We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and scenery”

The View Restaurant at the Historic Crags Lodge
Ranked #31 of 128 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Audubon
Description: Located in the Historic Crags Lodge, the View is an established, destination restaurant for many people living along the front range. Dining is casual yet elegant and offers the best view of the surrounding mountains and downtown Estes Park through it's ninety foot wall of windows. Our bar opens at 4:00 PM and Happy Hour is from 4-6. The menu is an eclectic mix of unique entrees such as the Signature Short Ribs, Duck Confit, Roasted Eggplant Dip and our signature Cobbler. Gluten free and vegetarian options available. Only fresh, local ingredients are used in the menu and the staff is welcoming and friendly. The View is a perfect mix of atmosphere, views, excellent food and fine wine.
2 reviews
“Great food, service and scenery”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We ate at The View last night and loved everything about it! Adrain, our server had this huge smile on his face all night as he catered to our every whim. The vanilla bourbon salmon was to die for! I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    64
    25
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great Atmosphere, Excellent Service, Good Food”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I had an enjoyable and romantic dinner at the View in late June. We loved the historic lodge, the guitar player, and of course, the view from our table. Adrian provided excellent service, and we enjoyed our food. We would definitely go back if in Estes Park again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice view but average food.”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Nice view although not fantastic. Plenty of window tables (3 were actually outside but you had to make reservations early for those). You could see the mountains but could also see houses and the road below but it IS a view. Nice atmosphere. Plenty of tables and you can tell why people would want to have weddings here. Food was a little above average (I’d give it a 3.5). We got two rolls, not warm, and salad came with dinner (very average). I had the walnut crusted trout which was pretty good, but not excellent, and my husband had the blackened prime rib which he said was very good. Emma served us and she did an excellent job. We both had a glass of wine. With tip it came to $90.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old lodge with a wonderful view”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Three of us had dinner at The View restaurant. We went for the atmosphere and were pleasantly surprised by the food. We had a table by the window with a wonderful view of the mountains. We had excellent service and good food. If you are a twosome, ask for one of the two tables outside on their own balcony. They seem to do a lot of weddings in the summer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love The View restaurant, the food is great and the view is magnificent.”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We have been enjoying The View restaurant for several years. The food is great, the view magnificent and the service is superb. Jared is particularly attentive as is Brian. We always bring family and friends here because we can count on an excellent experience. Come for the music, it is low key, folksy, fun.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntSue_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Historic Crags Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing