We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and cozy place on the Fall River”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at Deer Crest. Ken & Carrie are great hosts. We were in room 206 and would request it again. A good sized room, comfy bed, soft towels and loveseat double recliner to put our feet up on after hiking in RMNP. True, there could be more light at the sink, but that's true of most hotels as well as the shower head could be higher, but we always run into that problem too with my 6'4" husband!
There's a fridge and microwave in the room and a VCR/DVD.

The location is great and there's nothing like leaving the windows up and having the Fall River lull you to sleep! The grounds are pretty. There are grills and patio furniture/chaise lounges to sit on. We don't usually do hot tubs, but found it to be just the thing after a 9 mile hike in the park.

We walked to Nicky's Restaurant, which is nice (try the trout!), and on our way back, a bear ran across the road about 75 yards ahead of us. We were a bit freaked out, but then again it's pretty a pretty cool thing to see. He probably would have been as afraid as us as we were of him, but just to be safe, you might want to drive!

We love the fact that the resort is non-smoking adults only and will stay there again next time we head to RMNP!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 327 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2007

My fiancee and I stayed at Deer Crest for one night at the beginning of October. We were planning on visiting Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP) for the day and wanted somewhere close that we could relax and unwind after a day outdoors. Deer Crest was perfect for just that and only a couple short miles to the most scenic entrance of RMNP. It is also just barely on the outside of Estes Park...so you are not more than a minutes drive from downtown.
I booked directly through Deer Crest and spoke directly with the property owner, Carrie, on the phone. She confirmed that the reservation was indeed for non-smoking adults and gave us a great off-season rate for one night in the Fall River Suite (they generally require a 2 night stay in a suite but had it available for just one evening). She was very friendly and helpful on the phone and had our reservation confirmation in the mail immediately. We received it a few days later complete with a map of the Estes Park area and RMNP as well as a schedule of area events. A+ for customer service.
When we arrived at the resort we were very happy with the amenities. The suite had a huge stone gas burning fireplace in the large sitting room/bedroom area as well as a fully equipped kitchenette with breakfast bar. There was a large vanity, sink and mirror outside of the main bathroom with good lighting for makeup. The room was tastefully decorated and the view out of every window was beautiful. The entry doors to the suite were double glass doors with blinds. With the blinds open it almost felt like you were sitting amongst the fall leaves right on the Fall River. The resort owner's really do take care of the grounds. This suite is also the one at the very end of the complex, closest to the river so it is very private. There was also a small picnic set on the patio outside of our room for our use. It was also nice that Ken and Carrie had a large selection of DVD's, books and even board games to borrow at no charge in the office. The suite was spotlessly clean: everything from the fixtures to the soft sheets and fluffy towels.
Overall, the only two "cons" that I found were that the king size bed was very hard and that the checkout time was 10AM (slightly earlier than other places...we like to sleep in). Some people also might think that the room was small for a suite but I enjoyed the intimacy of the room arrangement.
I would suggest that if you stay here you take an evening to dine next door at "Nicky's." It's a great steakhouse with excellent food and an even better atmosphere. My fiancee and I dined in the "lounge" area (which is one of 3 dining rooms). It was candle lit and intimate with a fireplace, great views overlooking the river and cushioned reclining chairs that were comfy enough to fall asleep in after a glass or two of wine.
I am certain that my fiancee and I will be staying here next time we visit Estes Park.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank livinglife247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed there 2 nights. Older motel. Room needed to be updated with new carpet and bedding, but the mattress itself was comfortable. The room had a motel-like "cold" feeling, but if you're going to Estes Park you shouldn't be in the room that much. The back of our room had a little porch overlooking the fall river with a little "waterfall," which was nice, but we couldn't walk directly off the porch like some of the rooms could. The grounds on the river were lovely, and we enjoyed the no kids policy since we are past that phase of our life. The owners were nice and gave me a mug to make hot chocolate in. It's worth about what we paid for it, but I don't think Estes lodging should charge prime prices in September.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jeepbabe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We just got back from a 6 night stay at Deer Crest and we really loved the quiet, relaxing feeling of this place. The bed was very comfortable and the owners were great. It is right on Fall River and we stayed in Room 206, right by the waterfall. The only thing I would change would be better lighting over the bathroom vanity for putting on makeup and an updated, more powerful hot tub. It's in a very convenient location close to downtown Estes Park and the RMNP entrance but still far enough away from both to be a very quiet location. We will definitely stay here again on any future trips we make to Estes Park..

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjl330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

This place is a hidden gem! We spent two nights of our vacation in the Old Man Mountain King Loft Suite and wished we had spent the whole week there. The suite was gorgeous -- huge moss rock fireplace, loft bedroom and beautiful decor. It was huge (so big, in fact, when I showed pictures to my mom, she thought she was looking at the hotel lobby!!) The patio overlooks the river - perfect place to relax in the evening after a day in the park & trotting around in town.

We loved the location, too. Away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Estes Park and very close to RMNP entrance.

Ken and Carrie were wonderful hosts, too, Both very nice and pleasant to talk to.

An added bonus was the family of yellow bellied marmots that also seemed to like the property. Hummingbirds were everywhere, as well.

We are hoping to return some day and spend a whole week there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SusanandKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Deer Crest in Estes Park. The rooms were a nice size and the beds were comfortable. The creek runs right out back and the lawns are well kept. Owners were very nice. A large selection of VCRs and DVDs are available for checkout. No air conditioning, though.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kendebtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Exactly what we were looking for. A quiet, reasonably priced motel right on the roaring Fall River. The grounds were immaculate and, though the motel is a bit aged, it was just right for us. We particularly liked the upper level with stools and a high table on the deck overlooking the Fall River.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank Evergreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
627 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,546 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $98 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing