We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A great hotel for an overnight stay,everything you need, a friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. This hotel is ideal for a budget place to stay in an otherwise expensive Estes Park area. Coffee provided in morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Coyote Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 456 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed one night with our golden retriever and had a very pleasant stay. Great value. Comfy beds and great mountain views from our room. The people were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Was located close to lots of stuff to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Paid around $150 for a room with a crummy air condition, parking that was limited, and unable to walk to town. I could see staying there again if it was under $100 but no way is this worth more than $80. No breakfast included and everything in the room is outdated. Front door is hollow and unsafe regardless of their "new renovations". Comfort Inn is one hotel down and looks much nicer than this current hotel. My advice - go somewhere else to get bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COgirl201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and I wish we knew of your concerns when we could have made a difference. We have 39 open rooms and 69 designated parking spaces, with side-street overflow parking behind our condominiums that can handle as many spaces as our guests have ever needed, even for large buses and trailers. Perhaps you were staying here during a very large wedding that we had in our Event Center the weekend before last. It is a rare occasion when we have that many non-resident guests using our huge parking lot, and perhaps the event parking could have been more organized. Thanks for pointing this out. We were not aware your A/C wasn't keeping the room cold enough for your comfort. The thermodynamics of each building and room are different at different times of day, and depending on the weather. Our rooms were originally designed to free-flow air through large vents. We are one of the few hotels in Estes Park that has adopted A/C in all of our rooms this summer due to average temperatures rising each season. When we closed the air ventilation panels that previously cooled the rooms, we discovered a diverse and dynamic change in the demand on our 5000 BTU units in certain rooms at certain times of day. This is a new and ongoing improvement, and we depend on guest communication to perfect it. We have upgraded the A/C to 6000 BTU in rooms that our guests inform us about. In many rooms the 5000 BTU A/C systems have been very comfortable to our guests. We cant make you comfortable now, of course, but encourage you to help us improve by letting us know the room you were in. We want you to know that we would have done everything possible to improve your comfort had you communicated this to the front desk. We can only imagine that you were in a 2 room suite at that price, and just wanted to clarify our value compared to our neighbor that you spoke about. Their rates start at 160 per night for a single bed room during the summer season, while ours start at 79-89 for a single queen or king. If your were in a $140 room here then a comparable room next door would have been priced significantly higher. Regardless, if we know your concerns in real time, nine times out of ten we are going to WOW you with our ability to find comfortable solutions, but we have to be given the opportunity for that to happen. The hollow doors, while unconventional in the average American City, have never presented a security risk in Estes Park. None of our properties, and no vacation lodge that we know of, have ever suffered a forced entry crime. The extremely low incidence of any crime here has made security from humans a non issue. The scariest intruder we have ever entertained is a black bear or two, and we are thankful that they have always respected the integrity of our room doors- but not the dumpsters. We have almost completed our back office and storage areas and have future plans to offer a continental breakfast. In the meantime we have a relationship with the Mountaineer Restaurant which provides 50% off the second adult's meal, and they are less than a mile from us on Hwy 7 near the Visitor Center. Every review that has covered the subject convenience of location, weather good and bad, has unanimously agreed that our location is spectacular. We are less than a mile from the center of the strip, and less that a half mile walk to the lake/park. The Estes Park Free Shuttle Picks up nest door twice an hour if the walk is too far, and that free service runs until 8 pm. We want you as a loyal customer, so we ask that you call us first on your next visit to beautiful Estes Park so we can have that opportunity to do something special for you. Thank you for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights and overall it was convenient to everything to do in Estes park and was cheap enough. It is not the ritz but the staff is very nice and helpful and the bed was soft. The a/c was touchy but worked okay with some tlc

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmwtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed just one night and booked it because it was the cheapest place in Estes Park we could find. We stayed in a retro room, old fashioned, but clean and tidy.
It had two queen sized beds, clean sheets and towels. Plus nice toiletries, not the cheap stuff you sometimes get. The people at reception were helpful and pleasant.
We didn't use the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loudnorthernbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent two nights at the Coyote Mountain Lodge based on their misleading advertising pictures of their rooms. The rooms were old and tired. Furniture is old and the floor of the tub/toilet area was old vinyl and dirty in the corners. The bottom of the white tub was black from worn in dirt. The toilet barely flushed and the seat was chipped in many places. The exhaust fan was extremely loud and could not be turned on at night unless you wanted to wake up your partner. The bathroom door kept sticking, it was very difficult to open. The air-conditioner froze up during the first night and had to be defrosted. Those are the negatives. The positives are the bed and pillows were good. The Refrig., Microwave, and coffee maker were new. If you are looking for a Cheap room this is it. This is not a place to stay if you are accustomed to luxury.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or room service. Stay somewhere else and pay a few extra dollars. This place...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZippyRandyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your suggestions. If we had known that you wanted a newly updated room we would have done everything in our power to make that change for you. Our retro rooms are kept very clean by our incredibly hardworking cleaning staff. We may not be able to improve every variable of our business at the moment, but our philosophy is to put 110% into the variables we do have control over. In other words, cleanliness and customer service are paramount in our organization. If you are not used to retro-furnishing it is very understandable that it may appear less than acceptable to your standards due to age and wear. We bought the hotel 18 months ago, saving it from foreclosure. Since we can only renovate during our winter season we are projecting completion over the next few winters. Our 70's style retro bathrooms are very diverse in their coloring. Some of the bathrooms have a pink sink with a purple toilet, and many of the showers and baths have unique colors from room to room. The professional real estate photographer who planned our web image was following an industry standard of complete representation with an emphasis on the direction we are investing in. In other words, she is putting our best foot forward in trying to convey Coyote's brand image, while showing at least one example of each room's overall style. The retro bath in our online photos is one of several rooms that does have matching white amenities. Thanks to your suggestions we have decided to add more photos of our retro style rooms and bathrooms. Please give us the opportunity to better serve you during your next stay in beautiful Estes Park, and we really do appreciate your comments and suggestions. Thank you!

To all future guests: Please let us know how to make you comfortable before and during your visit with us so that we can do our best to improve your comfort and overall Estes Park experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is super friendly and has a great location. The room we stayed in had not been remodeled yet but it was perfect for us. Only lacking a small refrigerator. The place was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff showed us our room before we committed to staying the night. They have a pool and hot tub. The price was perfect and a good value for Estes Park. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac2CO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for your very nice review! We love getting feedback from our guests, especially ones which mention our nice, friendly staff. In our opinion, it is definitely the most important compliment we can receive!

We purchased this older property just last year and have been working hard and fast to improve it as much as we can. It is our goal to provide the best budget lodging in an otherwise very expensive resort town.

Since we’re a “young” property, we will be constantly seeking feedback and making adjustments for many years so please come back soon and let us know that you’ve stayed before and we’ll set you up!

Thanks again for taking the time to write us. We really appreciate it!

Leslie
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,486 reviews
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $76 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing