We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cute Cottages Convenient to Everything Estes Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colorado Cottages
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute Cottages Convenient to Everything Estes Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had such a nice time staying at the Bluebird cottage at Colorado Cottages. The cottages were adorable and well-appointed. The location is easy to find, with several restaurants in walking distance. The new owners are delightful and very helpful. They've kept evening s'mores time, so plan on that for dessert. We loved grilling our dinner one evening and having a glass of wine while looking at the mountains just outside our cottage. We'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
59
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Center Point, IA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The story begins with a frosty site one morning after a terrible night's sleep in Rocky Mountain National Park. It turns out that our 20-year-old sleeping bags just didn't live up to their 10 degree rating. Argh!

So, our planned camping trip became a retreat to the Colorado Cottages in Estes Park where we could enjoy quiet, warmth, and a very comfortable mattress. Yea!

The boys and I made the most of our planned camping experience by cooking our meals in Rocky Mountain National park before escaping to the cottages. I was a bit concerned that finding a place around 10 PM might have been a challenge. Some of the places recommended by the park staff had already filled up. But, there was a welcome sign still glowing in the night from Colorado Cottages.

I found the owners in the back at a campfire with several of their guests. They were just finishing up a session of making smore's (don't ask if you don't know), and swapping stories. I was intrigued that the owners were comfortable mingling with the guests and making an effort to welcome them.

Carolyn (one of the owners) greeted me and very quickly offered me a chance to see the cottage to help me make a decision on staying. I think she may be used to visitors skepticism over non-chain choices.

The cabin was clean, cozy, and comfortable. It was pre-stocked with firewood and starter. She would have invited us to use the hot tub, but for the hour didn't want us to wake other guests.

I think the pleasantness of the cabin, and the warmth that night invigorated us a bit. We stayed up until 2 AM playing board games then slept in a bit late before heading back into the park for a day of exploring and hiking. We had a lot more energy for the day than the previous day, thanks to a good night's sleep.

Some of the other nice things about the cabin included several book choices in the [Longs Peak] cabin and many movie choices in the office. We didn't make use of this, as we brought plenty of entertainment.

Dharma the dog and John (Carolyn's husband) said goodbye to us and we were on our way.

We are thinking of making this an annual trip with my son and his friends. I think I'll skip the camping experience and opt for the Colorado Cabins with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WebdudeIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Two nights in Iris, what a view!! Host John and Carolyn were super friendly and they LOVE dogs which is why I recommend this place for a dog friendly stay. The elk and deer come right outside the window, hot tube and a fire pit with smores.
Dave and Jan
colorado Springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DShermanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spent two nights in #1 Iris. This cabin has an amazing view of the mountains in the national park. They are quiet, yet close to everything you could need. Ours had a nice kitchenette that was fully stocked. It even had a kettle and electric griddle in addition to a coffee maker and complimentary coffee and tea.

John and Carolyn were friendly, helpful, fun to talk to... we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in the cottage for two nights during the Thanksgiving vacation. Several elks were hanging around by the property, which was a really surprise and a wonderful welcome gift. The cottage we booked, Indian Paintbrush, was very cozy and well-decorated. Besides photos, there were even a bow and an arrow. I loved the rocking chair and quite enjoying sitting there in front of the fireplace. By the way, we can even light the fireplace with complimentary woods. The small kitchen has everything almost, stove, oven and even a mini-microwave. Across the street, there is a grocery store; so you can do a little shopping and cook by yourself. The most most wonderful thing was a couple elks walked around the cottage in the midnight. They horns slightly knocked the house. If you do not sleep tight, you can watch them through the window wondering in the moon. Otherwise, footprints along the house would be your morning gift. Beauty of nature.

The cottage is very close to the Estes Park, about 10 minutes driving. We visited the bear lake, dream lake and emerald lake in one day. The view was really beautiful although it was winter and the lakes got frozen. I would say it was a different beauty from summer.

I didn't try the hot tub in the yard. But I saw some people were quite enjoying that. The hot steam was around and further away was the snow. It was a little tricky about the shower inside the cottage. Please consult John and Carolyn if you have any problem. The sweet couple who run this place are really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnaY_Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Staying at the Colorado Cottages in Estes Park was a treat. Jon and Carolyn are great hosts, and actually care about your happiness. It makes such a difference when the owners are there and want to make sure you are well cared for while traveling. I stayed in Chickadee which was at the corner of the property, super quiet and super comfortable. I enjoyed a fire and a movie the last night of my month long road trip. Would definitely recommend the Colorado Cottages.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is my fourth year staying here. I have stayed at other locations but I keep coming back here. John and Carolyn are amazing. They go way above and beyond what any other hotel would do. The cottages are so cozy and comfortable. I love that they are dog friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina81578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
River Rock Cottages
River Rock Cottages
#4 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
4.7 mi away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#22 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#27 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#43 of 77 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#8 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#29 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cottages

Property: Colorado Cottages
Address: 1241 High Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-8529
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time when you stay at our charming cottages. Kitchenettes, fireplaces, Wi-Fi, HBO, Hot tub, & inviting decor. "Your home away from home" in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Colorado Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Colorado Cottages Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing