We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saddle & Surrey Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June based on the recommendations of Trip Advisor posts. Glad we did. This is a quiet motel 5 minutes from town by car. The room was immaculate (very important) and the bed was very comfortable. Towels were good quality, as was the bed linen. Refrigerator in room and A/C if you need it, along with free wifi. I'm not sure what all the raving is over breakfast; it's just muffins from the local grocery store and coffee. But they were tasty. The owners were very nice. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    92
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
176
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We initially stayed there because of price. We've come back again and again because every corner, inside and out, of this little estes park gem, is clean and sparkling. Barbara and her husband made us feel pampered. We love saddle and surrey!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pianolady1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foristell, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Saddle and Surrey for two nights earlier this month. The room was exceptionally clean, the beds very comfortable, the pillows outstanding, the linens as soft as you would ever want. The continental breakfast was outstanding with great muffins and pastries.

When we asked if she minded if we left a review,the owner was very clear in her directive to us. She said please do but make sure people know we are not luxurious or special. While I agree with the room not being luxurious ( it was all anyone could need though ), I do not agree with them not being special. The type of self deprecating service that they provide, the humility and customer attention was second to none. I will check here first on future trips to Estes (this was my 7th and we just now found them). Let me note that this was a Monday arrival and we have always stayed in cabins and condos. We attempted to do that on this trip and the first two places we checked, one had no front door and you had to walk all the way around a building to enter through a sliding door and the second was under construction unbeknownst to the manager. Through 4 more stops and 4 additional calls with no return calls, I managed to reach one person (who advised me that I had 5 minutes to get there or she would be gone) Keep in mind that this was around 6-8 pm on a Monday. At the end of the day anything else that I even had an option to stay in was at least triple the cost of Saddle and Surrey.

Love the service, the rooms and the price, will for sure be a repeat customer.

THANK YOU for showing me what I needed (and really wanted) GOODBYE pricey condos and cabins

Roger and Pam W.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

To say the room was clean would be an understatement. The linens exceed expectations and the location is convenient to all of the area attractions. Barbara, the charming owner, is a wealth of information and is not shy about her opinions. You'll get straight answers from her. In all we could not have been happier with the quality of the room. It is not the Stanley but it isn't haunted either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRSLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Saddle and Scurry was a great stay! It's very clean, the owners are friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable and yes, the linens are like a much higher-priced hotel. I travel a lot and wish I could find reasonably priced, good quality lodging like this on all my trips. I'll definitely stay here again on my next trip to Estes Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I don't really need to say more than the title. We liked it and will definitely stay there again! The staff was good and the room size was adequate. I was originally concerned that it was independent, but my concern was unfounded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansastraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Looking for somewhere to stay in Estes Park that for 5 nights I came across this Hotel right here on Tripadvisor. Thanks to previous reviewers I'm very glad I booked in here. My brother and I were in Estes, like most other people, to visit RMNP and hike some its trails. This motel is situated on the outskirts of town, maybe a 5 minute drive to the centre. There's a gas station 2 minutes away and a safeway a couple more minutes away, as well as the largest collection of tacky souvenir shops all selling the same stuff that I've ever seen. As we were staying a few nights I'd booked one of the rooms with a kitchenette. It was huge, massive even, and contained everything needed kitchen wise and comfort wise. The decor was pretty 70's but to be honest I like it! At the price I paid for the room I felt like I'd robbed the owners. The room we had was at the back of the motel looking towards the swimming pool in one direction and stunning mountains in the other. Upon checking in we were greeted warmly and even given a map of the area and told the best routes to get to and from the park itself. I know for certain that if I were ever to return, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. As an aside, the pastries served in reception at breakfast time are the biggest, freshest tastiest things I've seen!

Room Tip: Kitchenette rooms are huge and offer excellent facilities for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Property: Saddle & Surrey Motel
Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle Surrey Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing