We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel in a tourist town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average hotel in a tourist town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked a two night stay at this property after stopping at two other places that had no rooms left. The front desk clerk was very helpful and recommended a couple restaurants to us. The room itself was dated but clean. Location was nice, being somewhat on the edge of town but close enough to all the restaurants and shopping in Estes Park. Mountain views were terriffic! We didn't eat the breakfast, it was just waffles and cold cereal in the very small reception area. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, which came in handy during our stay. Bed was adequate, shower had very low water pressure. Just another economy hotel!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank owlgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the comments you made in your recent TripAdvisor review. We rely on feedback such as yours to identify areas which need improvement. We plan to start updating the rooms in a process which will take two or three years to complete. We'll get that shower checked out right away. We are investigating how to improve our breakfast offering. We don't want to be "just another economy hotel" but the preferred economy hotel in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    49
    19
    17
See reviews for
65
61
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our room was very spacious and super clean. The beds were very comfortable. The new owners did a great job renovating the rooms. The large Jacuzzi tub was great. It felt so relaxing after a day of hiking in the Rocky Mountain National Park. Having a small fridge and microwave in the room was also nice. There is a large outdoor heated pool, shuffleboard court, basketball hoop and a kid’s playground on the property. There were also several BBQ grills and picnic tables in a grassy area. The continental breakfast was a little light. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Reasonable room rates. A great value is offered at America’s Best Value Inn at Estes Park. I would recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loralee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed review. We are working on our breakfast offering and hope to have it improved by next spring. We will look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Dad and I chose this hotel based on a couple factors. It's right in the heart of Rocky Mountain National Park. It had great reviews here on Trip Advisor. I spoke with the manager, Jessa, prior to arriving and she was so hospitable. I explained to her about my concern over my Dad's age (82 yrs) and altitude sickness and she gave great advice and mentioned an oxygen "bar" in town in case he showed any symptoms. I called 4 hotels that day and she was the only one that gave me confidence to make a reservation at a place I had no first hand knowledge of.

When we got there Betty at the front desk was friendly and helpful. We met Jessa in the lobby and she was busy working for the big weekend ahead. She had time to chat with us and give us the scoop on the place. The pool was big, clean and at a nice warm temperature. The waffle and juices I had at the breakfast buffet were as good as any I could have gotten at a restaurant. We got the 2-bedroom above the lobby and were quite happy. From what I could see the rooms were nicely renovated and though not as "new" as a Hampton Inn certainly a killer value. And my Dad and I got to shoot some hoops at their basketball court! I haven't done that with him since the olden days! C'mon Man - basketball with your Dad!!!

No review would be worth it's salt if some detractors weren't mentioned. The "Sara Lee" muffins at the Breakfast buffet were not very good. They were fresh but the product is poor. My Dad, who is a muffin fanatic, said these were "fake" tasting. Though there was probably a valid reason the hot tub wasn't up and running (cold to the touch) I couldn't help but wish I could have taken a "hot" soak.

There were great views of the mountains and that combined with all of the above make this an easy choice for our next Colorado adventure. My Dad incidentally never got any signs of altitude sickness despite romping around from 8000 to 13000 feet for 6 days. Thanks to Jessa for running a quality place and being very friendly at the same time!

Room Tip: Choose the 2 bedroom if your traveling partner snores!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are glad that Jessa, our general manager, was able to provide information to make your stay more enjoyable. She does a great job. We will try to improve those muffins so they will be more to your Dad's liking. I will ask our maintenance team to check on that hot tub. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice people. I would highly recommend this motel. Reviews must be 200 characters minimum. That is a lot of words. I had a great time....life is good. Still not enough characters....maybe this will do it.

Room Tip: Balcony room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We take great pride in the effort our staff makes to ensure you have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to complement them on their "friendly and helpful" service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place had nothing really bad and had a decent price if compared with other places in the area. The room quite basic. Breakfast included but selection totally insufficident to be considered a breakfast. No toast or muffins available. Just self coooked waffle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to improve the quality of our room furnishings over the next couple years. We have had one other comment concerning our "breakfast" offering. I am working with our management staff to try to improve the morning fare to better meet your expectations. Your input is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked this place at a Travellodge customer but it seems the former proprietor is out of business. Now this is Americas Best Value. Beds ok and clean room was silent but needs urgently some refurbishment. Staff at checkin complicated but they managed to give as an AAA rate. Breakfast facilities are just at reception, ok for a quick coffee or some cereal, do not expect eggs, bacon and stuff like that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for visiting TripAdvisor to share your comments about your recent stay with us. We just took the motel back in April and, over the next couple years, will be refurbishing all the rooms. I will ask our general manager to work with our front desk staff to make the checkin process proceeds more efficiently. Based on your comment and one previously we are exploring options to improve our breakfast offering. We appreciate your comments as they help us concentrate on the areas in need of improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent a weekend in Estes Park and stayed at this hotel. It it located out of the downtown area of Estes Park but no more than 5 minutes from there and 10 minutes from the entrance to Rocky Mtn Ntl Park. The room was clean and well furnished. Most outdoor pools are advertised as heated but are bitter cold. My kids swam in the pool and said it was heated and loved it. The staff was very good, attentive, and friendly. My only disappointment was the breakfast. It is served in the lobby of the hotel so there is not much seating available and the offerings were generic and poor. We ate breakfast there the first morning and went to McDonalds the next. Other than the breakfast offering, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are pleased that you had a good impression of our accommodations and that your kids enjoyed their time in the pool. I'm sorry that our continental breakfast disappointed you. I will bring this to the attention of our management staff and we will try to improve our breakfast offering. We want all aspects of your stay with us to meet or exceed your expectations. Thanks for the TripAdvisor review and we hope you'll visit us again from Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
1.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Property: Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park
Address: 1220 Big Thompson Ave, US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Estes Park
Travel Lodge Estes Park
Estes Park Travelodge
Estes Park Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing