We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting and peaceful place on the Fall River”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, mom and dad just finished a 3-night stay here and once again it exceeded expectations. If you're looking for an adult-only comfortable and relaxing experience between RMNP and the city of Estes Park this is your place to go. The rooms are large and beds are very comfortable and, of course, you have the Fall River just steps away from your balcony. It's a magical place and well taken care of by the owners who have done some nice improvements to the property. The area is frequented with Elk as well. Every day of our stay we saw elk grazing next to the hotel which caused cars to stop along the road and the tourists to take pictures. If you are staying Friday, Saturday or Sunday morning I suggest going next door to Nicky's for breakfast where you can enjoy a great omelet while sitting outside on a table over the river. We'll definitely be coming back again and again to Deer Crest and can't wail until next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tratzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding Deer Crest Resort on Fall River. We are thankful you took the time to share your feelings about our property with others. We have an extremely high return rate and glad you and your family are among so many others that have found our resort a peaceful and relaxing retreat and come back year after year... Thanks too for mentioning some of our new enhancements. The beautiful firepit is a good place to relax with our Colorado cool evenings. Our new covered pavillion is extremely popular as well and provides another great place to relax, gather to play cards or just enjoy the mountains. Our waterfall near the pavillion is nearly complete and provides the soothing sounds for which we were hoping to achieve in the new area. Can't wait to see you next year.. Best Regards, Carrie, Ken and Nicole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Everyone knows that Rocky Mountain National Park is a wonderful place to visit. But what you might not know, is that there is a place of serenity and relaxation where one can stay nestled right between the Park and the town of Estes Park. This "gem of the Rockies" is called, Deer Crest Resort. Situated right on Fall River, no smoking and no children under 18 are allowed. This makes for the perfect oasis for folks who enjoy watching the deer, elk and hummingbirds while relaxing beside the river. It is truly a place where you soak in the beauty of nature, and feel at peace. The nicely appointed units are immaculate and nicely furnished - AND, very reasonably priced. I have been a repeat visitor here for many years, and always enjoy the hospitality of the Arnold family who own and operate Deer Crest. They go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. Take a look at their website at www.deercrestresort.com, and you will see why this is the place for YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed (3) nights while visiting RMNP. Had reserved upper end room. The view from private balcony was gorgeous waterfall from Falls River. We booked with Deer Crest because it is adult only and no pets. We are parents and grandparents ourselves and worked in education our entire careers. However, in retirement and while on vacation we like to relax in a quiet environment. I wish more properties were available for adults only. While at Deer Crest, peace and quiet is what we enjoyed. The water view was phenomenal. The nice size table and chairs on the balcony came in handy since we enjoyed coffee every morning and a glass of wine in the evening.
This is an older property but the rooms and grounds were spotless. The room was spacious & the bed quite comfortable. The location was great, not in the busy town area but so close to RMNP entrance, grocery store, gas & restaurants. If you are looking for clean, comfortable accommodations to come back to after a day of sight seeing in the Park and enjoy relaxing on a balcony river's edge, then Deer Crest is your place!

Room Tip: We had 209. It was the end room and had a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our third stay here & we returned because of the great location, price & overall experience . This time we stayed 3 days in one of the fireplace, king mini suites. Even though there was construction going on ( patio & fountain) most of the work was done by the time we returned from the park each afternoon and it didn't effect our time relaxing by the Fall River watching the chipmunks, marmots, elk or the hummingbirds feed.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank anntricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Chose this property based on availability and price at time of booking (just a week or two before stay over 4th of July weekend). Property is located just a little bit outside of town and is not far from the Fall River entrance to RMNP. Front desk was friendly and offered information about local sights and restaurants. We stayed in the Riverfront Waterfall room which has a private patio and air conditioning (not all rooms have A/C). Room was clean and well maintained with a 4-cup small coffeemaker (which came with an ample supply of coffee so you could make 2 pots of coffee!!), microwave and small refridgerator. Rooms faced the river so you could hear it throughout the night and would probably provide ample cooling at night for rooms without A/C. There was a lot of seating out next to the river and outside rooms for morning coffee or just enjoying the sounds in the evening. Loved that it was an adults only property, kept it nice and quiet. Although they advertise free wi-fi, it wasn't quite strong enough from our room to connect with. We actually connected to a weak signal from one of the other properties nearby, but it tended to be spotty. Bathroom needs just a little bit (i.e. the bathtub had some spots where the enamal has come off and shower head needs to be repositioned higher), but nothing that would put us off from staying again. We enjoyed our stayed and would recommend Deer Creek to anyone headed up to Estes Park

Room Tip: If you like A/C, make sure to note which rooms have that available in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay9040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review and recommendation to others to stay at Deer Crest Resort on Fall River. We updated our WIFI just prior to your visit. It works from every room and every point on our property. It is free to our guests and has been extremely reliable. We check it every day, from all points on our property as we walk thru with our cell phones. Very seldom has there been a problem with the service, but if there is a connection issue, if reported to us, we can quickly reboot the router and that takes care of it. Takes about 2 minutes to fix. Our customers are very pleased with the high speed capability too.. Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit. Best to you. Carrie and Ken...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a beautiful property right on the river. We stayed in one of the fireplace suites with a kitchenette. The location is great - close to Estes Park and also near one of the RMNP entrances. The grocery story is just a mile or so down the road on the edge of town; couldn't be easier. After seeing the other resorts in the area we thought this one was particularly well laid out - there's a nice open space for sitting by the river, but none of the rooms are up against the road either.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette had a full size fridge, a microwave, a toaster oven, and an electric range (no stove). There was also an electric skillet - very nice touch. Basic dishes and cooking tools were provided. They had both gas and charcoal grills as well. The room was cleaned every day. You can tell the whole place is kept in good repair.

The owners were very nice, gave us plenty of information leading up to the trip and some good restaurant recommendations once we got there. We saw plenty of wildlife right from our door - elk, hummingbirds, chipmunks, and even a marmot. Very relaxing to sit outside and listen to the river. We'd definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad or even less desirable room. I don't think they all have kitchenettes, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onerose03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here June 5-7, 2013 on the recommendation of a friend whose family stays here often, and she didn't steer us wrong. It's very presentable, right on the Fall River, which at this time is running strong. A large yard by the river allows you to sit and relax or to use one of the grills to cook. There's a hot tub room, but we didn't try it. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a kitchenette (with a spotless refrigerator), and a large TV. We used their free dvd collection all 3 nights. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. This place is a keeper.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spjk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $60 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing