We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what we paid for, saved money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As other reviews state, this is a hotel undergoing upgrades. We saved money compared to all other locations in Estes Park. The Coyote Mountain Lodge is staffed by friendly, helpful folks that were all willing to make our stay better. The room was clean and a decent size but the bathroom was tight. One other improvement would be better lighting in thew room, a light in the center of the ceiling would help. Over the course of our trip, our plans changed and we needed to adjust our arrival date here, it was all done over the phone and very easily. One clerk sent us to a great italian place after we checked in and an awesome breakfast place our 1st morning there. Later, while she was swimming in the pool after her shift, she told us about a great supper place for our last night in town.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms in 2-story portion of hotel only have windows in front. Second story are up 1 fligh...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Coyote Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 455 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in mid-June. You can't really beat the price for a place this close to everything. The pool wasn't open yet, but it was too cool for that anyway. We had a king room on the first floor which was fine for us two. Still needed to climb 4steps to get there. Used the mini fridge, but not the microwave. The windows and bathroom were a little dated, but we don't care about those things, since we are rarely in the room. There was a small issue with the carpeting, but the staff was quick to handle it. Some might complain about the doors being open to the outside, but we never felt unsafe. The parking lot was well-lit and all the neighbors were just glad to be there. On the main drag to town, with easy access to the area, which is nothing but gorgeous. We should have stayed longer, and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went on a 1300 mile motorcycle trip throughout the beautiful Rocky Mountains. We made reservations at another hotel down the road from the Coyote Inn, of course not knowing any better, and WHAT A BIG MISTAKE that was. It was horrible. We then left there late that night and went to the Coyote Inn, where they were awesome! Rooms were very nice and clean and BIG! They went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The young lady that was working found a coffee pot for me (they do not come with the room), but do serve coffee bright and early. She had a great attitude and was very helpful. They were even going to keep the hot tub open later for us that night but we were very tired and just glad to be somewhere clean and friendly. We will definately stay there again! Thank-you for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Coyote Mountain Lodge is a quaint little hotel in Estes park. its cheap and the rooms are what you would expect from a cheap hotel. over all the stay was fun and enjoyable. The staff VERY nice and is willing to help in anyway. Nicholas George seemed like he worked 24hours a day. It could be early in the morning or late in the day and he would be around to help us find something or get a few extra blankets.

Even though you dont get a free breakfast or anything, the rooms are easy to access. Plus the entire hotel is very close (easy walking distance) to the Estes lake and has a great view/walking paths.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for your very nice review! We love getting feedback from our guests, especially ones which mention our nice, friendly staff. In our opinion, it is definitely the most important compliment we can receive!

We purchased this older property just last year and have been working hard and fast to improve it as much as we can. It is our goal to provide the best budget lodging in an otherwise very expensive resort town.

Since we’re a “young” property, we will be constantly seeking feedback and making adjustments for many years so please come back soon and let us know that you’ve stayed before and we’ll set you up!

Thanks again for taking the time to write us. We really appreciate it!

Leslie
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a native of Colorado, we have been to Estes many times. This time we decided to stay a few nights and we booked with Coyote Mountain Lodge. This hotel is very clean and is in a great location! I would come back in a heart beat. It is close to restaurants, Lake Estes and a liquor store (all with in walking distance). The owner recently bought this property in forclosure and they are doing a great job trying to modernize the grounds. Our kids enjoyed the heated pool and the front desk people were more than helpful. It is not a brand new shiny hotel but please do not be afraid to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_from_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the first interaction and to the end of my experience at Coyote Lodge, this was the friendliest and funnest staff I have ever come across in the hotel industry. They ensured that my needs where addressed and taken care of, Nick offered his assistance with my luggage immediately following the check in. Staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. The heated pool and hot tub was an amazing addition to relax and rejuvenate after a long day of exploring. I would highly recommend this lodge when you plan your stay in Estes Park, CO.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 360nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We called ahead and asked to see if we can check in early. They said they would look into it and find out when we arrive. We finally arrived at 12:30- 1:00 pm ish, with a very cranky and tired 7 month old and a 7 year old. They said "sorry, they could not change the order of how the rooms are cleaned and we had to come back at 3 to check in. Unfortunately this was our first impression. Later on, I should say the service was a little better. I asked for a PC to check into my flight and the lady at the front desk let me use her "own check in" computer and printer. There were Cliff breakfast bars available at the front desk. and coffee. We did not have a chance to use the pool. The room was spacious but a little run down. The AC was a little loud but kept the room cold. The TV was an old, small tube TV with not many channels. But you are not at the EP to watch TV. Overall it is an average hotel for the price range.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atapul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We really appreciate your comments, and suggestions for improving our service. After a recent guest poll on upgrading to flat-screen TV's vs. upgraded A/C's it was quickly determined that A/C's were the most important improvement for guest comfort at this time. We do have rooms with the larger flat-screen TV upgrade: the newly updated suite, and the two condo apartments. Next summer season we will have more rooms upgraded. We just saved this property from foreclosure a year and a half ago, and we are using our winter season(s) to make the majority of our improvements. However, we did recently upgrade to a new cable provider, and now offer better quality and more channels for your entertainment. Regarding your early Saturday check-in, we are consistently booked on Fridays and Saturdays. This creates a cumbersome logistical effort on the part of our very hard working cleaning staff. We have a rule of 3 pm (or later) for check in every day, but on Saturdays that rule is an absolute. However, our staff is trained to err on the side of accommodating our guests whenever possible. Even though your request for early check-in was made by phone the morning of your check-in date, we tried to accommodate you and were not able to. Perhaps it would have better served your planning for the day if we had just stuck to the rule from the beginning, and if that is the case we do apologize. Thank you for your comments about our staff! They really appreciated your comments and want you to know that we distinguish ourselves from the competition with the most service oriented people we can find. It warms our heart to here our guests tell the world about our customer service. Please refer to your recommendations online during your next stay with us in Estes Park, and we will do everything in our power to give you the room and service you are most comfortable with!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,479 reviews
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $76 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing