We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing ”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed this place so much. It's back yard is so beautiful. And the inside is homie. In fact tonight we are staying at an expensive place that is more modern but just doesn't have the comfortable feel like this place. The river was 20 yards off the back deck and coffee has never tasted so good. It's close to everything too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SadinaSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    77
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
216
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a very nicely renovated older motel ... I understand we're talking 50 years old or something like that. Rooms are a decent size and immaculate. We took one of the "mini suites" with a kitchenette, which was adequate for the two of us. The owners are cheerful and helpful, and the grounds are neat and comfortable along the side of the river - unfortunately the runoff was very high, so no fishing this time. This place is adults only and no smoking - so be aware if either doesn't fit you, this isn't the place to be. All in all, a comfortable, friendly place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed for a single night at this lovely resort in a Deluxe Riverfront room. We received a genuine welcome on checking in and found our room to be a very good size, clean and with a comfortable bed. The porch on the river side was a lovely place to sit and have a drink or just watch the river. There are several hummingbird feeders along the porch and you can sit and watch these tiny birds at the feeders. The resort is in a very good position as it is on the outskirts of Estes Park and handy for shops etc but is also on the road that leads into the Rocky Mountain National Park and you don't have to keep driving through Estes Park to visit the park. The resort is beautifully quiet and calm with a slightly rustic feel to its decor. We really enjoyed our stay. It is a shame that no breakfast is offered as there is nowhere on the door step to get a meal in the morning nor is there a shop really close by - you have to go into Estes Park. The room has a fridge and a coffee maker and you can do your own breakfast and eat it on the porch as we did if you get organised ! If you want entertainment apart from the wildlife and the river, the room has a good size TV and a DVD player with lots of films to choose from in reception. If you want a good place to stay while you look around this area, then look no further. I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

You never know what you are going to get just from the information on line. In this case, our expectations were surpassed. We had a room with two queen beds overlooking the river that was so spacious. We loved the two porches, one street side and one loverlooking the river. Such a quiet, peaceful location. Close to town but also far enough out to be convenient. It was wonderful opening the room window and listening to the Fall River rush by. Or being able to sit by the river in one of many places to enjoy. The room had all the comforts - extra blankets, ceiling fan, box fan, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, dvd player (movies are available in the office). Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river. We stayed in room 203 and loved it. It actually is ground lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Deer Crest Resort for the first time. What a terrific place. Catering to Adult non smokers the Resort sits along creek with various places to sit and enjoy the scenery of the wildlife, mountain views and creek side comforts. The room was extremely clean and had a very comfortable king size bed. The room had a love seat and chair that was in excellent condition and supported my back great. The electric fireplace gave the cold winter night the perfect home feel of all great hotel rooms. As an added plus the resort is quiet! No loud screaming kids, drunkards, or obnoxious guests to ruin the stay. You cannot even here the other guests come and go from their rooms. My room had a private balcony that was cozy and secluded to the other balconies of other rooms so no one can see you enjoying the scenery. Setting just off the highway to the National park I am happy to note that you could not here any traffic noise in the room. Lastly, the rooms provide ample electrical outlets for all your high tech gear. Phones, eReaders, laptops, Ipods, etc can all be plugged in with out needing to hot swap or unplug the room lamps to get everything charged. I have gotten used to bringing additional strip outlets on my travels but at the Deer Crest they were not necessary. Room was cleaned daily. I found Ken, one of the owners to be extremely helpful and a delightful man to deal with during my stay. I have stayed at most places in Estes park over the years but the Deer Crest, in just one stay, has become the ONLY place I will ever stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobinoftheRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and have enthusiastically recomended it to others who have also enjoyed staying there. The family owners are very friendly and welcoming. They have been updating the facility and technology features. I also enjoyed the decor and thought it was perfect for the location. I don't usually sleep soundly in beds other than my own but that was not the case here. The bed was very comfortable as was the other room furniture (all of which reclined). While I love children and pets I enjoyed the peace and calmness of it being for adults only and non-smoking everywhere. Although I have only stayed there when it has been snowing, I like that every room has a patio with furniture and hope to return again when it is warmer. Also like that the location is not right in town but close enough to be convenient and also not far from Rocky Mtn. Park entrance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacque P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

First of all, the location is great as it is few minutes away either from the park entrance either from the town where you can find everything: shops, restaurants, Starbucks, pubs, stores.
The resort is very nice, it has clean and spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds and a nice kitchen. We choose the room with the fireplace and it was lovely especially while outside was snowing!
A special remark about the complimentary S. Valentine's box full of candies and chocolates, the large collection of DVDs freely available for guests and the good choice of board games!
Finally, the nice and welcoming owner who assisted us during our stay providing prompt help when needed!
So, in few words...we really recommend this place for your lovely stay on the mountains!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
452 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Property: Deer Crest Resort
Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing