We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
Ranked #14 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
roanoke
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In the opinions of my wife and I (both seniors), this was probably the best hotel of 11 we stayed in during our recent road trip to the west from our home in Virginia. Our hotel room, named "Columbine" was very clean and interestingly "theme" decorated, we felt very safe there, and the town of Estes Park is extremely interesting, scenic, and seemingly safe. We talked at length with two of the hotel owners in the lobby and were convinced that both were sincerely friendly and aimed to please us. In all, we had a very pleasant experience that was well worth the modest amount that we paid for the room. One of the other hotels that we stayed at on this trip was on the "other side" of the Rocky Mountain National Park in Grand Lake and we strongly recommend Estes Park of the two towns for restaurant and hotel selection, our perception of safety, and options for shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taysml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    38
    14
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Brynwood is a perfect combination of comfortable and rustic. The location is quiet enough to sit by the river and read, but close enough to town that a bite to eat is never too far away. One night a group of visitors stood outside by the resort entrance to observe a bear climbing a tree across the road. And our last morning a gang of elk were sleeping just feet away from our cabin. We had been warned about unwanted wildlife encounters, namely ferocious badgers, but we never saw any sign of them. Our time at the Brynwood was filled with positive experiences. Anyone looking for the full Estes Park experience should include a stay at the Brynwood in their vacation plans.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Booked late and not many options available in Estes for August. Was hoping for the Glacier Lodge which we loved (look that one up if you can) and this was the closest atmosphere I could get, by the river, log cabin. But the beds were uncomfortable, the hide a bed terrible, the common area so cramped, but it was clean, it was fine. We enjoyed the Elk hanging out on property, and the river was pretty. The furniture inside was uncomfortable and the screened porch furniture was three cheap lawn chairs that were horribly uncomfortable. The swing doesn't work, the grounds are minimal, the pool was small but clean. So it is fine, but compared to Glacier which has more charm, campfires, better river location and nicer accommodations, we were disappointed. The best part about it was walking to the Tiny Town Mini Golf, Smoken Dave's BBQ and Trout Haven, so for location, that was kind of fun.

Room Tip: We were in Sea Galley or something like that, and it was a good location with a nice hot tub. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wysfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
First we want the thank you for your review...they really help us to better our customer's experience here at Brynwood! We were surprised that you thought the beds were uncomfortable! We have guests tell us all the time what great beds we have, in fact, a couple of resorts have called us about where we got our beds after being told how great they are by some of our guests who had to stay elsewhere when we couldn't accommodate them! Our beds were all replaced in 2011 and 2012. The hide-a-beds we use ONLY for children, because we feel they are never comfortable for adults! I'm hoping that was not our error when you reserved, because we tell people that when making the reservation...that hide-a-bed was brand new in 2012.
The furniture in the cabin was updated in May of this year with new dinette table and chairs, new side chairs and tables! We are sorry you didn't care for them.
We had to come up with the lawn chairs when the regular ones were discovered missing! We were scrambling to find some...and admit they were "extras" we had to accommodate larger groups that we store under the motel, they are not the standard.
Thanks for the heads-up on the swing!!! Our manager said he can fix it...no one has told us that it had stopped swinging!
We do have a great location half way between downtown Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. Our goal is to provide you a "home away from home" and your suggestions certainly help us with this endeavor! Thanks for noticing how hard our housekeeping staff works on service and cleanliness! We truly want your Rocky Mountain experience to be a positive one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I loved being able to look out the window or walk out of the cabin and see the mountains and scenery around you. We saw elk, chipmunks, and other animals all through out Estes Park. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable about the Estes Park area, and were very helpful in giving advice on what places to visit. Downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment is literally minutes away, and hiking and horseback riding through Rocky Mountain National Park is right down the road. Loved my stay there.

Room Tip: There is a nice heated pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked 3 nights in the motel portion of Brynwood. What a terrible room. The door had no lock. I have 3 daughters and can't fathom letting them stay here. There were bugs on the wall. The room smelled bad and we definitely did not feel safe here. We drove to Louisville, CO to stay in a Quality Inn instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GullM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
First, it is always disheartening and concerning to us when our guests are disappointed with their accommodations. We strive to offer clean, safe, comfortable rooms to all our patrons.

We apologize that, because you arrived after our office hours and didn’t call our emergency number to bring your concerns to our attention, we were unable to make you aware that the doorknobs are automatically locked from the outside when you close the door, and thus there is no lock to be turned from the inside. If you close the door and forget your key, you're locked out of your room. Most of our guests laugh when we tell them that most locals don't even lock their cars here at night! This is a very safe community, nothing like any "big city" you may have come from, however the rooms do lock and you are safe! We appreciate you bringing your perspective to our attention so that we may avoid misunderstandings with our future guests.

That room was freshly painted and the wood stained in May. We have new beds, new furniture and new airconditioners throughout the entire motel. We strive to create for our guests a "home away from home".

Per the note left upon your departure, we understand that you saw a “tick” on the wall in your room. Again, we do our very best to ensure that our rooms are in their best condition for our guests. Due to our mountain location, every now and then an insect may be encountered in our rooms…usually having “hitched a ride” in there on the room’s occupants or luggage. We can assure you that this was an isolated incident and is not indicative of a larger problem. Regardless, we are aware that your perception is your reality and we are so sorry that your experience here was not what you had hoped! Perhaps in the future you can contact the after hours emergency number of anywhere you stay so that your concerns may be addressed and you can be at ease with problems solved right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I am not sure in reading the previous reviews if we are on the same planet...We found the property to be grossly neglected and over grown. Our cabin was not like the pictures online at all. When we drove onto the property we were shocked....then when we walked into the cabin we all were in more shock. It was disgusting to say the least. The bathroom was sooooo gross and the inside of the cabinets were dirty. No one ever checked on us. Clean towels were left on our kitchen table daily and dirty ones removed from the bathroom. The only other housekeeping was the garbage cans emptied daily. There were 4 of us in a 6 person cabin and we were cramped to say the least. We decided to make the best of it because there was nothing available only more places like what we were in. Nothing was ever tidied or vacuumed and we were there for 5 days!! We cleaned up after ourselves but really needed a vacuum because we drug in dirt and sand every time we went outside. If you are accustomed to less than 2 stars than this place is for you....otherwise don't even consider it...I felt it was a bait and switch. Run for the mountains and stay in a tent, those accommodations would be better than this disgusting place that hasn't seen upkeep or upgrades in years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your opinion. I want to mention that the pictures on the website are outdated so that is true that the cabin did not look like the website. The cabin you stayed in was updated in May of this year with fresh paint, new bed spreads, a new flat screen television, a new sofa, new side chairs, new end tables and new carpet on the screened in porch area. We switched from charcoal to gas grills in August of 2012 and the kitchen was remodeled in 2011.

As far as the landscaping, we keep the grass cut and run sprinklers every evening, we have manicured bushes and flower pots all around the property. The area down by the river cabins is kept in its natural state with huge rock formations, wild flowers and mature trees. It would ruin the mountain experience if we were to tear down all of that natural beauty.

These are housekeeping cabins as stated in our information, our motel has full maid service. Our housekeepers work very hard to make the guests experience pleasant. They come in each afternoon and take out soiled towels and linens and replace with fresh linens as well as remove all trash. We change the sheets for anyone staying 5 or more nights however, you’re group only stayed 4 nights. This is the only review of the season that mentions anything about poor housekeeping. They are very eager to please and most guests are overwhelmed by their hard work. I checked with the staff that took care of you daily. They DID vacuum your cabin at least once when they noticed the sand on the carpet. The bathroom was already full of clean towels hanging on the rods so they left extra towels on the table.

If I recall, you were upset upon check in because we have a sign posted that we do not allow outside fires due to Estes Park fire bans.

We did our best to go above and beyond for you by opening the pool 2 hours early so you could swim and dip in the hot tub. You said that the pool hours of 10:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. was unacceptable and told me that we need to change the hours to 8:00 a.m. – midnight. The reason for our pool hours is to have noise consideration for our guests that are staying in poolside cabins.

Our check out is 11:00 a.m. however we received a phone call from you on your departure day saying that you decided to go on ATV’s and were going to check out at 2:00 pm even though we had another reservation arriving at 3:00. You were very upset when we told you that would not work. In light of that conversation we are not at all surprised by a negative review.

According to your comment it sounds like there’s no place in Estes Park that would meet your requirements. Estes has never professed to be an Aspen or a Vail.

As you can see from our reviews we have very satisfied customers, many of which return often and book up to a year in advance. We are truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your Estes Park experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great get away location. Beautiful scene of the surrounding mountains from the cabin.
Loved the screened pouch to sit out on and watch the wildlife that likes to visit.
Saw deer, elk, birds during the day and heard the bears at night. Cabin was cozy and very clean. Had a Flat Screen TV and DVD player which we watched very little.
No air conditioner but no need for one. Warmed up a little during the day but cooled down every night for great sleeping. Fan was in cabin for the short time if was warm during the day.
Outdoor heated pool. Very close to Rocky National Park, which is a must drive if you going to be there anyways. Far enough away from town to relax and yet close enough to go into to shop at the local stores .Cabin had a kitchen which was supplied with all the items needed if you wanted to bring your own food with you to cook, also had a gas grill. Suggest bringing food from home or buy before arriving, Several good restaurants very close if you don't want to cook. Staff was very friendly. Clean towels every day.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great, Ours faced the pool/road but you can walk down to the river area and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
311 reviews
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Property: Brynwood on the River
Address: 710 Moraine Ave, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517-8004
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing