We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The mountains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booking was very easy. I paid a very reasonable price for three nights. The lodge has a nice heated pool and the premises is kept clean. The mattresses could have been better, and there is no breakfast, so I think they can offer the low rate because of that. Overall, I had a great experience with Coyote Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    154
    75
    33
    11
See reviews for
122
164
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our family likes to watch the 4th of July fireworks over the lake in Estes Park and finding a reasonably priced motel room in the summer is challenging. We stayed at the Coyote Mountain Lodge for the first time this year and were delighted. It's a vintage motor lodge with fresh paint, beds and carpet. There is always coffee and tea in the welcoming lobby and the owners/front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Also, it is centrally located and right on the free shuttle route. We were able to stay for 2 nights for the price we usually pay for 1 at other places. We didn't know there was a pool so didn't bring swim suits but the pool looked great and people seemed to be enjoying it. Dogs are welcome and there is parking for large vehicles around back. It is a basic, clean place and everything we'd hoped for. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed one night before 4th of July and it was great. The location was perfect and close to everything for a great price. The staff was extremely knowledgeable and very nice. The room was spacious with a smaller bathroom that was vintage but perfectly fine for a couple.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The price was very reasonable for Estes Park, and the bed was comfortable. But the WiFi barely worked (except at around 6:00 AM), and there were few accessible outlets for plugging in any chargers or electronic equipment. Our air conditioner worked fine, but the curtains hung down low and partially blocked it. I noticed that some people used paper clips to hold the curtains up. Breakfast was nothing fancy but ok for us - just packets of oatmeal. We did not use the pool or hot tub.

The staff seemed friendly, and the lobby area was very pleasant. There is a computer there with better internet connectivity. But eventually we got so frustrated with trying to use our own tablets that we went to the public library. Fast and free internet!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammerammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I took my family of five for the Fourth of July festivity's. From the moment we checked in, the lady at the front desk was very rude! She was irritated at the fact that I asked for three keys . We finally got to our room and it was a JOKE. Everything was very out dated, the air conditioner didn't work, and the fold out couch looked so beat up, that I didn't even let my kids sleep on it. The bathroom Faucet leaked the whole night. Like everything else the tv was old and the remote battery's had to be held with tape. Over all our family experience at the hotel sucked! I don't recommend it to anyone! I also think that the whole town of Estes park maybe Racist! My family and I are Hispanic , and they looked at me and my family like we should be cleaning the rooms for them. (Estes park city ,beautiful! ) ( people of Estes park, Racist!)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

A no nonsense friendly hotel!
We stayed here 3 nights during our 4 week trip through Colorado, Whyoming and South Dakota. Travelling around we stayed in many hotels but this was our favorit.
It is an older hotel but we noticed the owners are busy renewing and updating things.
The rooms are small but comfortabele and clean and after all we didn't come to see the room but to see Estes Park. Bed was large and comfortable, small and basic bathroom. Great swimming pool and jacuzzi. Good location, quiet, just outside town and on walking distance to the lake. Beautiful lobby, a great place to read my book. Very friendly and helpfull reception staff.
We loved our stay here and hope to come back one day and sure do recommend this hotel to our family and friends.
Love from The Netherlands.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mieke1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I paid $79 per night for a double and at the time of booking it seemed like a good deal. It probably was so I shouldn't complain. The biggest compliant is the WiFi, which was not very good. In the early morning before we set out hiking we got a good solid connection but the rest of the day and night was almost nothing. We do working vacations so it was frustrating. Also, the first 2 days the pool and jacuzzi were nice and warm--very inviting--but our last day the pool was pretty cool and the jacuzzi was barely warm.

Otherwise it is a modest motel, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was funny when we checked in the receptionist told the people ahead of us they got a room with an awesome view. When it was our turn I told her I hope she didn't give away the best view. She said, no, our room also had one of the best views. We got excited...until we saw the view...our window looked out on the parking lot--no mountains anywhere in view. We weren't really expecting a view but the way she presented it to us was funny.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Property: Coyote Mountain Lodge
Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing