We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable with the best hosts ever!”
Review of Colorado Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colorado Cottages
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in Bluebird cottage, which is a duplex. We were originally concerned about noise from the adjoining cottage but they are very well insulated for both sound and heat. Inevitably, there is some leakage of sound but it was very minor. The hosts, John and Carolyn are the best hosts we have encountered in many years of world travel. They are generous with their knowledge and their time and are just lovely. Their Golden Retriever, Dharma, is also a delight. Just don't mention 'bunnies'! All in all, a wonderful experience - we stayed four nights. A great place to base yourself for the sights and sounds of the Rocky Mountain National Park. Thanks Carolyn and John!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Colorado Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've stayed in a number of cabin locations, but this place is absolutely the best. Friendly owners, clean comfortable accommodations, quiet location, excellent value for money. The website is very helpful too - aside from an availability feature, it has accurate pictures and floor plans of all the cabins, making it easy to request the one that suits your party best. We stayed Friday and Saturday night for the Long's Peak Scottish / Irish Festival, and have already booked the same cabin for next year's festival. They also have great winter packages, which we're planning to try out soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwernin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at Colorado Cottages with my wife and 4 yoa son during the Highland Festival. It was very affordable and the accomodations were better than expected. I can't say enough about how nice the owners are and they even remembered my son's name. My son didn't want to leave.

They had all the conveniences needed i.e., microwave, full size coffee maker, stove/oven(small but still cooks food), refrigerator, flat screen TV, dvd player(and a great selection of dvd's you can borrow for free from the office), they even had a hair dryer in the bathroom for my wife. The dvd's are loaned on the honor system. Who does that? I love this place,

They have pack an plays for children so you don't have to bring your own. Every cottage has it's own charcoal BBQ. If you need a lot of ice you may want to bring a bag of your own and stick it in the freezer(not at all a big deal, just a helpful tip).

A free bundle of wood is provided and if you need extra it's only $3/bundle which is very reasonable. We had two fires and didn't need more that what was provided.

We stayed in "chikadee" and the inside of the cabin has knotty pine on the walls and beams across the ceiling. They main room is your family room, breakfast room, and kitchen. The couch is a futon and my son slept on that. The master bedroom is an add on and is separate from the main room. The bathroom is tiny but it was not at all something that would detract me from this place and these nice people.

There is a hot tub but we didn't use it. The hot tub is next to the small play ground which has a two seater swing set that my son constantly wanted to play on. The free shuttle, into town/RMNP, stops across the street in a convenience store parking. The free wifi was great but the signal was weak in our cabin.

My family loved this place and will book here first whenever we stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Indian Paintbrush and it was clean and charming. The owners were kind and helpful. The small kitchen had everything you would need and we appreciated having a bbq grill for outdoor cooking. We would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed one night here because even with two night minimums, there was one night available by itself just when we needed it! We stayed in the Wood Lily duplex which is adorable. Comfortable, rustic, nice bed, small kitchen. Small screened porch on front looked over the mountains (as well as a road). Funny that even though Wood Lily is just off the road, we never even noticed it. The people staying in the duplex next to us were there for their third visit. Most of the other accomodations were behind us and not on the road.

Windows were open day and night. Hummingbirds woke us in the am at our porch feeder which was delightful. Hosts were great. Helped us plan our quick aft into the RMNP with the Bear Lake road closures, and where to get a picnic across the street. The campfire at night was wonderful to meet people from all over. It was very relaxing and almost like a family get-together.

We chose this place for it's quaintness and close entrance to the RMNP. All that was just what I had planned. They suggested a great place for breakfast as we checked out and headed into the RMNP for the next day's adventure. I would recommend this place as the cozy and comfortable place that it is.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guidebooktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Estes Park in July 2012 and were so happy to have chosen the Colorado Cottages as the place to stay. We were fortunate enough to have three cottages and each and every one of them was neat as a pin, decorated nicely and very comfortable. Caroline and John were superb hosts and were there to help in any and all areas. Directions to dog friendly hiking areas, where to eat, toys in the sand box and a lovely swing set and even providing movies for the kids to watch at the end of a very active day. The hot tub was used every night and the campfire with the smores was the highlight for everyone. Excellent location in Estes, easy to find and set up for a perfect family get away. We hope to return to the Colorado Cottages again in the next two months for a nice fall retreat. The kids are still talking about Dharma....the best dog ever!

Room Tip: The Mountain Meadow cottage had a great kitchen table. We often sat around it at night or for a big...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianapeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We chose Colorado Cottages for a small family reunion with 4 generations from age 1 to 87. It was the perfect place! We rented the Mountain Meadow and Columbine and used MM for our gatherings where we could enjoy the view and the deck. Great grandma loved that the cabin was so clean and our grandchildren (ages 4,3,1) loved the playground. Some of us were up early and found it easy to walk the nearby streets and enjoy the beauty and quiet. (We also appreciated that the price of each cabin wasn't increased because we had more than 2 or 3 staying there as many other places do.)
John & Carolyn (and Dharma who often joined us for meals on the deck) were much more than owners and really did all they could to make us feel welcomed. Rain during one evening cancelled the campfire and our 4 year old grandson was quite upset that he wouldn't get s'mores. When we spoke with John & Carolyn, they gave us the s'more fixin's and we were able to have an indoor s'more party!!!!
We are looking forward to the day that we return. This is the place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omega80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#33 of 78 in Estes Park
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#39 of 78 in Estes Park
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skyline Cottages
Skyline Cottages
#76 of 78 in Estes Park
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cottages

Address: 1241 High Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-8529
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $126 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time when you stay at our charming cottages. Kitchenettes, fireplaces, Wi-Fi, HBO, Hot tub, & inviting decor. "Your home away from home" in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Colorado Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Colorado Cottages Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing