We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed for 7 nights and it was the best sleep I have had in months. Newer mattress, very clean, quiet, close to town and the National Park. Adults only which is nice if you're an empty nester and like the peace and quiet. The owners are the sweetest people and make sure you enjoy your stay. We plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank col1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    76
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
209
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Deer Crest boasts rooms all overlooking Fall River with a well-appointed area for relaxing as you enjoy the tranquil sounds of the river and views of the Rocky Mountains. Decks or patios appear to be associated with all rooms as well. Amenities also include comfortable sofas and chairs, fridge w/separate freezer, microwave, coffeemaker as well as remote-controlled fireplaces--nice touch. In addition, it's an adults-only property. The owners were exceptionally accommodating (readied our room early and offered to store our refrigerated items while we waited) and friendly.
They get it right at Deer Crest.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotama_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I loved our room overlooking the river. It was so relaxing drinking hot chocolate and listening to the river from our patio area. Great comfortable room. Large and spacious. Nice bathroom area. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaWestminster_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

You can find newer and fancier places to stay, but I'm not sure why you would want to. Deer Crest is in a very quiet area, a little bit west of over-developed, traffic-jammed downtown Estes Park. The entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park is three miles away. We spent two days here, paying about $109 a night when you add in the lugs. It's basically a mom-and-pop motel, very pleasant, very homey. They advertise themselves as adults-only and no-smoking. Why can't more resorts do that? Most of the rooms overlook the Fall River, which is just steps from your door. You can enjoy your afternoon beverage sitting in the yard, watching gophers run through rocks, listening to the river pound its way down the valley, and looking up at mountains. The rooms are fine, decently appointed, and everything worked. The bathroom is small, and you should try for an upstairs room, because in our downstairs room you could hear people walking around upstairs. There's plenty of parking just steps from your room. The pool is nice. There is no restaurant, but an excellent one next door gives you a discount.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigredjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Ken and Carrie were helpful with things to do in the area. They had DVD's of Rocky Mountain National Park. It was a beautiful and quiet location on the Fall River where one could enjoy your morning coffee while watching elk and marmots with the sounds of the river. It is very easy to walk on sidewalks into town and an easy drive into the National Park. Restaurant is very close by. We had a very relaxing and restful time while hiking and enjoying the outdoors. Can't wait to be able to get away again and renew ourselves there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredgrandma09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

I was looking for a quiet and reasonably priced place to stay while hiking through Rocky Mountain National Park during the day and writing on my laptop at night. I found that place in Deer Crest Resort. I just returned from my trip yesterday. I was more than happy to pay the extremely modest bill for my two-day stay.

The main entrance to RMNP is only a few minutes away to the west of the Resort. Estes Park (with its many restaurants) is a few minutes away in the to the east. The atmosphere of the Resort is completely functional and a bit rustic; nothing pretentious about it. And that's exactly what I was looking for. Ken, the owner, was ever-helpful. He made me feel entirely at home. I will always be grateful to him for encouraging me to borrow some of the Resort's snow shoes (at no charge) and hiking the trails at Bear Lake. I was a bit hesitant, given that it was the middle of January and it was windy, but I bundled up and hit the trails and found exquisite beauty everywhere I walked. I barely saw any people once I was on the snow-packed trails. The people at home are extremely impressed with the photos. Bottom line: Even in January, Deer Crest Resort and RMNP provided a perfect reasonably priced escape for me.

Now I'm back in St. Louis, far from those incredible mountains. When people ask me where I was, I've been telling them that I "went on a retreat," which is how it felt. Thanks, Ken!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErichV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Location is ideal for visiting RMNP. Also outside of Estes Park so you don't have the crowds to hear and deal with.
My room had a king size bed and kitchenette. Plenty of counter and storage space. Everything was clean and in order, albiet slightly worn. I didn't explore the grounds but I think it's near a stream.
The owners/managers were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed-dest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
2.1 mi away
Appenzell Inn
Appenzell Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Property: Deer Crest Resort
Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing