We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FOOD, AMAZING VIEWS!”

The View Restaurant at the Historic Crags Lodge
Ranked #30 of 131 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Audubon
Description: Located in the Historic Crags Lodge, the View is an established, destination restaurant for many people living along the front range. Dining is casual yet elegant and offers the best view of the surrounding mountains and downtown Estes Park through it's ninety foot wall of windows. Our bar opens at 4:00 PM and Happy Hour is from 4-6. The menu is an eclectic mix of unique entrees such as the Signature Short Ribs, Duck Confit, Roasted Eggplant Dip and our signature Cobbler. Gluten free and vegetarian options available. Only fresh, local ingredients are used in the menu and the staff is welcoming and friendly. The View is a perfect mix of atmosphere, views, excellent food and fine wine.
Salina, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD, AMAZING VIEWS!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great view of the Estes Valley, quality menu, friendly staff, and a great dining experience. It took a little work for us to find the restaurant, but following signs, we arrived easily. We had no reservations, but seating one table away from the windows offered a larger view of the scenery outside. The menu was excellent and the food was one of the best meals we've ever had in Estes. We were allowed a leisurely meal, never felt rushed, enjoyed live entertainment, and watched the light play over the Rockies as the sun set over the valley. Truly a highlight of a great vacation in Estes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisTravelsOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    66
    26
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner spot”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Right up there with Twin Owls, nice menu selection, good food, wine list and service...the small cozy balcony is the way to go, If you have a party of two. Thevmain dining room is nice too...just a little dated. Definitely worth a try for a higher end meal in Estes Park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely setting. Lovely food. Excellent service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We took the advice of previous reviewers and asked for a table for 2 on the balcony and it was lovely. However, eating inside quod have been good as well. Both our meals were excellent and, unlike many restaurants, soup or salad is included in the meal cost, making the pricing reasonable. Our server was very pleasant and paid us just the right amount of attention without being intrusive. We would eat here often if we lived in this area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estes park, co
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Estes best kept secret”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful view, historic lodge, great service and Superb food. The menu selection diverse and the Desserts scrumptious. Suggest reservations, and if you're a couple ask about the deck tables for two! I loved the Blue Cheese topped Rib Eye!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skjmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Special place for two (but we saw tables of 20!)”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The View is inside Crags Historic Hotel. Do check in advance - especially on weekends -they book up and close for weddings! Food was good to excellent. Both visits they were reservations only and overwhelmed with large tables, but we got the two seat outdoors porch tables - which had spectacular views while you were surrounded by flowers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NewillDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Historic Crags Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing