We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Survivor hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Moon Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Survivor hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Despite the rushing waters that almost wiped out this town, this hotel survived very nicely and provided nice shelter. It is an older hotel but very clean and comfortable. It is a getting close to nature experience with huge boulders outside the bathroom window and bears visiting the trash can outside at night. The hotel is very convenient to downtown Estes Park and to the entrance to Rocky Mt. National Park. We did not eat their breakfast due to lack of time.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river. If you like more security from animals you might want the second or third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    169
    30
    19
    2
See reviews for
268
245
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a few bruises from the flooding, but it is a homey comfortable place to stay. The location is perfect. You can walk to every shop in town and explore the Riverwalk area. Rocky Mountain National Park is only a few miles up the road... ( the only time I used my car my entire stay. Proximity to the park shows itself with the sights and sounds of wildlife near the hotel. Mule deer and elk right in the parking lot on a regular basis . The breakfast is your typical continental, but gets the job done. The office staff is very helpful and you can feel free to stop in for anything you need. I will absolutely recommend the Silver Moon Inn and I will be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Moon Inn the first week of November 2013. Due to the season, we were able to get off-season rates which seemed quite reasonable considering the quality of the Silver Moon, as well as compared to the other Estes Park hotels. The Inn is in a very convenient location to the national park as well as Estes Park food and shops. The rooms were quite cozy and we specifically requested a room on the second floor due to suggestions from other reviews that first floor rooms can be noisy. The room had a nice view of the stream that runs through town, though some flood damage still exists. We slept quite comfortably and the staff was friendly and helpful. No complaints about WiFi and the continental breakfast was standard. The only significant improvement we would have liked would have been better room privacy. All room windows (including the large door windows) face the exterior walkway and are covered by blinds that just cover the dimensions of the window. It is definitely possible to see into other rooms even with these blinds drawn. However, in all, we really liked the Silver Moon Inn and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We followed the suggestion to stay in a room above the first floor to avoid noise. We had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Sol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Fabulous staff, courteous, helpful and pleasant. Very nice rooms. Beautiful sitting areas along a passing river. Walking distance from downtown Estes and easy access to RMNP. We've stayed here before and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Silver Moon on several occasions and have always found it to be first rate. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, hospitable staff, clean, plenty of hot water (even early morning, which isn't always the case in other places!), launderette on site, close to town and gorgeous surroundings. We would never stay anywhere else!
The staff are so helpful and friendly, can't do enough to ensure the stay with them is happy and runs smoothly. Really love this place!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easy to access and the views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windsongsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Awesome service, room and rate! Quiet and very close to downtown. Clean and comfortable. Although renovating due to flood, the inn was easily accessible and still very hospitable! They offer reasonable rates especially in the off-season.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nateo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked this room in the off season, two weeks after bad flooding, and during a federal government shutdown. In spite of flood damage to the parking lot, business closures in town, and trail closures, we had a great experience at this little hotel. The room was clean and nicer than expected. Chad at the front desk was extremely helpful and suggested some trails to hike and a few restaurants to eat at. Very friendly staff, cute and cozy place. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Moon Inn

Property: Silver Moon Inn
Address: 175 Spruce Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9044
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park’s legendary hotel lodging in downtown Estes Park, just outside Rocky Mountain National Park. Silver Moon® Inn has all you want in Estes Park accommodations: cozy rooms and suites, a river front location, walk to shopping and dining, friendly staff and quality service. Silver Moon® Inn and your unforgettable Colorado Rocky Mountain Vacation Experience await your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Silver Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Moon Hotel Estes Park
Silver Moon Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing