We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Grille

The Waterfront Grille
Ranked #56 of 127 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $42
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Waterfront Grille, located inside The Estes Park Resort, is the only Lakefront Dining in Estes. Completely remodeled in 2013, our upscale restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner 7 days per week. Breathtaking views overlooking Lake Estes, the Continental Divide, and Long's Peak from both our dining room, and outside deck seating area.
Estes Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having heard that they had a new chef, we took friends to the Waterfront Grille for dinner. The layout of the restaurant is only fair, but the service and the food were marginal. It wasn't that we didn't get enough attention, we got TOO much. The waitress stopped at the table about every 5 minutes, making us want to say "leave us alone, please". The food was OK although not what we would expect for the price and the marketing hype. Average at best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bronchawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    62
    24
    32
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
1 review
“Greatplaceto feel treated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I spent an evening here to celebrated our anniversary - the staff was attentive, the menu was diverse, the food was delicious and the view and ambiance was perfect. We will eat at the Waterfront again when we return to Estes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pindsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
“Worth the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was the first place my fiancé and I ate after arriving in town. We chose it because it was the only place nearby our hotel with outdoor seating available for our pups. The food was fairly priced, considering it was delicious and fresh. I ordered a chicken Caesar salad that you could tell had great housemade dressing, and my fiancé got the seared sea scallops over guacamole, which were amazing. And the view by the lake - with the setting sun behind the mountain backdrop - was astounding. If you go, go for dinner and sit on the patio!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeArePennSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for food and celebration! Very Romantic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Estes Park Resort and ate at the Waterfront Grille as well as enjoying the bar/lounge area.

It was a truly wonderful experience and the food and drinks were wonderful. The staff was even better!

Carmello was charming and helpful and made us feel like the most important guests he had. But I could tell he was treating every one that way!

Iona was our server in the dining room the evening we dined on the deck on Lake Estes with a beautiful view of the mountains and of Long's Peak! She was a great sport as we ended up moving off the deck and into the dining area when I became chilly. The food was fantastic and with only a $5 corking fee we were able to enjoy a bottle of the wine we had picked up in Washington State on our trip.

James, a server in the bar, treated us to our last glass of wine on our final evening and was warm and friendly every time we saw him. Nice guy!

Everyone made us feel welcomed and cared for and like we were among friends. We are so looking forward to our next visit in December!

We love this place! The food! The view! The ambiance! The staff! Thanks to everyone who made our experience so enjoyable!

Don't miss out on a special dinner here to celebrate anything or or nothing at all! You won't regret it! Enjoy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4badcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Menu choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Delicious and ample plus marvelous view(s). Plus a nice easy Happy Hour Menu and excellent live music trio to keep us happy at the Resort.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainCrabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing