We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town”
Review of Silver Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Moon Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful 11 day trip to Colorado. Used Estes Park as a home for a couple of nights while we explored Rocky Mt Nat Park.
The Silver Moon was terrific. While everything was fine, big clean rooms, very very friendly helpful staff, adequate breakfast. what I really loved was proximity to town. At days end, we would walk the 100/200 yards to town for dinner, dessert, shopping, people watching., etc.
Highly recommend Silver Moon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 839 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Silver Moon Inn in Estes Park, CO is a wonderful place to stay. It is only one block from the town of Estes Park and there is a beautiful stream running right in front of the rooms. We stayed the end of August/first of Sept for three nights and it was very quiet. Our room was large (king bed with a gas fireplace) and very clean. The price was very good for the location and scenery. I would highly recommend Silver Moon Inn.

Room Tip: We were in a lower unit with the stream running right outside our room. It was very quiet and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our whole stay at the Silver Moon was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful, kind and knowledgeable about the Highland Festival we were in town for. We will be staying at the Silver Moon the next time we visit Estes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend there with our dogs in late August. The pet OK rooms are all on the same end of the building, looking out at the parking lot. They usually allow only one dog per room. But, we have two small dogs (around 10 pounds) and they made the exception for us. It's also on the end of the property with the laundry facilities and ice machine, which was convenient. And, while we were on the ground floor, so it wasn't an issue, but there are no elevators.

The room itself, though, was small and crowded. There were two queen beds, a couple of easy chairs, a small table, a smallish dresser with the TV on it, and a mini fridge with the microwave and coffee maker on it. There was also a very small closet behind one of the chairs. But, the room just had a cluttered "too much stuff in it" feel. It was also very dark, even with the window open and lights on. The bathroom also had a single pedestal sink with a bout a 6-inch deep shelf over it. So, there was no where to put any toiletries and we literally lived out of our luggage the whole weekend.

One other room issue is that we had a family staying directly above us with 3 little kids, who would constantly run around the room (although I don't know how, if their room was as crowded as ours), and until 9 or 10 each night, and then beginning at 7 in the morning, it sounded like they had a dancing horse up there. So, if noise from above bothers you, get an upstairs room, despite having to schlep your luggage up and down stairs.

The grounds of the inn were very nice and pleasant. The Fall River flows through the property. It's actually more like a stream (about 15 feet wide and a couple feet deep at most), but they have a bunch of Adirondack chairs and picnic tables placed along the bank, along with a lot of trees for shade. So, it was a nice place to go hang out and have a drink. They do have a pool, which is kind of spartan. There are no lounge chairs at the pool, just regular sitting chairs. And, the area all around the pool was concrete. So, laying out in the sun really wasn't an option.

The location of the inn itself is excellent. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to get all the way across town, so everywhere in between is less than that. It's also just a bit away from the main drag, so you don't get a lot of foot or vehicle traffic. And, of course, you're in a mountain forest, basically. So, you have to be on the lookout for bears.

The first night, my wife and I came into our room at about 10. Then she let the dogs out to relieve themselves at about 2 AM with no issue. But the next day, one of the other guests told us that she was on the 2nd floor at about 10 the previous night and saw a couple of bears in the parking lot. One of them came up and emptied the trash can right outside our room. And, we had no idea (we had the AC fan on, because of the dancing horse noise). We also talked with one of the clerks about it and he said, "Oh yeah, those bears have been coming by every night for weeks." Ummm ... And, don't you think this might be good information for your guests to know, so they don't just come walking out of their room at night or let their dogs out, to find themselves face to face with a hungry bear?

Anyway, despite the minor issues, we had a nice stay (especially that Sunday night, after the family above us left). And, I would recommend the Silver Moon Inn to anyone who finds themselves in Estes Park.

Room Tip: If you have issues with noise from above, get an upstairs room. Just realize they have no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_in_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Putting the summary first, we would not hesitate to stay here again. Family of four. We spent 3 nights here in late August 2012. The hotel is a charmer. Keep in mind that Estes is a vacation town, so prices are inflated, but we were very pleased with the combination of price, value and, especially, location and staff assistance. We stayed first floor near the pool, and the river was just 12 steps from our front door. It was a great place to just sit by and dangle the feet. The motel is set back just a couple hundred feet from the main drag through town, but that's enough to create a setting that is totally different from town. The location is also right on the edge of the business district, so there aren't vacationers walking by, however the town's main attractions are all within walking distance. A couple of restaurant recommendations here -- get the bison burger with bacon at Penelope's -- if you want comfort food, go for the gravy-smothered rancher's burrito at The Mountaineer -- and for sweets, drop in at Laura's. The ice cream and toffee get highest marks. (we weren't calorie watching for a change). Back to the hotel - it was clean, comfortable, and enough room for us. No noise problems. Beds were comfortable. Shower was high enough for a 6-footer. Service from the front desk was excellent, and there's a board in the lobby with restaurant reviews. Staff also was free with tips on top places to go, and their recommendations hit the target every time. If local guitarist/singer Randall MacKinnon is playing at the gazebo, spend some quality time with him. He's quite good, as is his CD we picked up. The outdoor pool was fine, and the pump waterfall charming, although one of the two hot tubs was not functioning while we were there. No big deal, though, because the pool was never crowded.

Room Tip: Half of the hotel is near the lobby and the parking lot, which means more people walking by on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nutmeg200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I loved this place so much - I'm not sure where to start, but here goes!

Location is terrific. Walking distance to Estes Park stores and restaurants. A beautiful setting on the Fall River with plenty of adirondack chairs to sit. I started every one of the 5 days I stayed here drinking coffee by the river. A few miles to the entrance of Rocky Mtn. National Park.

Rooms were great. We stayed in 217, which was recently renovated. 2 Queen beds, gas fireplc, large bathroom and private patio. Immaculately clean. Stay in rooms 117-120, or 217-220 to have this wonderful experience.

The people who work here! They should give lessons on how to provide top notch customer service! Adam, with his 2 beautiful poodles was my buddy every night when I went to the office to check my email. My daughter loved playing with his dogs. He was so accomodating, provided us with free marshmallows, skewers, and a fire pit out front for roasting. Ideas on things to do and maps and suggestions for restaurants. Tyler greeted me with a warm smile and pleasant chat in the mornings.

The breakfast. Great way to start the day with coffee, juices, bagels , toast and some packaged items. Free water bottles stocked in a small fridge, which helped with hiking in thin air.

I can't wait for another chance to stay at the Silver Moon Inn. I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms 117-120, 217-220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongIsland_NYLIgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Colorado and 2nd stay at the Silver Moon Inn. It is located on a beautiful stream with a small playground for the kids to play on, as well as firepits to make your s'mores in the evening. There was a fire ban until the night we arrived due to recent fires in the area. Since the fire ban was removed we had our fire and s'mores. One of the helpful people at the desk, Adam, offered to build our fire for us and got us metal marshmallow sticks. Last time we stayed in the 2 bedroom until above the office. This time we stayed in room 200 which is a 3 bedroom with 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. It is very nice except that one of the bedrooms doesn't have a window, and I would have liked to know that before. I probably wouldn't have booked that room and would have gone with the 2 bedroom. Still, we love this place and recommend it highly!

Room Tip: apt 204 has 3 bedrooms, one doesn't have a window. apt above the office has 2 bedrooms, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
1.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.4 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Moon Inn

Address: 175 Spruce Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9044
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $126 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park’s legendary hotel lodging in downtown Estes Park, just outside Rocky Mountain National Park. Silver Moon® Inn has all you want in Estes Park accommodations: cozy rooms and suites, a river front location, walk to shopping and dining, friendly staff and quality service. Silver Moon® Inn and your unforgettable Colorado Rocky Mountain Vacation Experience await your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Moon Hotel Estes Park
Silver Moon Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing