We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!”
Review of Nicky's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nicky's Resort
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed March 25, 2012

First of all, Nicky's is not a flashy, high tech place....far from it. The resort has been around for many years, but if you are looking for a quiet, rustic and friendly place, this is it. The restaurant on the premises has a dining room reminiscent of decades ago (but excellent entrees including Italian and Greek ones), a cafe and a lounge. We keep thinking we'll try someplace different when we go to Estes Park, but almost always, we end up going back to Nicky's!

Room Tip: We especially like the rooms on the second floor that face the highway (but are not near it). These...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhapsodyRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2014

Glad You Keep Coming Back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Nicky's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 175 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've stayed at Nicky's a few times now and love going up there in the winter. This time we stayed over a Saturday. Our room was on the second floor and had a king size bed. The room was clean and I always enjoy their decor. It feels very 'woodsie' with the moose, bear, tree accents. The bed was comfortable. And we slept well. Nicky's is family owned, and I really appreciate that. If you're looking for fancy and uptight - Nicky's is NOT the place. But if you want clean, comfortable and not too expensive then I would definitely recommend Nicky's.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casper80236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2014

Thank-You We Appreciate Your Business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The beds were pretty uncomfortable and old. The extra Blankets were dirty and the bathrooms looked like they were barely cleaned. Not to mention that the sanitary "bags" for feminine products were stained with god knows what but still sitting on the toilet when we arrived. Aside from that the room was pretty nice. Only stay here if you expect nothing out of your stay. If you're cool with dealing with crappy room, you should have a good time, as did I. But this place is nothing to scream home about. Oh yeah the walls are paper thin and that is not real brick above the fireplace. Cheap Cheap Cheap. For $120 a night, you're better off somewhere else or in one of their inexpensive room. The riverside cabins are a ripoff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

He was here for 2-Days all he had to do was call the office for A Clean Blanket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Having seen all the good reviews here on Tripadvisor I had reasonable expectations on what I might expect. But was surprised to see how dated the place was. The location of my cabin next to the creek was nice, but the lack of facilities inside the cabin surprised me. There was a microwave to heat up my meal with, however there were no plates or cuttlery to eat with so I needed to go downtown to buy some. Reception when I arrived was less than enthusiastic. For what I got I felt it very overpriced and think there would be far better value options elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

He was not staying in A Cooking Unit only the Cabins have Kitchens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have stayed at Nicky's several times in recent years and love this place..the renovated rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are very comfortable with plush comforters and clean surroundings also you can't beat the price...big mistake is we came this summer and decided to split our stay half time at Nick's...half time at Ponderosa Lodge for a change...BIG MISTAKE!!! No comparison except in price..Ponderosa Lodge is horrible

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bytheseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2014

Thank-you Please Come Back Always Nice To Have People Like You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My 86 year old father and I just returned from a stay at Nicky's and had a wonderful experience. We were recreating a trip to Estes Park in the early '60's, and wanted to stay by the river as we had before. Yes, the rooms are small and the decor rustic. They are clean and comfortable. We left the window open at night to hear the river and there were quiet spots on the grounds to sit and watch the river and the wildlife.

There are actually 3 venues in the restaurant. We went to the most expensive of the 3 and there was no problem with us splitting a large meal. The next night we enjoyed an excellent entertainer at the piano in the bar and shared a meal at our table there. Fun atmosphere, no pressure, good food.

It's a short drive into town for additional restaurants and entertainment, but if you are looking for a quiet spot by the river with a view of the mountains and don't expect the Ritz, Nicky's is an excellent choice. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaD51697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2014

Thank-You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Let me first say, this place has absolutely beautiful views! I stayed in the King Lodge Room and while it was quite small the decor gave you the feel you were in the mountains. I had read previous reviews and was wary, but it seems like the people complaining expected a First Class room, for 112.00 a night, and that is pretty cheap in Estes during the summer. The front desk clerks were very accommodating and nice! I should tell you the cons, even though there arent many, the tv's are small and old, but who needs tv when they are staying in Estes Park? The beds have a plastic lining on them, but I think more places should do this in order to keep the mattresses more sanitary. The Pros! You can hear the river running especially if you get a river unit or unit up closer to the river, I think those are rooms like 101,102, and 103. All in all for the price it is an awesome place so if you want a flat screen tv and tons of extras spend more money! If you want solitude, a quiet stay and beautiful views stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breathablemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2014

All Rooms Now Have Flat Screen TV's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,479 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicky's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicky's Resort

Address: 1360 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $73 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicky's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nicky's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicky`s Hotel Estes Park
Nickys Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing