We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for Rocky Mt. vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Saddle and Surrey was the perfect base for our RMNP vacation. Right from check-in to check-out Barbara was eager to help with suggestions and directions. We wondered how quiet it would be at night being so close to highway 7, but it was peaceful every night. We had one of the smallest rooms and although Barbara seemed almost apologetic about how small it was, we found it to be perfectly adequate for our comfort and needs. It was wonderful to have the mini-frig in our room and we loved having the fresh muffins and coffee every morning so we could get a good start before heading into the park. On our last night there we told Barbara we would be up and out of there before they opened the office so she loaned us a coffee pot so we could have coffee to fill our travel mugs. Loved this quaint, clean and personable motel. We'll be back !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganNplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

My husband & I stayed here a week to hike at Rocky Mountan National Park. We selected the motel from Trip Advisor Reviews and were not disappointed. It was perfect for us - we were only there to shower & sleep.
Barbara & her husband were friendly, helpful and perfect hosts.
The room with VERY clean microwave and refrigerator and bathroom was not large but adequate for the two of us.
Free High-speed wi-fi was great and there was a big flat screen TV (although we do not watch much TV).
Coffee & pasteries were available every AM along with friendly smiles and conversation.
The bed was VERY comfortable with brand new sheets. We felt special. The towels were big & thick.
We did not use the pool or jaccuzzi so cannot comment.
We would definitely come back here again. It was great!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

If you are looking for a modern, high-tech motel with cookie-cutter styling and a nameless, faceless staff, this is not the motel for you. However, if you want a room with character and charm and an innkeeper with a smile, give this place a try. This facility has evidently been in business cince the 1950's and in many ways it retains that look and feel--and that's not necessarily a bad thing. The rooms have a very warm homey ambience; wooden chairs and desk, refrigerator and microwave, and a large comfortable bed. The spotlessly clean bathroom was a real throwback to earlier times, and the shower is small, but manageable. Our room was air conditioned, and the unit was a bit noisy but not so much that it kept us awake. Our hostess was a sweet, affable lady who didn't put on any airs--she always had a smile, a cup of coffee, and a story for us every time we stepped into the office. There's a heated swimming pool, which we did not use, and an outdoor hot tub, which we did. We only planned to spend one night at the Saddle and Surrey, but the room, the rate and the hostess were so nice that we stayed for two. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotigers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed for two nights and the next time we hike the Rockies we want to spend a week at this motel!

Upon arrival, the manager showed us two rooms - the queen with a shower-only configuration, and a room with two queen beds and a bathtub and shower layout. We had booked the former, and decided to stick with it, since it was quite ample for our needs.

After we checked in, the manager showed us a scenic short-cut down S. St. Vrain Ave. (aka Route 7) to Rocky Mountain National Park that would help us avoid having to head to the town center and it was great advice. In addition, she also gave us two free bottles of water, having noticed that my husband was getting adjusted to the high altitude.

I am a clean freak, and I did not see any stray hairs in the room or bathroom. The towels were clean. Also, the refrigerator and microwave were spotless.

The motel has gigantic muffins, chocolate chip cookies, and coffee for breakfast, all served in the lobby but guests may also use sturdy wooden trays to bring their breakfast back to their rooms, which is what we did.

The room is well-lit, with a large flourescent ceiling fixture that made reading our trail maps a pleasure instead of chore.

We had two quiet nights of sleep - Barbara, the manager, assured us that Route 7 is quiet at night, and she was right. Also, the refrigerator was very quiet, which wasn't the case in other places we have stayed at.

A great stay and we hope to return again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a great little motel, right along Hwy 7 when coming into Estes Park. This is one of the few places that did not require a minimum 2 night stay during the peak tourist season. I chose this motel after reading other tripadvisor reviews and since it was one of the cheaper places to stay. Saddle & Surrey was a perfect place to stay since it's close enough to downtown Estes and RMNP entrance, yet it's far enough that it's quiet. If you want an elaborate place that you're waited on hand and foot or enjoy a 5 star hotel, this is not a place for you. But if you want a super clean, super quiet, right price, right location, then this is it.

The owner is a great lady. She can help you with any question you have, show you how to get to certain spots in town from the map, and make fun suggestions if you need to know about Estes. In the morning she has juice and coffee and some muffins available, nothing fancy but it's still yummy. There is also a small swimming pool and hottub if you'd like to relax in the afternoon for a bit. Each room is a little small, but that din't bother me. It had a fridge and microwave, wifi if you bring your computer, and air conditioning. There was a loveseat in our room, flat screen tv on the wall, and a super comfortable bed. The rooms have showers only, but I wasn't visiting Estes to soak in a jacuzzi tub, I was there to hike and have a nice place to stay at night.

I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Estes. Totally worth the money and a very cozy, quaint place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank husker_red2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Sorry, but I do not get it. There has to be a conspiracy of friends trying to jack up the Saddle and Surry Motel. We read the great reviews and looked forward to a nice stay. But, what a dump! We are talking old, old, old. Thrift shop furniture, lumpy bed, worn out linens that are from another planet. We were honestly shocked. The bathroom was barely adequate. By turning around carefully in the shower it was nearly impossible not to nudge the shower controls, causing boiling water to spurt out. Knicked up walls and doors. A few muffins put out in the office in the morning. Way out of town. The atmosphere at this place was absolutely dreary. And - - our one night was $98. Do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saddlesurrey, Manager at Saddle & Surrey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2010

We are very apologetic that your stay was below expectations, as a small family business we rely on customer satisfaction and feedback. We try our best to accomodate everyone and will take this to heart with future decisions concerning any outdated or worn amendities. Every room is decorated in its own unique style as to not have the standard feel of chain motel. We are not in "downtown" but just over 1 mile from it. We unfortunately can not keep knicks and scuffs from occurring but do get repaired every winter when we are closed for repairs and remodeling. As we have done for the past 16 years we will use all feedback and make it a better place. Thank you for alerting us to any dissatisfactions and are very sorry we did not meet expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Saddle and Surrey has most definetly exceeded our expectations. The house keeping has been so conciderate, we left our swimsuits out to dry, and they put them back inside our room
so they wouldn't get stolen. Everything here is super clean, and i would reccomend it to my best friends.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocacola7752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical roadside motel with comfortable cozy rooms where you park at your door, and use a real key to enter your room. We strive to make your stay like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle Surrey Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing