We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience--Great Service”
Review of Inn on Fall River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on Fall River
Ranked #10 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Four adults booked a King room and two queen bed rooms beside each other ground floor. Our king room wasn't cleaned when we arrived and after we contacted Sharon (desk clerk) that the room wasn't clean, she jumped in and cleaned the room herself. For our trouble we were given extra wood bundles. It was no big deal to us, but management was very upset that the maid had not done her job. I don't believe she works there any longer !!!
This property is very clean, cozy, and comfortable. Ron and Linda(managers) run a lovely, neat and orderly establishment and go the extra mile to accommodate their clients. My husband's nephew unfortunately left an item in the room upon checkout and didn't discover the mistake until we were 400 miles down the road returning to MO. Ron has worked for two weeks to assist us in getting the item returned to my nephew. Now that is going above and beyond the call of duty. This is a quant, quiet mom and pop facility that you will not go wrong in staying at. They suggested restaurants which were excellent and right on target with what we were expecting. Thanks again Linda, Sharon & Ron for a great vacation. We will be back !!!!
Bootheel travelers

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bootheeltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Inn on Fall River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2007

You should not trust the words of those who are so negative. Some people go on vacation and leave their brains at home, as well as, the ones who want to get a "Hilton Suite" on a "Super 8" budget. The Inn on Fall River is Clean, Cozy, Comfortable and Affordable. We have been visiting Estes Park for 16 years, all of which we have stayed at the Inn on Fall River. The couple that runs the Inn are the sweetest and most helpful that I have ever found when staying away from home. From helping you plan your day, to making sure all of our needs were met. The rooms are very clean and make you feel at home. The sound of the river right outside your door, is peaceful and calming. We will continue to visit Estes Park and we will continue to stay at the Inn on Fall River, our HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!!!

Stayed: October 2007
Thank traceym74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Managers and staff were very friendly and polite, cabins and rooms were very very clean and well kept up to date. Made our stay injoyable and relaxing. River runs through the property , great fishing from 8ft. from my cabin door. Will return and we highly recemend this place .

Stayed: August 2007
Thank blonde56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

The view is the only thing that made this Inn a good place to stay and there are a dozen other Inn’s near by with the same amazing view.

Being greeted by the owner I was given a laundry list of things I could not do in the “suite” which were all reiterated by the many little green plastic signs plastered all over the room reminding me to do this and don’t do that. Including a reminder to wash and put away all of your own dishes, a long list of instructions on how to handle the dirty towels which I still don’t quite understand, how to lock up and KEEP locked up the 1980’s porn style hot tub and the list goes on. I would have preferred a kind “thank you for coming, I hope you enjoy your stay” upon arrival, but didn’t get anything like that.

There is a stair way in this second floor room (15A) going down to the 1st floor unit that has a railing that I am sure does not meet standard security codes along with no screens on the second floor windows, no screens on the sliding glass doors out to the patio (which also has very unsafe railings for children). Traveling with my one year old nephew, we had to line up all of the stackable dining chairs on the floor by the stairs railing so he didn’t fall thru the slats down to the first floor and forget about even letting him onto the patio. The slats on both the stair railing on the patio railing were at least 12 inches apart dropping down to the 1st floor level. Incredibly dangerous for children.

This suite was advertised as having 3 beds. One King, one queen and a fold out couch. Well, if you enjoy a metal bar going thru your shoulder blades, your back and rear end dipping down about 8 inches lower than the top half of your body and your calves being violated with another metal bar, then yes, this suite has 3 beds. I ended up folding up the fold out couch and just sleeping on the narrow couch, which other than being old, tattered and uncomfortable had a very distinct odor. oh yeah, did I mention the blood stains on the mattress pad of the fold out couch.. gross...

There were several other little things that on their own would have been nothing but when you start adding them up it makes you wonder what else is wrong that we just haven’t noticed. The only heat in the bathroom was a small heater in the ceiling that did not work at all along with the non working exhaust vent. And I don’t know about you but it gets mightly cold in the mountains. I guess we should have known when I picked up off the coffee table the Country Living Magazine from 1994 that maybe these people don't keep things as up to date as I would have liked.

Upon checkout I asked the Inn keeper if she had seen her fold out couch recently, the response I was given was a very cold and to the point “no”. When I explained the issues we had had with our one night stay I was at least expecting an “I’m sorry about that” but basically got an I don’t care, give me back the keys it's time to check out response.

I just want you to be aware that there are plenty of lovely spots in the same area as this Inn and wanted you to know about our stay before anyone made a reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank huskerfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed in Estes last year at one of the fancier nearby inns along the Fall River and it was quite nice, but also quite pricey so this year thought we'd try this, based mostly upon the recent good reviews. The adage, "you get what you pay for" applies here. It is not very expensive, and it is not very fancy. We stayed in Rms 11 and 12. They are very small. Not big enough for 4 adults to sit in and visit without sitting on the bed. Rm. 12 had a musty smell, probably because the tub drained slowly and the toilet was loose. Rm. 11 did not smell but the toilet ran every 1/2 hour or so and the hot water valve on the shower was messed up and screamed for a second when you turned it on. There was a rust streak on the toilet that could have been fixed with a little elbow grease. You could hear the water running in other units. Hot water seemed like it might be in short supply but that might have been the valve, too. The woodwork needed painting, old locks needed replaced, and generally the entire room needed updating, but the place was clean and its right next to the creek.

So, would I go back? Yes. Would my wife? No. She wants more room, no noises, and more upkeep. But we're 50 years old...if we'd been 30, it would have seemed like paradise...Eat breakfast at Bighorn Sheep restaurant...seriously, don't miss that treat. They are busy but they get your served. Its all good.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank KCtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My wife and I booked a unit here with only a day's notice, which is incredible considering that it was Estes Park in August. We weren't sure what to expect considering the category it was in on Trip Advisor. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. I was a little nervous about our reservation and wondered what the demeanor of the staff would be like considering the negative reviews on Trip Advisor, but our check-in went off without a hitch. As we approached our room we noticed how close the river was to the units--no more than 25 ft. from each patio/balcony. The atmosphere throughout our whole stay was very peaceful and quiet (except for the wonderful river, of course). This is not necessarily a place for kids, and I could see why the owners and other guests may not take kindly to the noisy variety. Our unit was neat and clean, though a little dated in some respects (not unlike a typical ma and pa motel). It was on the small side (maybe 15 x15 including the bathroom) but had everything you'd want (well, except internet but you're in the Rockies, after all). Our bed was a queen and there was a small desk, love seat, coffee table, kitchenette with a microwave, toaster, and minifridge, and best of all a great stone fireplace with supplied wood. The walls were all knotty pine paneling, which reminded me of my grandparents' cabin. The bathroom was clean and tidy. I noticed placards with rules on nearly every wall, but I've seen such things often in ma and pa motels--just things to remind people of common sense and respect. Sliding patio doors off of the living area opened up to the patio, and we kept it open all of the time to hear the river (plus there was no A/C, not that that was a problem). On the patio there was a gas grill and a table and chairs. Partitions separated the patios for a litte bit of privacy. Great views of the mountain from here as well. Overall cleanliness (I'm convinced anything shy of $500 a night is not going to be perfect) was an 8 or 9 out of 10. At $94 a night directly through the front desk, I think this was an absolute bargain, especially in Estes. I can't imagine taking a risk anywhere else. Not only did we love the quaint room and the quiet atmosphere, but most of the other motels/cottages/cabins aren't nearly as close the woods and river. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank NatefromWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We have stayed at the Inn on Fall River no less than twenty times over the past five years, and not once....I repeat, not once have we had anything other than a wonderful time. After reading the few negative reports some have left regarding their stay, I found myself scratching my head wondering if they were even at the same Inn. The folks that own and manage this georgous little getaway do not have a mean bone in their bodies, they have always been more than accomodating with any of our needs. We have been to Estes Park each year, sometimes a couple of times a year, going back to the early 90's. There are very few places we have not stayed while there, and once we found the Inn on Fall River, our search for reasonably priced, clean, and conveniently located lodging came to an end, and we have been staying there ever since. And you can't beat the views. The people that own this lnn owe me nothing, I write this because I believe in calling it the way it is. Please do not be swayed by what a few negative people have written. You can't please all of the people all of the time.....
Scott Klausman
Topeka, Kansas
scott_klausman@yahoo.com

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank topekatwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,480 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
2.2 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
1,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Fall River

Address: 1660 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range: $124 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Fall River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on Fall River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Fall River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing