We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy hikers haven”
Review of Colorado Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colorado Cottages
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights while hiking at the park. It was perfect.... attractive and comfortable, very clean. We especially enjoyed the fire place stocked with firewood, cozy decor, and the kitchen facilities which were stocked with things you needed to fix your own meals. We recommended the cabins to our families and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some cabins are larger than others but the two of us were very comfortable in the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfnetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 131 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

This property is run by a friendly, hard-working couple who keep the cottages meticulously clean and cute. There's a good breakfast place right across the street if you don't feel like cooking. A big plus is that Colorado Cottages are located on the park side of Estes Park so you don't have to fight downtown traffic to get to the park. There are two pet-friendly
cottages so if you're traveling with your dog as I was it will be welcome, too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckoningroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We loved Colorado Cottages. John and Carolyn are great hosts, the cottages are small but clean, and it's just a great value. If you can't afford the luxury condos in the area and want to be close to the RMNP entrance, this is a great choice. It's not tucked away in the woods, but it feels like it because there's minimal traffic on the road in the evenings. Super quiet and safe. Smores and a bonfire every night. :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a fun and enjoyable place to stay. Very unique. Small, cozy cottages, placed near one another like a little community. The unit we had had the bedroom in the front porch, so fresh air came through the screened windows for enjoyable sleeping all night long. John and Carolyn are both so personable, are on-site nearly all the time and are super helpful. Seems like they really enjoy operating the cottages. They're even around after-hours for smores by the fire with their guests right around nightfall. Only about a dozen units, so the guests seem pretty relaxed and friendly with one another. A fun and safe spot to come and go from while around Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidJB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

John and Carolyn are top notch hosts and are constantly upgrading their cottages based on customer input. Families and couples alike can relax in their cozy cottages, in the hot tub under the biggest silver maple I've ever seen, OR by the nightly campfire with smores and conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our family recently spent a week here and I have to say we enjoyed it SO much! The cottages are very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub after a day spent rafting. We all loved the campfire nights, visiting and making smores :) But most important, John and Carolyn and Dharma the cottage dog made us feel at home there. We feel we made friends for life. We are already making plans to stay there next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strogirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Me and 3 of my friends stayed here over labor day weekend on our journey to climb Longs Peak. After driving all night from Missouri we arrived in Estes Park around 10:00 AM and checked right into our room. Which just happened to be the Longs Peak room. The cottage which was the top floor of a duplex had a large room with two beds, a nice living space and a small kitchen and bath. All was in great shape and clean. We went to a local grocery store to stock the kitchen. We cooked and BBQ'ed every night of our trip (we stayed 3 nights). Colorado Cottages is located just a couple miles from the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park and the same from downtown Estes Park. This is a great place and I will stay here again if given the chance.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and try to stay away from holiday's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMOOREEllsinore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 28 in Estes Park
516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#12 of 74 in Estes Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cottages

Address: 1241 High Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-8529
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $109 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time when you stay at our charming cottages. Kitchenettes, fireplaces, Wi-Fi, HBO, Hot tub, & inviting decor. "Your home away from home" in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Colorado Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Colorado Cottages Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing