We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
Ranked #14 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Brynwood on the river is a very nice place for vacation stay.
The cabins have nice view on the river and the mountain, very clean.
The staff is so nice, always proposing help and giving recommendations.
The location is perfect, between Estes Park dowtown and Rocky Mountain park entrance.

Room Tip: Cabins with river view are vey nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    37
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
77
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in cabin 6, "chick-a-dee" and had several problems. One big attraction is supposed to be the deck overlooking the river. It does, but the hot tub blocks 90% of the view so you cannot sit on the deck and see the river. Also, I was unable to get the gas grill lighted, so we had to cook inside, in pots and pans my wife termed inadequate and even disgusting, and she was unable to light the oven. The toaster was missing (supposedly stolen), but one was brought when I called. All glasses were plastic, which takes a lot of the romance out of a glass of wine by the river....The living room is poor. A queen bed was put in there to make it a two bedroom, but that caused the couch to face the kitchen area, away from the old 17-inch tv (with non-working remote) perched on top of a way too big antique hotel telephone switchboard. You have to sit on the bed to watch tv or see the fireplace. The free wifi is nice, but very slow and I could only connect about half the time. Overall, I still could not recommend that unit at half the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JamesG343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was the most overpriced place I have ever stayed in Estes. The two nights we stayed at Brynwood was a gift getaway and it was a big disappointment. The TV was so small, remotes did not work, TV was placed in corner of room with nowhere to sit to watch it except on corner of bed. Couch was on opposite corner facing kitchen. On the second day of our stay, we had to make our own beds, dump our own trash. They did give us 2 clean bath towels placed on the kitchen table. NO MAID SERVICE AT ALL. Also, I had to buy a roll of toilet paper cuz we ran out during the evening. They did leave an envelope on kitchen table with the names of the maids for a tip. I thought that was classic and insulting. There are many better places to stay at reasonable prices in Estes. I recommend anywhere on fall river such as Deercrest or Murphys Lodge.

Room Tip: Do not waste your money and ruin your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
My thanks to these guests for their candid comments. This was a new configuration in this cabin when we got a brand new hide-a-bed couch. We were trying to give more space in the living room, but it's very good to find what you liked and didn't like! We have rearranged it again and guests seem to like it! We have been updating the TV's to flatscreens which we now have in that cabin. As posted on all of our information these are "Housekeeping Cabins" which means that we give you fresh towels and empty your trash daily. However, we do offer full service motel in which the beds are made daily as well. If I recall, our manager went out of her way to find you a company that could service your oxygen tank by getting on-line and calling around until she found a company to work with you. We sure hope that worked out well for you. Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Brynwood on the River is a GREAT place for anyone looking to stay in Estes Park. I went recently with some friends. One thing I loved was that all of the cabins had their own original name and theme and were decorated in those specific themes. Our cabin had three rooms, a living room, small dining area, and kitchen area. The space was was great and overall it had a real cabin feel to it. The cabins are also RIGHT next to the river that runs through the town. We went down by the river at night and it was just a fun, family atmosphere. Each cabin also has its own hot tub. Because the weather was so nice, we enjoyed the hot tub almost every day we were there. There is also a pool on the property and it was great for during the day since the weather was so nice. It always seemed well kept. The managers were very nice and hospitable. Anytime we needed anything, they readily made it available to us. The hot tub and our cabin were always well kept every day. I will definitely be coming back for another stay. If you choose to stay here and have not been to Estes Park, you may also even get lucky enough to see a bear or some elk. It was overall an experience I came home talking about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I would be remiss to not say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Brynwood in July. Although the weather was cold and rainy, we found so much to do and see that it was a great trip in spite of the weather. The Brynwood is a homey and comfortable place to stay. Management and staff is very accommodating. The cabins are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We stayed in the bunkhouse and enjoyed the fireplace on a cold chilly evening. We will be returning, as well as telling family and friends about a great place to stay when visiting Estes Park. It is close to the downtown area, but far enough that you don't feel the congestion that is experienced on the main streets of town with so many people. Four of us also visited the Oxygen Sanctuary when some in our group experienced altitude sickness. We didn't realize that was why two of the girls felt like throwing up, but after an oxygen session, both felt fine. We love Estes and the Brynwood on the River. Next time, we will try the fishing too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've stayed at the Brynwood twice recently and can't wait to go back again! I appreciated the cleanliness of the cabins, the reliability of the managers and staff to make sure I enjoyed my stay, the good wifi, having my own personal hot tub, the heated pool, & shopping in the adorable town just a few miles away. This resort is located 1 mile from the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park, and has to be the most beautiful place I've ever vacationed. We went on a 3-4 mile hike up the mountain and saw FOUR gorgeous lakes. But, you don't even have to leave your cabin to see wildlife-- many times there are elk walking around right on the property.

I'm currently planning a group trip to Estes for this fall and can't wait to stay in one of the larger Brynwood houses in the mountains with my friends. They are fully-furnished houses just a few miles from the resort.

The Brynwood is by far my favorite Colorado resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was the fourth time we stayed at Brynwood over the past probably 15 years. We stayed in the Bunkhouse with our family. The place is starting to get pretty old and beat up. The hot tub did not work for 4 days and although they gave us a $30 credit (wow) it did not make up for the sore muscles from a day of hiking. Unless they do some major updates I would pass this place by unfortunately.

PS They also did not clean our cabin/bedding during the week as they promised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jummy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Brynwood this time. As soon as we found out the hot tub wasn't heating we called repair which took a day to get up from Ft. Collins. The managers offered their own hot tub for everyone to use and there were quite a few who used it while the other was down....it wasn't down for 4 days though. The people who left The Bunkhouse cabin this morning had nothing but raves about it, took brochures for family and friends and said they would definitely be back! Our new managers have been working overtime painting, clearing the yard, trimming hedges and fixing up everything; we pride ourselves on how clean and well maintained our property is and most of our return guests are telling us our grounds look better than they ever have! I guess its all a matter of perspective. We have record of our housekeepers servicing your cabin daily and your bed change was done on August 1st. We weren't sure of the problem you were talking about, because all of the cabins get towels and trash emptied every day. Again, we are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#32 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Property: Brynwood on the River
Address: 710 Moraine Ave, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517-8004
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing