We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful”

Backbone Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ATV, Jeep and Harley Davidson rental in Estes Park Colorado. Helmets, maps and delivery to the trail are free.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Trails were awesome until we got stuck in the snow and I got hurt. But Randy from Backbone was awesome and got me to safety. They care about their customers. He called later that evening to find out how I was.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    48
    7
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fun!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had family in town and thought riding ATVs in the beautiful mountains sounded like a good time. Turned out to be the highlight of everyones trip! The scenery was beautiful and it was fun and thrilling, nothing like the ATV rides we had done previously in Texas and Arizona - much more bumpy and steep! Andy was very nice, knowledgable and we felt safe and in control. It was great to just go out and ride the trails how we wanted and not have to be in a line following a tour guide. We are already planning our next ATV adventure for this summer, thanks so much for everything!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chococat1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“thrilling!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

So, a woman in her early thirties, a mid-twenties lady and a six year old boy take a trek up a mountain to find Andy and his well reviewed vehicles. They rent a UTV (their first time riders and drivers and first time on the top of a mountain riding/driving), the get instructions from Andy's child, and they take off. It was scary as all get out at some points (steep!!) and when we reached the summit it was thundering and lightening (which was also very terrifying) but they survived the day and feel an amazing sense of adventure in doing so.

Honestly, it was the best part of my first trip to Colorado and I would do it again in a heartbeat. Totally terrifying but utterly awesome is right up my alley! We got wet, we got dirty, we saw beautiful scenery and made some memories that will last a lifetime! Worth it, just try to be careful and use good judgement and you will have a great time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Daring Adventure!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We rented a jeep in early September. The owners were great, sending us great directions, and information in an email in advance. We got there that morning, and were on our way to the trail in a very short time. They were very efficient, kind, and helpful. They loaded a GPS for us with three choices of trails, and suggested what we might try first (and they were right, we LOVED the drive up to the top) What a wonderful off road experience in the Rockies! We saw all sorts of wildlife, including a herd of ELK! And the views were breathtaking at every curve. It was safe, but daring enough to thrill a beginner like me! Do it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnSteveArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Safe Awesome Experience!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What an amazing experience! From start to finish Backbone Adventures provided an excellent excursion. Prior to arrival, we were given detailed instructions & a map to the meet up point. We initially reserved 3 ATV's but when we arrived at the location felt a bit apprehensive because we are beginners. Brian & Andy kept it 100% real with us. They explained the trails and the vehicles and how to manuever through the rocky terrain. He also made it clear that trails in the Rockies are much different from other places (Moab is where we had previously been). Very grateful for the heads up! They accomodated us by switching to UTV's so we felt safe. They gave us a great description on how to navigate through the trails and offered assistance if we chose. They encouraged us to check in with them when we were heading over to the other side of the trails--really appreciated that. They also assured us that if we used caution & weren't reckless, things would be a lot more comfortable & enjoyable...great advice! They know what they're talking about and are very experienced. After speaking with them & getting answers to our questions & concerns we headed out and enjoyed a full day of safe, fun atv-ing. This is the place to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank humma29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backbone Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Backbone Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing