We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed 2 weeks @ Bear Paw Suites in Estes Park in September. It was our 8th trip to Estes/Rocky Mt. Nat'l Park and the 3rd to Bear Paw. We stayed at other places, but kept looking for "the next one" until we found Bear Paw. The setting is beautiful, the management is very friendly and easy to work with, it's close to RMNP and the complex is private and secluded. We look forward to our next visit to Estes/RMNP and Bear Paw!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy51NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    25
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
94
110
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We were two couples travelling together. The condos could not have been set up more prefectly. Bedroom downstairs with full bath, bedroom upstairs with full bath also.
Extremely tranquill place, private patio surrounded by nature with the sounds of the babbling river steps away. Very clean place, great staff/owners, and I couldn't say enough about this place. You DEFINITELY need to stay here if you visit the Estes area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloggerkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Have you ever held your breath hoping the reviews and the property website were as advertised? Well, hold no more. My wife and I spent a very quick long weekend in Bear Paw #5 in Estes Park and couldn't be more happier to write a review of our experience. The property is very well kept and from the outside everything looks inviting. I was checked in by Kathy, one half of the husband/wife owner team. She was pleasant and I sensed good vibes immediately.
The unit was exactly as pictured on the internet. A very niced sized living area with two love seats, end tables, and coffee table. In the corner of the room was a gas fired fireplace that didn't get used due to warm weather during our stay and a television with a DVD player for your movies. A large glass/screen door opened to a nice sized patio area complete with a small bistro table and our very own gas grill. We were literally steps away from the Fall River and the sound of the trickling water was soothing. Also placed between the units and the river were many hummingbird feeders, which we were told, are refilled every couple of days. The hummingbirds were feeding continuously and added to the already serene environment. Back to the unit itself. On the other side of the living area was a full size kitchen table with a complete kitchen set up. A washer and dryer was at the opposite end of the kitchen which came in very handy. No dirty clothes to take back home. Don't forget to bring your own detergent. There is a Safeway store in town that you could purchase some from. Sign up for the Safeway Club Card (no cost or strings) and you can save a bit of money each time you shop. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils, plates, glasses, silverware, etc. Everything we needed was there including toaster, microwave, and dishwasher. The master bedroom had a king size bed and a dresser with television on top. In the other corner of the room was a 2 person jacuzzi with a beautiful mural painted above. A nice sized bathroom with toilet, vanity, and full size shower completed the bedroom. A closet to put our suitcases in along with iron and ironing board was in the room also. There was an additional bathroom and bedroom uptstairs but they were locked off because we didn't need them. I did discuss one recommendation to the owner which was not a complaint but just something we would like to see (no smoking on the property). The units are non-smoking but the guests are allowed to smoke on their patios or around the property outdoors. I was told by Kathy (owner) that if the smoke is a problem then she would deal with the guest herself and ask them to refrain. We did notice that our next door neighbor was smoking while standing near the river but we never noticed the smell in our unit or on our patio. We felt very safe and secure in our unit and on the property and are planning on returning very soon. Upon checking out, Linda, the office manager gave us a tour of one of the units directly next to the Bear Paw Suites which are the River Stone Units. We were quite impressed with the one we seen( A1) and would not hesitate staying there also. The unit set up was very similar but we did notice that the "Woodsy" feel with furniture and decor was not quite as evident in the River Stone compared to the Bear Paw. Otherwise very updated decor and appliances in both and i would highly recommend Bear Paw and River Stone to anyone. If quality is important, this is the place. After staying at a nearby property for many years in a row and to see it change hands and the quality deteriorate, we were apprehensive to try something new. But we needed to do it and we weren't disappointed. Thanks Ken/Kathy/Linda for a great weekend. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in the "River Stone Resort" side in condo #G2. I would recommend this unit as it is on the end so you have a little more privacy.

Loved the condo and the location is just perfect - only a few short minutes from the park. The decor was nice and the condo was clean. However, I would have appreciated it if they had swept the kitchen during the daily "tidy".

It had a nice patio with a gas grill and a bench for just relaxing by the river. Thre road is just across the river and fairly close to this property, so you do hear a bit of that noise

There was a bear in the area while we were there, so be careful with your garbage etc.

I enjoyed using the jet tub after long days of hiking.

I wish I was still there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anono99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We just returned from a trip to Rocky Mountain National Park and we had the pleasure of staying at Bear Paw Suites. As nature photographers, we travel a lot and have stayed in a wide variety of hotels. We just added Bear Paw to our list of favorite places to stay. It is very quiet and relaxing with all the comforts of home. The rooms are directly on the river and we enjoyed our morning coffee photographing hummingbirds that come to the feeder outside every room. Ken and Kathy are also nature photographers and share a love for the outdoors and wildlife. Bighorn sheep, mule deer and a wide assortment of birds frequent the grounds of the hotel. It is also very conveniently located near the national park. We felt welcomed by our friendly hosts and they went over and above the call of duty to help us work out a technical problem that we experienced while we were there. Linda the office manager even remembered our call to make the reservation. Top-notch place to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2010

A quiet, restful place to spend a long weekend. The condo is located close to the river so you can enyoy it's soothing sounds and catch a glimpse of an Elk grazing near by. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Having the kitchen and living room separate from the bedroom, makes it seem more like home. After a long day of hiking, one can relax in the privacy of your own whirlpool. It is conveniently located to the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park as well as to downtown Estes. Come and experience the different seasons. We have!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed at Bear Paw Suites with 4 adults and 2 kids in the 3 bedroom suite over Thanksgiving and give it 5 stars! We had plenty of room for everyone to relax by the cozy fire and watch the snow fall. The kitchen has everything you need to cook a full dinner for 6. The smells must have been good, because we had an Elk literally walk up within steps of our back door. There is a private hot tub outside that is really neat in the snow.

Great family getaway in the peaceful winter Rockies!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austin_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites

Property: River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites
Address: 2120 Fall River Road, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful riverfront condos, equipped with everything you need to make your trip to Estes Park memorable. Bear Paw Suites features; fully equipped kitchens, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units, in room jetted tubs or private hot tub, gas fireplaces & grills, washer/dryer, free WiFi and much more. Ideally located half-way between downtown and RMNP. Relax in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Paw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing