We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Amazing Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“What an Amazing Place!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Swiftcurrent Lodge on the River in Cottage #1. Our only regret is that we only stayed for 2 nights. We will definitely be returning for a longer stay. The river was beautiful and lulled us to sleep each night. We had so much fun hiking the trails that led into Rocky Mountain National Park...so much scenery, it was unreal. The cottage was immaculate with a fully equipped kitchen and propane grill on the patio, right by the river. Coni and Gary are wonderful and our stay here couldn't have been better. We can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbhilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    26
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
44
161
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
schenectady
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Having been here 2 times, I can say with all honesty that I love this place. If you are looking for a place to relax, refresh and get rejuvinated, this place is for you. Sit by the river and watch the hummingbirds or take a walk out your back door to the RMNP. The rooms are great and the owners are even better! I even planned my whole trip around this place so I knew I could enjoy the rockies the way they were ment to be enjoyed.

Room Tip: my favorite room is room 6 if you love hearing the river and sitting on the deck watching the world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisladyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Found Swiftcurrent Lodge by chance...and so glad that we did!! Stayed in cabin #2 and loved it! So relaxing right on the river...just sitting and listening to the Big Thompson. And a great locaction! You can walk in RMNP ....but even better than that, the lodge is located right next to the Dunraven Inn! We just really had a wonderful time. Already thinking of maybe planning a fall trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were so pleased that we found Swiftcurrent Lodge. This was my first time in the Rockies and Swiftcurrent was the perfect place for us to begin our trip. We found ourselves wishing that we could stay longer but other parts of CO were calling! The cabins are located right on the river. There was nothing like coming in from a day of sightseeing and exploring to settle down on the patio and watch the river rush by. Add a glass of wine to the picture and you have pure bliss! The cabins are small but perfectly outfitted with everything one wants or needs. Having the trail right into RMNP was great. We took a moonlit stroll up the trail and along the river a couple of nights - very romantic! Gary and Coni are the perfect hosts. Their knowledge of the area was very much appreciated. They tailored their advice to our tastes and gave us excellent suggestions. I definitely recommend this place. And we definitely hope we can stay there again!

Room Tip: Cabin one was ours. It was right on the end and easily accessible. The road was close but traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were greeted kindly at the office and even were able to check in early. The staff is warm and leave you to yourselves. The cottage was adorable and clean but the best part was the patio out the back door or our room. The river was gorgeous and calming. I would recommend this place to anyone that needs to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and just relax and enjoy nature.

Room Tip: Cottage #2 is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heffervisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I wanted somewhere to stay as a base for trips into the Rocky Mountain National Park and we got everything we wanted and more. Our cabin was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed and the setting is superb - so relaxing. The facility to just walk into the National Park is amazing - walk just a few metres and you are there and the wildlife is as amazing as the scenery. It is well placed for the town of Estes Park too, just a few minutes by car to get any supplies you need.
Swiftcurrent Lodge is exactly as you see it in the online brochure - except for one thing - you cannot get any idea of the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the service you get from Gary and Coni. They cannot do enough for you to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Their local knowledge is just what you need when visiting a new area, so that you get the most from your stay.
We recommend it unreservedly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORMAN U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Gary and Coni have created a setting that is a perfect balance of rustic and comfort. The accommodations are clean, thoughtful and not over-done. They blend in to make the most of the natural surroundings. If you don't feel like putting on a big production to find a place to hike or fish, you can just step outside your cabin! The beautiful trail and river are right there! After years of coming to the Rockies, I keep cominig back to Swiftcurrent.
Natalie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 628D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing