We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last time here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
Ranked #14 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was the fourth time we stayed at Brynwood over the past probably 15 years. We stayed in the Bunkhouse with our family. The place is starting to get pretty old and beat up. The hot tub did not work for 4 days and although they gave us a $30 credit (wow) it did not make up for the sore muscles from a day of hiking. Unless they do some major updates I would pass this place by unfortunately.

PS They also did not clean our cabin/bedding during the week as they promised.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jummy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Brynwood this time. As soon as we found out the hot tub wasn't heating we called repair which took a day to get up from Ft. Collins. The managers offered their own hot tub for everyone to use and there were quite a few who used it while the other was down....it wasn't down for 4 days though. The people who left The Bunkhouse cabin this morning had nothing but raves about it, took brochures for family and friends and said they would definitely be back! Our new managers have been working overtime painting, clearing the yard, trimming hedges and fixing up everything; we pride ourselves on how clean and well maintained our property is and most of our return guests are telling us our grounds look better than they ever have! I guess its all a matter of perspective. We have record of our housekeepers servicing your cabin daily and your bed change was done on August 1st. We weren't sure of the problem you were talking about, because all of the cabins get towels and trash emptied every day. Again, we are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 165 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

I visited Brynwood for a week with my best friends. It was one of the best Colorado experiences ever. The site being so close to Rocky Mountain National Park is a great advantage to everyone visiting. The managers are wonderful people especially when it comes to Hospitality. They not only get you well situated but also give great advise on how to spend a quality vacation time in Colorado if you don't have a detailed plan. They're a wonderful couple.

I would highly recommend a stay over here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mithy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This property is a combination of creature comforts (wifi, cable tv, swimming pool, hot tubs) and CREATURES! We have stayed at the cabins two summers in a row, (approx. 5 days apiece).

The property is 'natural.' Meaning, that they dont have sod that they mow. I LOVE THAT! The river runs through the lower section of their lot, and there are many spots to sit outside and listen to the trees and the river and just relax. Actually, you can even sit in the river. My mom and I took our patio chairs and placed them in the shallow part of the river and played cards for hours. Your imagination kicks into high gear when you are surrounded by beauty.
If you are so inclined, take a swim; the fresh white towels in the office are a nice touch! Take a walk - you can wander over to a cute grocery store and stock up on supplies. Or wander over to the nice wine shop a few blocks away. No need to go without my Clois du Bois.
For technophiles, grab your iPad and work wirelessly in the cabins. Or watch a movie on cable or DVR. Really, there is so much to do on property, that I could stay here a day or two just taking it all in.

Also, it is very simple to get your shop on and go into the ADORBLE downtown Estes. The people are so nice; the shops are cute; the food is good. We also liked going up to the Stanley for breakfasts. Really a nice experience.

When we tired of hiking in the unspeakably breathtaking RMNP, we would go back to our cabin and see what Mama Nature wanted to present to us. If you are a nature lover such as I, then you will be boldly suprised by the beautiful animals that wander on to the property.
Where do I begin? Deer that came so close to my mom they almost touched her hair. Stunning Elk that sun themselves on the grass for hours, then tromp through the river when the sun sets. Birds of so many variety I bought a book in town and started birdwatching. Fishing - which I do not do - but saw others having a great time. But the coolest encounter by far, was last September, while I was watching two HUGE elks rub their backs on trees so wildly that the trees looked like they may snap, my mom called out to me, watch out, BEAR. And yes, while I was staring at the ELK, a black bear ran by. And after the excitement wore off, we jumped in our hot tub and discussed our day with a cold glass of wine.
I LOVE THIS PLACE. Not Kidding. Go.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

First of all, the pics on the website were/are a little mixed up. The property is small and the cabins are pretty much on top of one another. We stayed #10, which was supposed to be the most private and right on the Big Thompson River. Well.....it was more private than the others and we were on the river, but we had to go down the hill to get to the river and of course climb back up. All in all it was ok but I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TexasGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We are so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. THE HIDE-A-WAY cabin is one of many preferred cabins on the property. When making the reservation you are told that it overlooks the river...we will make sure that we train our staff to say that you have to walk down the hill to get to the river, but it is one of the more private cabins surrounded by trees. There are cabins VERY close to the river that to get in you need to reserved if not the previous summer, at least by January to get in them, but they are not surrounded by trees like the Hide-a-way cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently stayed 5 days in the Long's Peak House, which is one of the vacation homes operated by Brynwood on the River. This trip was a gift to our parents, and this house was perfect for our needs. We had three families - three couples and two children including a baby - and there were more than enough bedrooms and bathrooms and living area to accomodate all of us while giving us some space when needed. The main/ground floor has two masters, one of which is monstrous in size and has 2 walls covered with windows that look out at the mountains (including Long's Peak). Stairs lead down to the bottom floor, which is partially built into the side of the hill but still has some windows. There is a deck outside the kitchen/dining area, where there are a couple tables that can accomodate a large group (12-16 people?). We sat on the deck in the evenings enjoying the view while spotting prairie dogs, a badger, ground squirrels, mule deer, and other critters. The kitchen was furnished with a stove/cooktop, microwave, refrigerator, and dishwasher, and associated cooking and eating utensils. There was also a clothes washer and dryer in the downstairs bathroom which worked well. For our baby, there was a playpen as well as a "pack 'n play" where our little guy could hang out and sleep. The house was very clean and, though not brand new, was well taken care of. The location of the house was good - about 10 minutes by car to downtown or to the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park. Downsides? The main downside was the water pressure, and the showers and faucets fluctuated depending on who was using the water at any given time. After we figured out what was going on, we adjusted to avoid taking showers while others were doing the same. Another minor downside might only apply to hot, summer days. There are window A/C units in the two master bedrooms and in the main living room area. It was in the mid 80's to low 90's (farenheit) while we were there, and the A/C units kept the rooms reasonably well cooled. On rare hotter days (91+ farenheit), I suspect the main floor might be a bit warm in the mid-to-late afternoon. (The downstairs bedrooms and living room remained nice and cool during the days due to its being built into the ground.) The owners/managers of the property that we dealt with were very nice. Overall, we were very happy with our accomodations, and we would return to this location and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoftwareBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Recommended by friends and trip advisor, we chose to stay in the the motel unit of this property. Our room, Columbine, #16, was lovely. It had a king bed, tv with dvd player, kitchenette big enough for one but with what is needed and a vanity and bathroom. We loved the room and the location. Nice view of the Never Summer mountains. The wi-fi is the fastest I've every had in any lodging establishment! A ceiling fan would really help air ciruclation as the A/C unit was a bit persnicketty. Disappointed with the hot tub; it's tiny. Both sets of owners are friednly and helpful. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank revdrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great and comforable. Very Overpriced And not good food

Stayed: June 2011
5  Thank Peeta_Mellark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I was confused with your comment on how we don't have good food...we have no restaurant, just full kitchens in the cabins and kitchenettes in the motel, so we have no food here at all! Perhaps you stayed elsewhere and just thought it was Brynwood. We are sorry you thought we were overpriced. We went 3 years without raising any rates and went up this year just 2 or 3 dollars to offset utility, minimum wage and other price increases. We are told how reasonable our rates are all the time! Hopefully you might give us another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,526 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Address: 710 Moraine Ave, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517-8004
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range: $83 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing