We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful tiny and cozy cottages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colorado Cottages
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful tiny and cozy cottages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was extremely satisfied with my 2 nights stay at this place. Wood lily or blue bird would be perfect for 2 people. They have a BBQ grill for each cottages, and they have a common jacuzzi in the middle of the property, I saw some people enjoying in it :)
Also, they have a little bonfire in the evenings for people to come and gather, like a small socializing event. The staff/owners were very very nice people, and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit the Rocky mountains.

Also, Estes park downtown is a few miles away and it's a very interesting place to go for shopping/dining/etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirvani_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
59
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We visited Rocky Mountain National Park and this was our base camp. We had a great experience here. We stayed in cottage #11 chickadee. This was a cute and cozy cottage with everything we possibly needed. There was a room with a queen size bed in the front and then the living room with dining table and kitchen area. The bathroom was off the kitchen. This cottage feels very spacious and bright, and is very comfortable. There was a futon and a t.v., and a full kitchen which was great for cooking our own meals. Everything was decorated in a moose theme which fit perfectly with the surroundings. The bathroom was small but very functional. I never felt there was anything missing in the bathroom as well as in the rest of the cottage. The owners are very nice and plan on making renovations and improvements which will make this place even better. There is a picnic table and a charcoal grill outside. We saw elk and hummingbirds around our cabin every morning which made the experience feel like we were in a fairy tale. I highly recommend these cottages to couples and families visiting the area. We plan on coming back to this place some time soon.

Room Tip: all rooms have kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandpDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed 4th of July weekend in the large 2 bedroom cottage and it was fantastic. It had everything we needed to cook our own meals. The location was great; far enough away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Estes Park and very short drive to RMNP for hiking. Owners were very nice and accomodating. I would definetly come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

PROS:
Really homey! Stayed in #11, the Chickadee cottage! All the cottages has names.
Clean inside & out. This cottage is just perfect for us, not too big, not too small, not too fancy.
It is very accessible to everything, even Rocky Mountain National Park.
You can brew coffee and cook your food, but who does that!
Queen bed for the tired and weary!
Free Wi-Fi; Non-smoking cottage; Cable and DVD player.

CONS:
If you're 300-400lbs, you cannot fit in the cutest bathroom.
Bring your lavatory amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shutterbabe0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed just one night at the time the old owners were handing over to the new owners, both couples were very friendly & welcoming & we enjoyed chatting with them & other guests at the bonfire although there were no smores & we were disappointed that we missed out on those.

The cabin was very small & basic & whilst appreciating the history & the "theme" of the property, we felt it was in need of some tlc. It was very clean & cosily furnished. We did not light the fire nor put the heater on which was a mistake because although the bed was comfy the linens did not keep us warm that night - we discovered extra blankets etc in a drawer next morning.

Overall, we enjoyed the experience but would probably not stay for more than a couple of nights.

We do wish the new owners every success & the old owners a happy retirement!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had such a nice time staying at the Bluebird cottage at Colorado Cottages. The cottages were adorable and well-appointed. The location is easy to find, with several restaurants in walking distance. The new owners are delightful and very helpful. They've kept evening s'mores time, so plan on that for dessert. We loved grilling our dinner one evening and having a glass of wine while looking at the mountains just outside our cottage. We'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Point, IA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The story begins with a frosty site one morning after a terrible night's sleep in Rocky Mountain National Park. It turns out that our 20-year-old sleeping bags just didn't live up to their 10 degree rating. Argh!

So, our planned camping trip became a retreat to the Colorado Cottages in Estes Park where we could enjoy quiet, warmth, and a very comfortable mattress. Yea!

The boys and I made the most of our planned camping experience by cooking our meals in Rocky Mountain National park before escaping to the cottages. I was a bit concerned that finding a place around 10 PM might have been a challenge. Some of the places recommended by the park staff had already filled up. But, there was a welcome sign still glowing in the night from Colorado Cottages.

I found the owners in the back at a campfire with several of their guests. They were just finishing up a session of making smore's (don't ask if you don't know), and swapping stories. I was intrigued that the owners were comfortable mingling with the guests and making an effort to welcome them.

Carolyn (one of the owners) greeted me and very quickly offered me a chance to see the cottage to help me make a decision on staying. I think she may be used to visitors skepticism over non-chain choices.

The cabin was clean, cozy, and comfortable. It was pre-stocked with firewood and starter. She would have invited us to use the hot tub, but for the hour didn't want us to wake other guests.

I think the pleasantness of the cabin, and the warmth that night invigorated us a bit. We stayed up until 2 AM playing board games then slept in a bit late before heading back into the park for a day of exploring and hiking. We had a lot more energy for the day than the previous day, thanks to a good night's sleep.

Some of the other nice things about the cabin included several book choices in the [Longs Peak] cabin and many movie choices in the office. We didn't make use of this, as we brought plenty of entertainment.

Dharma the dog and John (Carolyn's husband) said goodbye to us and we were on our way.

We are thinking of making this an annual trip with my son and his friends. I think I'll skip the camping experience and opt for the Colorado Cabins with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WebdudeIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
River Rock Cottages
River Rock Cottages
#4 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
4.7 mi away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#22 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#27 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#43 of 77 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#8 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#29 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cottages

Property: Colorado Cottages
Address: 1241 High Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-8529
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time when you stay at our charming cottages. Kitchenettes, fireplaces, Wi-Fi, HBO, Hot tub, & inviting decor. "Your home away from home" in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Colorado Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Colorado Cottages Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing