We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We're actually still here- snowed in! This was the cheapest hotel we could find in Estes Park and we paid for the cheaper older style room so we weren't expecting a lot but its great. The room is spotless and the beds are very comfy- the main things you want from a room. It isn't nearly as 'retro' as we expected. The carpet and beds/ linen seem new and it seems freshly painted. The bathroom is certainly small and dated but the shower is hot and has good pressure. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, getting the handyman to come out when our fire didn't work and re arranging the rooms for tonight so we could stay in the same room as we're stuck in the snow. I would have liked to see the updated rooms and at only $10 extra they're still good value. There's a pool & hot tub we haven't used. Only a few minutes from a supermarket and the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snipey_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We're very happy that our "retro" room exceeded your expectations! We are striving to be the best priced motel in town and most importantly, with the friendliest staff!

It's guests like you who make our jobs fun!

Please do come back and check us out again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    158
    76
    33
    11
See reviews for
124
169
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If your visiting Estes Park you've got to stay at Coyote Mtn. Lodge! It's the best value in Estes Park.
The rooms are clean and cozy! (Very comfortable beds which is important to me). Complete with pool and hot tub walking distance to town/groceries.
There are great views of the surrounding mountains and you will most likely see Elk wandering through the grounds!
The staff were full of suggestions on activities and restaurant, super friendly and helpful.
I love a vacation that won't put me in the poor house and thanks to Coyote Mtn I'll be able to afford venturing to Estes Park a lot more this year!!!!

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livinlifetothefulles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We never get tired of seeing the elk in town either, unless we're late for an appointment that is!

Our goal is to provide the best budget accommodations in town as you mentioned, you don't want the price of your motel room to stress out your vacation!

Please come back again soon and check out all of our latest improvements!

Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Coyote has a great house to rent with your family. Very cozy and clean. It has a deck overlooking Estes and a beautiful views of the mountains. Easy access to town, grocery stores and restaurants. Entrance to Park is just a few miles away. I look forward to returning with friends!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your great feedback! We love the condos! They're our guests' and staff's favorite. We remodeled both this past year and really wish we had 40 more. Please come back in the winter when our rates are dirt cheap and yes, bring your friends, just don't be too rowdy!

Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

great hotel. clean rooms. great location. the staff were very helpful. if you ever plan on traveling up to estes park this lodge is a MUST!!!!!!! very beautiful country. my girlfriend loved the wildlife. we actually saw an elk walking around. we are both completely in love with the whole place and are already planning another trip back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is my first time staying at Coyote Mountain Lodge, and it won't be my last. I was in town visiting family and found Coyote Mountain through Tripadvisor. At first glance, it seemed like a decent place to stay for a nice price. Once arriving, I was more than thrilled with it. The manager (I believe), Mike, was fantastic from beginning to end. You couldn't have asked for better service. He was knowledgable about the area and things that I would like to do. He pointed me in the right direction and made my trip most memorable.

The rooms were clean and gave me a great place to go into sanctuary when needing some break time. I definitely made myself right at home. I'm coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harnesshackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel twice before, they have a good rate on their rooms but that is only because the buildings are old and dated looking, I feel as if I'm rolling into the mid 80's as I pulled in. The front desk guy wasn't even standing there when I came in. His breath also smelled of alcohol, I decided to give him a chance. My wife and I were looking for a bargain and I guess that's what we got. Good for overnight stays, but not to much of a view luckily I like to spend my time outside so that didn't bother me that much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marriotfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. As you mentioned we are a budget motel and have purposely positioned ourselves that way. We have heard a lot from tourists that the rates in Estes Park are shockingly high, averaging $100 / night. Our competitor's next door frequently charge double what our rates are. As such, we have smaller rooms and yes, vintage or retro decor.

We are also remodeling as much as we physically can starting with safety concerns first. Last winter we spent 3 months completely rebuilding a new walk way since the old ones were rotten and completely out of code. We have also renovated about a dozen bathrooms, the lobby, two condos and countless other areas. It's a slow process but we're getting there.

Please swing my the next time you're in town and see all the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place to stay. Our room was clean and comfortable, the price was the best in town and everyone was helpful. So close to town that everything we wanted to do was easy and the staff helped with ideas of where and what to do. I would defiantly stay here again and excited to try it out in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi DKBeach,
Thanks for the nice review! We love guests like you! We are trying our best to improve our little motel and love getting great feedback. Please come back soon so you can see all of our new projects!

Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Property: Coyote Mountain Lodge
Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing