We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not hold an event here. Nightmare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not hold an event here. Nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I held the reception for my wedding at the Coyote Mountain Lodge. The people we met initially were friendly and accommodating. Their only requirements were that we had no loud music playing after 10 pm, and that the reception was cleaned up by the next day.

After we booked it became a nightmare. Management switched multiple times. Guests were booked in the rooms above the reception hall. Staff yelled at my family in front of our guests and made us start cleaning up our wedding by 9 pm so that we would be out of the reception hall by 10. It was really fun making everyone leave and cleaning up in my wedding dress after only a few dances. But, as my family accidentally left my dress in the closet of their hotel room after my new husband and I left and we returned to find staff TRYING IT ON and switching it around so they could all wear it, I suppose it would have been ruined anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anacd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your valued feedback. We are careful to read every review and take all input very seriously. We are sorry that you didn't have the best experience holding your event here at the Coyote!

At first I thought your event was held recently but I see now that it was in August. We have since replaced the staff you encountered with friendly, proactive, well trained conscientious professionals. As soon as we realized that the manager and housekeepers who worked in the summer were not up to our standards, they were let go.

We absolutely value customer service as our number one priority and strive to have the best, friendliest staff in Estes Park. I will share your review with our current staff to see how we can improve our performance in the future!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    156
    76
    33
    11
See reviews for
124
169
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a group of four stay in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. It was very spacious, updated and comfortable space. The kitchen had modern appliances and we cooked every meal while we were there. There is a Safeway about a mile down the road. The hot tub was nice and hot and felt amazing after a day of snowshoeing. the only thing that would improve our experience would be a better equipped kitchen. There were no dish towels, only one frying pan, no can opener and minimal glassware. Everything else was great. I would definitely stay here again, especially for the price and the close proximity to Denver.

Room Tip: The JAC1 condo was very spacious and great for couples. 2 beds, 2 bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your nice informative review!

We appreciate any information we can use to improve our Lodge. After reading your review we immediately remedied the issues you mentioned. If we would of known of these issues during your stay we would of been happy to provide you with the items mentioned!

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved our stay at Coyote Mtn Lodge. We stayed in an updated room. It was very clean and pretty basic (2 beds, desk, chairs, tv, mini fridge, microwave). There is also a sweet hot tub, which we got in when it was 20 degrees outside! The first day, someone came in and cleaned our room while we were out, but they didn't do it the next day. I thought that was odd, but it did not bother us. There are also nice mountain views when we step outside the door. The office staff was friendly. I liked the guy with the ponytail. Last but not least, the price was nice!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We love feedback from our guests, especially ones which mention our nice, friendly staff. Customer service is one of our main priorities! We are sorry you did not receive room service on your second night, we have notified our staff of this and appreciate the chance to improve!

We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 1 night in July 2013, we had not booked anywhere in Estes and it was a Saturday in July (big mistake) after spending a lot of time trying to find somewhere to stay we eventually pulled up at Coyote, well the welcome was warm & friendly, and the lovely lady on reception found us a room, result! The cost was $152 inc tax, so not cheap but this is Estes!! The room was very clean, everything in the room worked, and we slept soundly. There is a lovely reception area to sit and enjoy coffee and chat, the small pool was clean and welcome after a hot day in the Park. We drove downtown and strolled around, found a winery shop, sampled some wine, and delicious local cheese, so evening meal was taken in/outside our room enjoying cheese & wine watching a lovely sun set. We would recommend this lodge when visiting Estes, we enjoyed our stay and I am sure you would too!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
Our staff strives to please and appreciates every single complement! Our goal is to keep prices as low as possible, which is difficult in a vacation destination like Estes Park. We hope have every guest leave as satisfied with their stay as you! Thanks again and come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great value and fantastic service! Easy to find and easy to find a park. Walking distance to restaurants, a short drive to downtown Estes Park.
There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Estes Park when you could stay here. The rooms are clean and have everything you need with high quality soap products, but what really sets this place apart is the staff. This place has a valuable product in a great mountain town and instead of trying to gouge their guests they keep things affordable and seem to really care about the people staying in their lodge. This is my new go to place to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenv3ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We truly care about our guests comfort and experiences while staying with us!
We take pride in our outstanding staff members and believe customer service is a top priority.

We saved this property from foreclosure and have been updating during the slow seasons. As we remodel our goal is to keep prices as low as possible in a resort town like Estes Park.

Thank you and we hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband was working in estes park. He wanted his family to come and spend a night with him. We asked for the best place for our large family. We didn't have any pets but they do welcome them. Jessica suggested condo 1. What a great choice. My daughters shared the back bedroom, my sons slept on the roll out couch. We had plenty of room. None of my kids were in each other ways. We are thinking about coming back and spend more time here. Very nice. We really enjoyed playing with Sadie. Thanks for all your help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funnyface500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad you had a wonderful time staying at Coyote and look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent the weekend up in Estes Park for my sister's 40th birthday and the town is EXPENSIVE! We stopped at two other motels that were both charging around $100 / night which was above our budget. The Coyote had a sign that read $59 so we stopped.

This property is a total throwback to the good ol' days of road tripping in the station wagon and it's great! The staff was really friendly, unlike the other two places we checked, the lobby and office are newly remodeled. They explained that there are new owners and that they are remodeling the the motel rooms as well.

We checked a few rooms and they were all very quaint and clean. The two rooms we rented were great, very comfortable mattresses, very clean. Sure, it's nostalgic but both of our rooms had new bathrooms, pretty much everything was new. My understanding is that there were even cheaper rooms that were not remodeled but they were all taken.

I read some of the other reviews before writing this and all I can say is that if you're on a budget and are not willing to spend $100 per night you should be happy that there's an alternative in Estes Park.

Oh and they have a great hot tub that was perfect after our cold hike.

I really think that the best park was the friendly staff. Believe it or not, the other front desk people at the other more expensive motels were rude and unfriendly. The Coyote was down to earth, cozy, real and homey as was the price. We'll stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Chose a new room if available but even the older rooms are probably fine relative to the over priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalynn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are in the process of remodeling our rooms while still trying to keep the retro / vintage vibe from when the motel was built. We are glad that we were able to make your stay in Estes Park enjoyable. We take pride in our wonderful staff and the little things we can do to make your stay great!

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Property: Coyote Mountain Lodge
Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing