We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last dinner for our honeymoon”
Review of Sundeck Restaurant - CLOSED

Sundeck Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Wyoming, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our last dinner for our honeymoon”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed the quaint local spot and read reviews on this site and decided to go. I had the veggie burger and my husband had the buffalo burger. Both were pretty good. I had the sweet potato fries which were awesome and my husband had the onion rings. The waiter was very friendly and the staff was very good to us and it was reasonably priced. We had a great view of the mountains and would definitely come back for another meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JOcelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    143
    75
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I'm allergic to a lot of things so they had to advise me of what items on the menu were safe for me to eat. Very nice people! If you stay at the Alpine Lodge they give you a discount on your meal :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you like fresh trout this is the place”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We always eat here at least once on every trip to Estes Park. The food is consistently very good, the service fast and friendly. Don't expect much in the way of decor or fancy table service. If you can leave room and can afford them the deserts are some of the best anywhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldantexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Just had to try the trout--not disappointed!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On our first day in the area, we were perusing the menus at our rental unit to decide on a first night meal. Seeing the Rocky Mountain trout at the top of Sundeck's menu, we looked no further, and motored on over. Fairly nondescript, this 65-year-old establishment could have come right out of the 50's, and we doubt much has been changed since it opened. With a view of the mountains outside and friendly service inside, we both ordered the same plate, after sampling the cream of asparagus soup, full of asparagus pieces. It was first rate. The trout is fresh--they offer to fillet it at the table--and grilled nicely, with a little tartar sauce on the side. We had the cole slaw and baked potato, which was plenty, so we did not try the desserts. The trout is not a tiny portion, so beware of ordering appetizers, or you will not be able to finish what's on your plate.

Friendly, efficient service, and very good food are the hallmark of the Sundeck Restaurant. Keep it like it is, and they're good for another 65 years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly people”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the adjacent Alpine Trail Ridge Inn and had drinks here as well as breakfast, Nice menu selection with some unexpected breakfast choices. Friends had dinner here and said it was excellent. Family owned. The staff was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing