We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Baldpate Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Baldpate Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 129 Restaurants in Estes Park
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Our Soup and Salad Buffet is served daily for lunch or dinner. Although we do not offer traditional entrees, we are loved for our fresh salad buffet, homemade soups, breads, and pies. Not only locals, but travelers especially delight in the refreshing change and value that our Baldpate Soup & Salad Buffet offers.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The food, especially the bread & cornbread, was amazing. The soup options were terrific, too! The view was amazing and sitting by the window watching the hummingbirds was just breathtaking. You would never think such a simple menu could be so excellent, but it is and it's stood the test of time for good reason.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    65
    30
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Used to be a favorite, not any more.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I have been eating at the restaurant for well over 20 years. I am sad to say that it has been going down hill for the last 6-8 years. Soup is not nearly as good as is used to be. At my last visit, I even had to ask that mine be heated in the microwave to get it above room temperature. The three good things that remain at the Baldpate are the blue cheese dressing, the views, and the rustic ambiance.
Sad to say, I do not recommend any more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsport, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where we take our guests”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I love coming here for lunch. The home made soup, salads, and deserts are fantastic! Not only do you get a meal in a historic place, but there are humming birds right outside of your windows. There are interesting photos of famous people (NOT currant pop culture).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
222 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Little Too Pretentious”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Historic old hotel with lunch service to the public, which is what we did. The offerings are soup, salad and some baked goods. Not really worth going so far out of the way, which this place is. Charming place with great views, but we would probably not return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A+ for Nostalgia, C+ for food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a very unique off-the-beaten-track restaurant in a beautiful rustic mountain setting. The "worlds largest key collection" might sound a bit strange but it's actually quite interesting. You get the feeling that your grandparents could have eaten here (as little children) and seen the same restaurant furniture and wall decorations as we do today.
On the other hand, the soup & salad bar was pretty expensive for food that was rather ordinary. I tried to convince myself that the soups and breads were outstanding and well worth the price but in truth the selection and taste were not that impressive.
The Baldpate is unique enough I want to keep coming back, but the food price and quality keep me from doing it too often.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldpate Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Baldpate Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing