We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Price!!!”
Review of Nicky's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nicky's Resort
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Price!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Let me first say, this place has absolutely beautiful views! I stayed in the King Lodge Room and while it was quite small the decor gave you the feel you were in the mountains. I had read previous reviews and was wary, but it seems like the people complaining expected a First Class room, for 112.00 a night, and that is pretty cheap in Estes during the summer. The front desk clerks were very accommodating and nice! I should tell you the cons, even though there arent many, the tv's are small and old, but who needs tv when they are staying in Estes Park? The beds have a plastic lining on them, but I think more places should do this in order to keep the mattresses more sanitary. The Pros! You can hear the river running especially if you get a river unit or unit up closer to the river, I think those are rooms like 101,102, and 103. All in all for the price it is an awesome place so if you want a flat screen tv and tons of extras spend more money! If you want solitude, a quiet stay and beautiful views stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breathablemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
All Rooms Now Have Flat Screen TV's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
45
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Room was ok, it was nice to be close to the creek and have a drink near the water. In general the gardens etc. were not very well kept. Not many restauants in walking distance. Breakfast wait staff had memeory loss and time to retire maybe!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City MO metro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a much older property than the newer condos that required multi-night minimum stays. I had been here (restaurant only) many years ago and remember the nice location to town and the small river running through the property and thought we would give the motel a try. It was a pleasant suprise. The room was fine and liked having the sliding glass door that opened up to the mountain in front of us (and the parking lot but that wasn't a big deal). We stayed on the second floor that faced Hwy. 34. Very clean room and comfortable beds. Pool was nice (water was very cold but daughter toughed it out and had fun). Poor service and food at restaurant adjacent but believe they are no longer associated with each other. Front desk clerk (Sydney I believe) was helpful and pleasant. Could ocassionally get free wireless internet from front balcony, and there was a computer to use for free in lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed at Nicky's Resort very recently and loved it! The rooms are cozy, but very clean and have a rustic-cabin sort of feel to them. It is in a perfect location and the staff is very kind. The restaurant is within walking distance and has some incredible steak choices! I'm definitely coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otwell, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

First I would like to say that we are not 5 Star travelers...but cleanliness and a good mattress are our priorities. My comments will be about room 101 only. We took advantage of the 99.00 rate for a Mon, Tues, Wed stay. Our room was very clean, the mattress was good for our requirements and decor was adorable for a mountain cabin setting. The room picture on Nicky's website of the "king" is accurate. They are some things that I wish had been different, but they were not bad enough to complain about.
This room is small.... but cozy for 2 people. The bathroom is tiny...very tiny. We didn't care for the blinds on the sliding glass doors, but we were able to adjust them well enough to have some privacy. This room faces east....so if you are a late riser, the sun will be in your face. If you are particular with a pillow...bring your own. No hair dryer, but not a problem since I always bring my own. We couldn't get connected to the internet, but was able to use the one in the lobby. The location is fantastic. The rooms sit off the road, plenty of hills and wooded area.. plus the river runs right in front of the motel..makes you feel you are in the forest, but only a few minutes from town. We didn't use the pool, but it did look clean. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly regarding activities, fishing and food. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a late riser, request a room that does not face eastward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have stayed at Nicky's in the past, and were not blown away. The furnishings are adequately average. The water damage and peeling paint in some areas is easy enough to overlook. Be sure to stock up on your toiletries before you check in. Complimentary items for your shower experience are not always stocked in the rooms; if they are, you can expect magazine style free samples. They use rubber/plastic mattress covers which can make sleeping a sweaty ordeal, and the beds are not comfortable. It can be more quiet outside of the room than inside if there are other guests within your assigned area. Additionally, Nicky's rooms have sliding glass doors and blinds rather than a solid door, which offers little privacy. Even with the less than cushy accomodations, we felt as though the lodging plus dinner package was too good to pass up, and decided to stay again. WHAT A MISTAKE.
We retired to our room for the evening after the office closed for the day, and ran into a serious problem. Be warned: if you have a problem after hours, you can forget about reaching anyone. No one answers the after hours phone number. Additionally, the high school girls employed by the management are apparently not empowered to do anything other than answer the phone, check in and check out the guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Weekender028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Owner at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Hi, I am the owner of Nicky's Resort. I would just like to say that the after hours emergency phone number is located on the door of the office. The regular office number is not answered after hours, but the emergency phone number is. Also, the "high school girls with no empowerment" are specifically trained to handle certain problems and it is possible you got one who was in training. The plastic on the beds is to maintain proper cleanliness and prevent bed bugs. As you may know, people staying in hotels are not always very cleanly when it comes to the bed, so the plastic protects you from coming in contact with anything you don't want to. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We have stayed at Nicky's many times over the last 10 years and it was always a pleasant experience. It used to offer good value at a good price. Well, last weekend was a real shocker. As we drove in we could tell that the place had not been kept up even from the outside. It looked really warn and tired. Our room was supposed to have two queen beds but actually had one queen and one full size bed (not big enough for two). The air conditioner and heater were about 6 inches from the pillows of the bed, so right in your face as you tried to sleep. And the heater could not be turned off completely. So in the middle of the summer you'd be sleeping with heat in your face. We heard other people complaining about this at breakfast so we know it was not just our room. The staff told us it was just the pilot lights that remained on, and brought us a floor fan. The sheets on the bed were ripped and crumpled and looked like they'd been chewed up and spit out. We did a check for bed bugs and didn't find any. But they have covered the mattresses with plastic and every time we rolled over we woke each other up because of the loud crinkling of the plastic. There was mold on the shower wall that started sliding down during my shower, and mold on the inside of the shower curtain liner. And there were cobwebs with attached insects in the corners of the bathroom floor. The worst part was at checkout when we put our keys on the counter and the owner, who had never seen us before, said "thanks" and never lifted her head up. We said we'd like to talk to her for a minute, she looked at our key number and said," Oh, I heard you had some complaints last night, I know all about it" and that was it. She refused to talk with us, turned and walked away. We were very polite in our request for a fan the night before and she had no reason to behave this way, besides the fact that she didn't even know who we were when we entered the office. Not a great way to treat your customers! We will never return to Nicky's. Nicky's restaurant is owned by her ex husband and not financially connected to the hotel anymore. The staff in the restaurant were nice and polite and the food was ok.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ShaneDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Owner at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Hi, I am the owner of Nicky's Resort. I would just like to say that you have the incorrect owner information and I would like to clear that up. Owner information is not to be given out for that exact reason; it is usually incorrect. Also, the plastic on the beds is to prevent bed bugs and to protect our guests from coming in contact with anything they don't want to. It is to promote cleanliness because not all guests are very cleanly with the beds. Also, the air conditioning is above the bed on the wall so the only way it could have blown at your face is if you sat completely upright to sleep. I also would like you to know that we have never had mold in our showers because they get cleaned after every guest's stay. I just wanted to clear those facts up so people are not misled. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicky's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicky's Resort

Property: Nicky's Resort
Address: 1360 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicky's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Nicky's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicky`s Hotel Estes Park
Nickys Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing