We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look No Further” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saddle & Surrey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Egypt
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Look No Further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at this motel for one night but it was enough to leave me highly impressed. I arrived earlier than normal and although I couldn't check in, the reception lady was so nice to me & kept apologizing (my fault actually)!!! she was also so helpful & gave me some useful information about the town & the area.
The room itself is big with a very comfy bed, microwave, fridge, LCD with lots of channels & a sofa and everthing was spotlessly clean. The room has a heater which again worked very well. The bathroom/shower was large enough & very clean as well as all the towels.
The only drawback about this motel is that its slightly out of town, you can't walk to the town center & shops, but if you have a car, then its really not an issue.
All in all, I would definetly stay at this motel again without second thought.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    92
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
176
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were traveling with a group and didn't make our own reservations. When I looked up online I, too, was skeptical. As said in the other reviews it was a wonderful place to stay. We were there at the end of September and they didn't have as much staff as in peak tourist season, but our room was spotless when we got there and was put back that way each day. The muffins and pastries provided for breakfast were fresh and yummy each morning. Coffee and ice were avilable in the lobby all day until 10:00pm, but with all the activities of the day we rarely were up at 10:00pm so not a problem! The bed was very comfortable. Our room had an efficiency fridge which provided all the room we needed. Don't know if all had them or not. Wireless internet worked everytime we needed it to. Saddle & Surrey is a place we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised when we got to the Saddle and Surrey. Someone else had booked it and when I looked it up I was a little skeptical. I am not an outdoor type person and want things clean. The room was very clean, bed was nice and towels were thick.
Not many outlets to plug in things, and bathroom was a little small, but it worked for what we needed it to. It was always clean when we came back at the end of the day. Breakfast included rolls, muffins and pastries, good for something quick.
If I was headed back to Estes I would look into staying there again.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the south side (#1) and the parking was not great - we had to park on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at the motel on a Saturday in September, when most hotels and motels in Estes Park were booked up or required at least a 2 night stay. As we were just passing through on our vacation we were pleased to find the rooms. As stated in other reviews, the motel is older, but well kept and very clean. My wife, and the other people that were with us were most pleased with how the place looked and was kept. If you want a reservation with this motel, call the motel directly and don't try to do it online.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Well it's more than that but as a business (frequent) traveler who spends a lot of time in hotel rooms when my wife and I are looking for a place to stay at some holiday destination, the last thing we need or want are the so-called "extras" which cost a bundle and are never used. We spend the whole day out and return late in the evening so we're never going to use or be interested in the Five Star extras. We don't need the mint on the pillow, the turn down service, the valet, the lounge, the golf lessons, the wine steward and whatever else the top dollar hotels give you which may make you feel like a millionaire and cost as much.

The Saddle & Surrey met our requirements perfectly. Clean, comfortable bed, good working and clean shower and bathroom, comfortable AC unit and spacious room. To top it off, we rented the kitchenette and all appliances were clean and in perfect working order. We broke our fast in the room and prepared our "sack lunch" for our daily excursions into Rocky Mountain National Park and the full size frig. in the kitchen area served to keep our fixings fresh.

Good working wireless Internet access right in the room is a must for me as I wind down in the evening before bed. It worked perfectly. As did the large screen (flat screen modern) TV for my wife's benefit.

In the office they served coffee and a nice assortment of common "Continental Breakfast" fare though we were only able to take advantage of this one morning as otherwise we were out on our day well before the office opened. Our issue, not theirs. We're just early starters.

Price? We got far more than we paid for. Would we go back there again? Absolutely.

One last note. The location is a little distance from the centre of the city but just a couple of minutes drive on a main street. Consider this if you just have to be in the centre of activity. It probably won't be an issue since most things in Estes Park close about 9 PM.

Room Tip: We did not see the non-kitchenette rooms but I understand that they are smaller (naturally) so if sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danwdooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

After reading Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to stay at the Saddle and Surrey the night before we had to take a late day flight out of Denver. What an excellent value! I agree with all of the comments about the sheets and towels. They were fabulous! The motel room was very clean and it was located in a quiet area. Would return again. Loved Estes Park, CO! What a picturesque town!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlaanderen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights to visit rocky mountains np. not so modern but spacious and clean room with comfy beds. at morning there were some sweets and free coffee the entire time. also glad to have the access to a guestcomputer. indeed the owners are friendly, he told us about the elk who had visit his property so we could go and watch. glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reismeisjevlaanderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Property: Saddle & Surrey Motel
Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle Surrey Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing