We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love Swiftcurrent Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love Swiftcurrent Lodge”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We make an annual visit to Estes Park, and since we found Swiftcurrent several years ago, we've never stayed anywhere else. Our favorite rooms are Lodge 203 and 204, they have a small balcony that overlooks the Big Thompson River. It is a great value and a beautiful and relaxing location. You can hike into RMNP . . . which is right next to the Swiftcurrent, without driving anywhere. The Swiftcurrent Lodge is a gem! We're already looking forward to next year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CallingColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
148
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoisington, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Swiftcurrent Lodge tremendously. Very peaceful and relaxing with the Big Thompson River running just steps away for the lodge and cotages. The owners were very accomodating, as well. Rates were very reasonoable. Dunraven Inn is right on the property and is an excellent place to dine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in Lodge #5, which I wish I would have known better. There are 4 units above you and one behind you. We heard EVERYTHING. From the water running to the people walking. I know they promote quiet time from 9pm on, but no one abides by this. The parking was very tricky also. We came back several nights and had to park away from our door. You are right by the road and right in the back of the parking lot for the Dunraven Inn.
My kids did enjoy the swingset/play area and the sounds of the Big Thompson were nice. But, unfortunately, in this room, you don't get a direct view, unless you sit at your assigned picnic area.
The owners were nice. Maybe if we would have gotten our own cabin it would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in August 2012 - Room 201. In my opinion, you can't find a better value in Estes Park. The cozy lodge backs up to the Big Thompson River, and appears to be the last lodge on Highway 66. It's about a five minute drive to the crowded downtown Estes park, and close to the park entrance. The owners were very friendly, the lodge was quiet, and the room was clean. It's right behind the Dunraven Inn, which we didn't visit, but it seems to have good reviews! We'll be back here for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in unit 9. The area is very busy this time of year and all the cabin type accommodations seem in heavy demand.

The Big Thompson River runs through (or by) this property. It is a great feature for this property as noted by all who review this establishment. A nice Italian restaurant is very close... across the parking lot. And, of course, you are very close to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Gary the proprietor, is a charming and very nice person.

So why only a 3 rating? The futon I our cabin was the only real place to sit other than the kitchen chairs. It was nearly impossible to sit in as it appears to be broken... or something.

I have dust and related allergies and I could not cope with the room. If you don't have dust allergies then maybe this won't concern you.

Unit 9 needs help. Based upon what I've read in other reviews I trust that this unit may be different from the rest... or at least some of the others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidphoto574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
David,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the "broken" futon. We did find a bolt missing and have made the necessary repair. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms and so are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

great location, close to town and 300 yards from r.m.n.p., Gary and wife who are the owners are great for directing you to the bests eating places and things to do. after you talk to gary for 5 minutes it is like talking to an old friend. when we come back we will be ataying here!

Room Tip: cabins facing the Big Thompson having great view of the river and sounds too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob35895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliffe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great place! Peaceful! The cabin was completely stocked with everything you'd ever need!!Very clean, quiet and right next to the river.Like the updated cabins best. Estes Park is an awesome place to vacation with family,especially Rocky Mountain National park. Great hosts! Will go back again!

Room Tip: cabin number 5 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
2.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
4.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#31 of 77 in Estes Park
275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing