We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Sweet Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Such a Sweet Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is such a lovely hotel. We've stayed here twice now and I will also continue to stay here when we are in Estes Park. They have a heated pool and are just about 2 miles (or less) away from where all the shops are. And it is very close to Rocky Mountain National Park. The place is always clean and smoke free and it's right on a little creek that you can sit by and read and listen to the creek. (or is it a river? Not sure.) Only those 18 and over are allowed to stay at this hotel, so it makes it very nice and quiet. They also have a hot tub to relax in after hiking all day. The room has a DVD player and they have free dvd's to check out at the front desk. (about 200 DVD's in their library). I love this place and I'll always come back!

Room Tip: Getting rooms on the ground floor and by the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    76
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
210
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just spent 2 nights in this adults only, no smoking, no pet lodging and we loved it. We stayed in the bear den room which has a kitchen, living area with large tv, bedroom and large bathroom. This was truly the best place we stayed on our 10 day vacation. We grilled by the river one evening and the owners are kind enough to furnish charcoal and utensils. Very quiet and peaceful to sit by Falls River which runs along the back of the property. We hope to return next year

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstroud538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the 4th of July week with another couple of our old friends. We rented two adjacent mini-suites and it has been very convenient. We used the kitchenettes extensively for almost all meals and even a natural gas grill once by the pool. We used to put together four chairs on the patio around one table and enjoyed our meal outdoors. The table with benches and umbrella by the river is also a nice place to have a meal, but the plastic benches collect rain water inside and it was hard to make them dry. The bathroom in our suite has been recently renovated and it looked brand new. The entire place is very quiet and peaceful, you can hardly see any other tenants around your room. The complimentary wifi is nice although it is slower than I am used to. The resort is only one and a half miles from the edge of Estes Park and it is downhill, we could reach it in 20 minutes walking slowly. Free shuttles run to and from the village every 30 minutes. Nicky's restraurant next to the resort is a convenient place to have a quick lunch. Overall, we are very happy we picked this resort for our peaceful vacation and reunion with our friends.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mayfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband & I found this place online and were enticed by the "no children, no pets, no smoking" aspect. This was a very peaceful place right on the the Fall River in a less busy part of Estes Park. The grounds are well maintained & plenty of seating outdoors to enjoy the river & the wildlife. Our suite was adequate for the two of us however, the bathroom and dressing space are quite cramped and so near the kitchenette window that is was slightly uncomfortable. The blinds covering the windows were not functioning exactly well so we felt our privacy was compromised. Had there been blackout type curtains instead of blinds, this would have made it more comfortable. The kitchenette was adequate for our needs & we were able to cook our own breakfast to eat out on our front porch. The chairs for the little table on the porch could use updating or repaired. Also, I would suggest bringing your own non-stick frypan. The AC was old but it worked well. The ceiling fan was so noisy we could not use it. There was a nice 32" flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were very old and did not fit well. We were never able to use the pool as each afternoon there were thunderstorms & rain but it looked inviting. We did make use of the above ground hot tub one evening. It seemed clean & functioned well but getting in was a little difficult as there were no steps to go up just a bench which for some would make impossible to get in. All in all, it was a nice stay. Also, be aware that there is another resort property which backs the other side of the Fall River.

Room Tip: 312 seems like one of the most private of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MillipDandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Every year my husband and I always take to trip to Estes park, and almost always we stay at deer crest (when we come by ourselves) The owners Ken and Carrie and great. They are always helpful. They really make you feel special. We probably have stayed in almost every room. We just love it.

PATTY AND TOM SKINNER

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My fiance and I just stayed at the Deer Crest for an extended weekend. We had been loyal to another hotel for our 2-3 yearly trips to Estes Park, but that hotel had closed for the Thanksgiving/Christmas season.

Well, we are so GLAD they were closed, as it gave us the chance to try the Deer Crest. We had read many good reviews here at TripAdvisor, especially noting the cleanliness of the room.

We booked the Riverfront Deluxe King room for the weekend. When we walked into our room, we noticed that it smelled so clean and fresh. The room was beautifully decorated with a fine bedspread with matching lamp covers, and beautiful mint green sheets. The bed was very comfortable, a little on the firm side, which is how we like a mattress. Maid service during our stay couldn't have been better.

The owner Ken was very friendly, as was the person who checked us in.

The grounds were lovely, with tables and swings along the river. Our view from the room was terrific. We saw a trio of 3 male elks, 2 that were practicing their fighting skills, locking and clicking their racks.

We now have a new favorite place to stay in Estes Park. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor, views are better and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanFromColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend of 28/29th October 2011. The property from the outside didn't look anything special, but it more than made up for it on the inside.
Our accommodation, which was the Bear Den Suite, was very, very clean and the room was serviced daily. It was exactly as described being decorated in a cabin theme with black bear decoration here and there. The fire place was huge with an open log fire (gas effect).
The bathroom was plenty big enough with hot water at all times of the day. The kitchen was very well equipped with microwave, toaster, coffee percolator, fridge freezer etc and all the pots and pans you might need, also very clean.
The bedroom area was adequate with a queen size bed and nightstands either side. A large chest of drawers and a built in closet would house a weeks worth of clothes easily. We found the bed to be comfortable and the whole suite was very warm, being as there was a blizzard going on outside.
The property has WiFi with a strong signal, staff were friendly and stayed in the background unless you needed them. The property is adult only which made for a very tranquil weekend.
The river runs along the back of the property alongside the BBQ's. Charcoal and matches were supplied free of charge, so we took the opportunity to use one rather than cook inside.
We also ate at The Trailhead restaurant which is near the entrance to RMNP. We ordered Elk Burgers and Elk Stew, both of which were very tasty. There is a Safeway's in Estes town (off H/W 34), which is useful for groceries.
We never had time to use the hot tub, but other guests were enjoying the view from the tub which is undercover.
RMNP is just a short ride away and being so close, it was a treat to be able to rise early and go into the park to see the sunrise over the mountains. The only wildlife we saw around the property were wild turkeys, but I'm sure lots more creatures frequent the area being so close to trees and the river.

Room Tip: Choose a suite, there's lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakotah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Property: Deer Crest Resort
Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing