We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food - Don't let the location fool you”
Review of Chelito's

Chelito's
Ranked #71 of 129 Restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food - Don't let the location fool you”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This restaurant is located on the third floor of a mall-type building and is easily missed. The building itself is rather odd in appearance and layout which may turn some people off.

The food was fresh and authentic - not like a lot of the chain type Mexican restaurants. The portions were reasonable instead of the huge entrees you usually get - which may put some people off if they're expecting a huge meal. The shrimp quesadilla and taco salad were great - right down to the taco bowl.

The ambiance of the outdoor area could use a little work, but it was nice to enjoy our meal outside.

The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating and genuinely seemed appreciative of our business; we would definitely be back if we're in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    44
    30
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
222 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good salsa & chips.
Good burritos & enchiladas.
Good service and interesting decor.
Got our food very quickly, even thought it was busy !
Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bismarck1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
466 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
“Right On Main Street Estes Park”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you don't mind walking up several flights of stairs, then Chelito's is a good option if you're craving Tex-Mex food. It's above the shops on the main street of Estes Park. You can choose indoor or outdoor terrace seating. Service was average, not above and beyond what could have been done. The crab meat enchilada was good, as was the Carnitas Tacos topped with cilantro, red onion, a squeeze of lime and salsa verde. There were five of us and we each had something different. In our experience, we found it to be somewhat overpriced for what we got, but about average for Estes Park.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Chelito's - delicious!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found this little restaurant while walking in the city. It is not on street level, but was well worth our search. The food was fresh, the wait staff pleasant, and the prices reasonable. It has an open air area if you enjoy outdoor dining. We would go back if ever in the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is nice, food and service are not.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Though it's not immediately obvious on the ground floor that the restaurant is on the top floor, several signs on the stairwell keep pointing you up, and up, to a very nice space on the top floor, with an outdoor section that would be perfect for enjoying delicious margaritas on a summer afternoon. Too bad their margaritas suck and the service does too. Little things like no salt on the table and forgetting the limes for our Mexican beers we replaced the sorry margaritas with required trips to the bar to get the items ourselves rather than wait for our waitress to make a pass through our section every 10 minutes or so. It was 3 p.m., the place was not busy, not sure what the deal was. The food was not terrible, but not good enough to return for another visit even if the service had been better. A constant influx of new tourists is the only thing keeping Chelito's going. It could be a really cool place to grab a drink and a bite, but it's not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthCentralTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelito's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing