We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Inn Mountain Tavern

Rock Inn Mountain Tavern
Ranked #6 of 127 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open 7 days a week at 4pm Sunday Mornings we are serving Brunch from 10am to 2pm Built in 1937as a dance hall for the Big Band Era, The Rock continues to be a lively gathering place with local flair. In the winter, our two wood-burning stoves keep the room toasty for folks stopping in for a beer or a bite after playing in Rocky Mountain National Park. During the summer season we enjoy stunning continental divide views from our outdoor dining patio. Our menu is an ever evolving blend of hand-crafted, hearty comfort food with a health and planet conscious twist. We aim to fill you up with goodness so you can get back to enjoying the mountains again tomorrow. We feature Certified Angus Beef, All-Natural Colorado chicken, fresh salads, whole grains, organic teas and coffees, local beers, sustainably produced wines, and a full bar. On Many Fridays after dinner, we set-up one of many original Colorado bands on our 76 year old stage, clear the dance floor and boogie all night. Some of the bands playing these days include Chain Station, James and the Devil, Old Town Pickers, The Sweet Lillies, Stringboard Theory, Cadillac Grip Funk, KC Groves, and many more. During the summer time, acoustic music acts play most other nights of the week, sunday nights are a mellower feeling as we host acoustic Colorado songwriters during dinner. You might catch Jon Pickett, Alex Thoele, Sarah Caton, Jay Roemer, Billy Shaddox, Jay Stott, or Terry Kishiyama and Ash Ganley. We also offer a great open bluegrass pick on Thursday nights lead by a few talented local musicians, either joining in on the pick or just sitting back and enjoying the bluegrass, tuesdays are a funny night of music. We look forward to having you join us. Reservations are not accepted, however if you want to give us a call, when you are on your way we will be happy to get a table ready for you or put you on the list. During the off-season there is rarely a wait. In July, August, and September it is best to get here before 6.
conifer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were here as entertainers with another 2 families. The food was wonderful, service was excellent. We will be back, when traveling through Estes Park.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lizblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    346
    100
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
“Great flat iron steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped in last night for St Patrick's Day and had a great time. Food was great! I highly recommend the flat iron with mashed potatoes. We also had the bread pudding and it was to die for. I have read a few reviews regarding th music being loud...we did not think that at all, but we did go there with the intentions of watching the band. I think any place that has a band playing is going to be somewhat loud. However, we were still able to carry on a conversation and hear each other just fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Estes Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I eat here whenever I get a chance. The bacon wrapped dates or prunes or whatever they are... DELECTABLE! The staff is wonderful. Live music! Best trout that I have had. And their filet mignon is to die for. LOVE this place. I just wish they were open for lunch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyChic822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We heard so much about the Rock Inn and were a little disappointed. The food was good [bison burger], portions small and we felt way over priced. we ordered sweet potato fries - only got a few. People were nice but we don't think we'd go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patteski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Once again, the best place to eat in Estes Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stop at the Rock Inn every time we visit Estes, and it's proven to be the best steaks anywhere around. We always get the Flat Iron Steak, and it's cooked to perfection, quality meat, and well worth the price. The mashed potatoes are excellent, as are the sweet potato fries. The Devil on Horseback (bacon-wrapped dates) appetizer is wonderful. Side salads are fresh and generous. The atmosphere of the Rock is cozy and laid-back, and when we visited was populated by locals, always an indication of good food in a tourist area. Our server was prompt, polite, and his recommendations for an appetizer and beer were spot- on. The Rock Inn never disappoints.

*some nights of the week and on weekends, local musicians perform at the Rock. If you want to enjoy good music and a great meal, this is a great time to visit. If you want a quieter atmosphere, come early. Happy Hour is between 4pm and 6pm and the draft beers are half-price and it's quiet enough to have a conversation with your dining companions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Inn Mountain Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Rock Inn Mountain Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing