the staff consider their work a ministry. From wranglers to bed-makers, they make themselves servants to the guests. It is good to be ministered to. We are always astonished how hungry we are for it, how it helps us "let go."

Activities range from morning bible studies to long trail rides, from evening singing to white-water rafting, with plenty of time for adults to rest and visit together. The staff run separate programs during the day for young children, for elementary school kids, and for teens -- which really frees parents up to find the kind of vacation they need for themselves. Meals are served family style, and guests sit variously with families and friends and staff.

Most people come away with a clear sense that God has moved in their lives during the week -- that God moves in this place. The "culture" is mostly evangelical Protestant. Our family, however, is Catholic, yet we feel very much at home here, especially with Our Lady of the Mountains church so close by. Like most other guests, we always leave the ranch touched and renewed.

The sense of community that develops at Wind River Ranch over the course of a week is remarkable. Like ours, many families come back repeatedly. Often we choose "our weeks" together and develop vacation friendships over the years.

Wind River Ranch has created for our family the best vacations we've ever had. Nothing else comes close. Nearly everyone who visits says the same thing. It is a Colorado mountain shangri-la.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobolincoln1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Wow. What a great place. The cabins were wonderful. The service was wonderful. I can only say that we had a blessed time and are counting the days until we get to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkdidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.0 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
572 reviews
6.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
302 reviews
5.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
6.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.3 mi away
Dao House
Dao House
#59 of 78 in Estes Park
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

Property: Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Address: 5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind River Ranch is an all inclusive resort property that appeals to each family member. We invite you to read our reviews on TripAdvisor and hear why our guests not only love the investment they made in their family, but also why they choose to return again and again to WRR. This is a unique and very special family dude ranch experience and a mountaintop experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing