We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best lodge in Estes Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best lodge in Estes Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were planning on staying two nights, but it was so good that we stayed an extra night. Coni & Gary know what hospitality is, they are doing a great job. The hot tub is very nice, overlooking the river, especially at sunset. The room was spacious and very clean.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are very happy you had a nice stay with us. It sounds like the two of you are having a great time traveling across the United States. We so enjoy meeting people from around the world. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
148
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Cabin #1 for a week and loved it. This was our first time to RMNP and we were celebrating out 23rd wedding anniversary. Cabin #1 was cozy, comfortable and VERY clean. When we arrived it was a beautiful day so we open all the windows, both front and back doors (all have screens) to hear the running river off the back deck. It was so relaxing and inviting. The cabin sits beneath an umbrella of huge beautiful evergreen trees and has a calming, bright and airy feeling. The cabin was extremely clean, decor fitting for a cabin, bed was comfy, kitchen well stocked. All the comforts you need, just on a smaller scale. Swiftcurrent Lodge is in the perfect location, close to the park entrance and town but still far enough away to have that relaxing cabin-in-the-woods feeling. The owners, Coni and Gary were gracious hosts and make every effort, to make your stay, what YOU want it to be. Take advantage of their knowledge of the area. We loved every minute of our week at Swiftcurrent Lodge and would not change a thing. We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

To be honest, after our trip to Rocky Mountains, Mt. Rushmore, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Death Valley, Sequoia/Kings Canyon and Yosemite national parks, and after spending many nights around many hotels and lodges, I must say that our stay at Swiftcurrent lodge was the best we had in the whole trip.

I really mean it. Not just because the cabin was nice and cozy (we loved the fireplace!), but because we were welcomed by as family and we felt like home. Having the river and the national park steps away was amazing too. Leave your bags and you're already in the wild!

Also, I can't praise enough how charmed we felt with Estes Park. Beautiful town, friendly people, sometimes so friendly that we thought we were in a Disney family movie.

I hope to visit Estes Park again in the future, and I'll surely contact Coni & Gary again to get a reservation at Swiftcurrent Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiberianKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights in August, 2012. We stayed in the lodge and enjoyed the clean room with simple decoration of cabin decor. The lodge reminded me of visiting a family home with the hosts being welcoming and helpful regarding the area. The sound of the river and its beauty which could be enjoyed just steps from the door made the stay. We appreciated the easy walk to the nearby shuttle station to access upper areas of the park. The rates were reasonable and the fridge and coffee maker were much appreciated. I would definitely stay on another visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Swiftcurrent. Our cabin was very well kept, clean, and had a fully stocked kitchen. It was great that we had our own gas grill to use outside. You simply can't beat this location with it being right on the river and a short walk to RMNP. They have lots of rules which made me feel like a child, but other than that, I would recommend the Swiftcurrent to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohawk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our 3-night stay here was the exclamation point to our 5-week trip to the Northwest. Our clean, well-appointed efficiency room on the Big Thompson River was the perfect respite after our hiking and sightseeing. Friendly hosts, Gary and Coni, made us feel at home while we visited Estes Park and the Rockies. We highly recommend Swiftcurrent lodge to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We make the trip to Rocky Mountain Nat'l. Park as often as we can. It's a great park for hiking. However, there is no lodging within the park. So the best place to stay for your visit is Swiftcurrent Lodge. It is located adjacent to RMNP, so you can actually hike into the park, then take the shuttle bus to whatever trailhead you want.
There are a variey of cabins, so be sure to look over the floorplans, and amenities on their website. You couldn't ask for a cleaner, more friendly place to stay. We hike early in the day, and return to the cabin to relax by the river in the afternoon. We love grilling (grills provided) by the river. We bring some food in an iced cooler, but there are grocers nearby. We like to stay a week because it is so relaxing, and we like getting to one location, unpacking, and not having to change lodging every night. We plan to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Check the floor plans and amenities on their website to chose a cabin the meets your needs. Book ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjanecrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Always a pleasure to have you. Thank you for being so kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#33 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Spruce
River Spruce
#4 of 77 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing