We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Swiss updated fully appointed rooms centrally located Great Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appenzell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appenzell Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Swiss updated fully appointed rooms centrally located Great Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Jessi and Sarah (sp?) were both efficient, knowledgable, kind, and helpful. I noticed a review just now on trip advisor complaining of a sweatshirt left and taken by housekeeping? Unfortunate, however, I didn't thoroughly sweep the room upon leaving and two hours down the mtn. Jessi called to say that my husband's TAG watch and cash $$ was found in the drawer. They promptly shipped it the next day to our home address. That's honest service. The beers on tap were great- $2 pints of New Belgium, Oscar Blues, and a couple others I didn't partake of. The indoor pool was awesome!! 80 degrees and with showers and facilities indoors. Our walkout open access balcony, which most have, provided a spot-on view of the continental divide, which the Stanley Hotel, at $250 a pop for a standard- where tourists mill about who aren't even staying there, does not even have such a stellar view. Jacuzzi tubs in the rooms, gas fireplace at your fingertips, kitchenette and walkable/bike-able sidewalk access to Safeway down the street. Continental breakfast in the morning until a new chef is found (he went down the mtn. During flood and never came back up) was completely sufficient. Starbucks coffee, Danish, oatmeal, bagels, cider, juices, donuts, pop tarts (who doesn't love pop tarts even if you won't buy them yourself). Don't forget gas grills on balcony to cook some fresh fish or meat on butcher's special from the Safeway! Shouldn't even be posting on this gem because I want to keep it a secret!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nesshug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    75
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
90
142
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the first time that my wife and I stayed at this hotel. When we arrived, we were informed that we were given a complimentary upgrade. The room was large and had a large tub in it. The room was very clean and updated. The front desk service was friendly and accommodating--if I could remember his name, I would mention him by name. It was a pleasant stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here with my wife and 2 kids. Very clean and well maintained. We were a little worried about staying near the highway but have no complaints. Staff members were friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the continental breakfast. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ray I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here in early Sept. during the Scottish Festival. Having stayed here before we were happy to say that it is still charming, very clean and a great place to stay in Estes. Sarah at the front desk was so helpful. We left right before the floods hit. I hope the property is not badly damaged. It is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Take your time looking at the rooms. they all have their own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencerbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here Sept 9-12 when the rain was bad and the flooding started. The staff, particularly Sarah at the front desk, were just superb in how they tried to meet the extraordinary needs of their guests. Even the managers of the on site restaurant Wild Hare came in to fix breakfast for guests until they had to leave for flooding in their homes. The managers and staff really tried to take care of the guests special needs and I will always remember their kindness.
We stayed in a recently renovated deluxe King with a view and it had everything one could want- kitchen, fire-place, jacuzzi, deck, and view. I hope I get the chance to stay here again!

Room Tip: deluxe king with a view was very spacious, had everything, and worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights there.

Rooms were clean and simple which what we wanted exactly.

The hotel was quiet and the staff were very friendly.

We did not have the time to use its restaurant as its location is so close to the city.

If you are looking for a simple , quiet and clean hotel Appenzell inn is the answer !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms were way better than we expected. Comfortable and clean! Staff was incredible! Helpful and just a great overall attitude. We were congregating there for family reunion and could not have selected a better place in Estes Park area. We had an issue with our room key and they were attentive and resolved it! They went out of their way to help us on places within the Estes area. The restaurant within hotel was incredible, fun and fantastic fun ( i comment on it separately). I cannot say enough about how great it was and how we will definitely be staying there when we go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appenzell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appenzell Inn

Property: Appenzell Inn
Address: 1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517-8924
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Appenzell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Appenzell Inn, is a Rocky Mountain hotel, with a special Alpine flair, expressing the best of our Swiss heritage here in Estes Park, Colorado. We are well known as an ideal year round property, with tastefully designed rooms and suites for couples and families. We also have an indoor pool, 2 ponds and a seasonal restaurant/pub on site. The Appenzell Inn offers much more than you would expect from a small hotel property, at a very competitive rate. We are also ideally located close to all the action of downtown Estes Park, Colorado while surrounded by the grandeur of your Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Appenzell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appenzell Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing