We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest place in the greatest place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rams Horn Village Resort
Reviewed October 19, 2008

No place we've ever been compares with Rams Horn--fewer than 50 units, and a fantastic laid-back, family atmosphere. The views are breathtaking, only about a mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, where we spent a lot of our time, hiking and just taking in the beauty. The units are really nice 2-bedroom, 2-bath, 2-story family "houses" with all the comforts of home. Instead of institutional white towels and acrylic shower surrounds, there are color-coordinated linens and beautifully tiled baths, and Anderson-type wood windows instead of the standard aluminum kind. The trees and landscaping are professionally done and beautifully maintained. There's a very nice exercise facility, but the weather was so great while we were there that we never used it.

The manager, Deborah, has apparently been here since the beginning--about 1990--and everybody, from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance, is super friendly and makes every effort to make guests feel right at home. There's a free wine & cheese (and lots more) reception every Saturday afternoon, and a $3.00 Belgian waffle breakfast every Sunday morning. This is the only place we've ever been where guests (and owners--this is a timeshare property with all developer units sold out) interact with each other on a regular basis. You leave feeling like you've made new friends.

Estes Park is a glorious place, and there's no place else in Estes Park that measures up to Rams Horn. Some places are pretty junky but still rent for quite a wad just because they're in Estes Park. If you come here, you'll definitely want to come back to Rams Horn.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank texasred45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 742 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2008

We are Timeshare owners at Rams Horn, but we bought it sight unseen. We read reviews of the place, and most people commented on how small it was, so we were a little anxious to see it for ourselves. We bought 2 wks. of the Divide unit.

We arrived & checked in, and everyone welcomed us like we were family...very friendly and nice. The grounds are very pretty.....lots of evergreens and trees, hammocks everywhere, and also gas grills very close to all units. Our house was right by the large pool & hot tub......awesome. They have 3 hot tubs around the resort. They also have playgrounds for the kids.

We got to House #6. (We were told they aren't units or condos, but HOMES....they are our homes.) There was a note on our front door, "Welcome Home, Jim & Janet with a ram in the center. (We own 2 other timeshares in Fla., and no one ever welcomed us back!) They even had a basket of fruit waiting for us on the kitchen table ! We couldn't believe it !
We entered the house and saw a gorgeous room with vaulted ceilings, a very pretty (cool) dining table, which easily seats 6. Wonderful architectural lines all over......nooks and cranies, and great designs. The extra bedroom had a log headboard, and a queen size bed, with many personal effects/decorations everywhere.
The living room had a wonderful fireplace that had a roaring fire with the flip of a switch. We were there with another couple, and the room was perfect. The couch is large, 2 side chairs, & 2 hassocks that can be used as seats. TV. French doors to an enclosed on one side ,porch w/ wooden bench. In this home.....the bench faced the pool & hot tub.
The kitchen was NOT as small as a blog reported. It was long, but 2 people could stand side by side in it, just fine. It was fully equipped....even had a slow cooker !
Upstairs had a small desk at the top of the stairs....cute ! Our room took my breath away ! King-sized bed with giant log headboard, and beautiful comforter, perfect for the mts., and elk country ! A porch outside the bedroom with 2 rocking chairs & an end table. Large bathroom. TV.
The entire home had track lighting everywhere, & that made it sooooooo warm, & beautiful !
The staff had a wine & cheese welcome on Saturday & that included buffalo wings, meatballs, dips, veggies, & the staff was hugging returning home owners..very nice !
On Sunday they have a waffle breakfast for $3.00, & again....it was so nice! So friendly ! We loved our stay, & hated to leave....it WAS home, & we are so thrilled that we were smart enough to buy into their family !

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JanManika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed at this fantastic resort for a week and had such a great time that I was sorry to leave. The staff was attentive but not intrusive. They provided us with all of our needs and never pestered us which made the resort shine in my eyes. The residence was stellar with fine, comfortable furnishings. This is predominantly a time share establishment but they also rent the residences out on a per night basis. If you plan on going to Estes Park I highly recommend Rams Horn Village. They "welcome you home"

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrendanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We returned last night from an eight night stay at Rams Horn Resort in Estes Park. We chose Ram's Horn because of the reviews posted on trip advisor. I can't thank you all, the reviewers, enough for taking the time to write the reviews. This is truly a resort, rather than just a very nice place to stay. When it rained, I could go into the club house and check my emails, visit with others, watch the OLYMPICS of a very big screen t.v. and even do the laundry. There was a hot tub right outside our "house" and it was perfect and safe with an extra railing for getting into it. Seeing the bikes inline skates, games and dvd's for borrowing, made me wish that our grandchildren had been with us. The grown are lush and immaculate; teh staff so wonderful; the ice cream social and wine and cheese events lavish and friendly. The added plus was it's very close proximity to the Beaver Meadows entrance to the Park, less than 5 minutes. Thought there was probably the free shuttle nearbyu, I would advise having a car.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This place is a model for all resort rental properties. The welcome note we got was a taste of the great customer service that was to come. After a long 300 mile drive we checked in right away and saw the “Welcome home” sign on our door. What a relief and good feeling to see that. We did in fact feel like we were home.

Overall – excellent customer service and generally smiling staff throughout the complex, which is hard to get these days. Some of the better things about the place – Very clean and well equipped. We were in Unit 43, a cabin with a loft. Other than minor fixes that were needed (a tile was loose, wall paper coming loose in the corner), the place was immaculate.

The complex
looks to be made up of about 50-60 units, relatively tightly packed together on a piece of property that has road on two sides, and a trailer park/camping area on the other sides. Surrounded by mountains on all distance sides. Lots of trees in the area, so it feels secluded even if its really not. Some units are single cabins, others are duplex like cabins. We stayed in a single cabin.

The Cabin
Very spacious. We had 6 people and there was occasionally some problem with us all fitting in the main living room but overall the whole place was huge compared to the standard motel or even connected rooms, which would have been an option of ours. There is a bedroom up and a bedroom down, one full bath on the main floor and a ¾ bath upstairs. Each cabin is a self contained unit with its own heating, hot water, etc. No cabin’s have air conditioning, which wasn’t an issue when we went since it snowed 2 of the 4 days. Honestly – I’ve heard the complaints about lack of air and I can’t believe it would be necessary for more than about 2 hours out of the worst day in the year. You don’t need AC in this town. It dry and cool at night, and really doesn’t warm up until about 5pm for an hour or two. Besides, sitting in a mountain cabin with AC on is just plain strange, in my opinion. The Kitchen is a little small, but fine for our needs, and the dinner table seats 6 normal size people comfortably. The kitchen is outfitted with everything you need. We had no issue with anything, all worked fine, and it was just as if we were using someone’s house (which we may have been). Plenty of dishes, nice upgraded stainless steel appliances, Fridge with ice maker, dishwasher. The décor was very nice and we loved looking at the various nick nacks, pictures, and furniture. The furniture in the living room was leather, and the sofa pulled out to a bed – which I slept on 3 of 4 nights. There is no bar down the middle of this thing. Its more like a mattress with a flexible board under the mattress for support. No problems here and I typically need a real soft mattress. My bad neck and back actually got better over the 4 days.
Other amenities
The grounds were manicured nice. Grass was weed free and green, flowers everywhere, well maintained. We had a look at the pool but never tried it because it was too cold. There was a hot tub also. Surprisingly the laundry facilities are free!! We did 3 or 4 loads and that saves a few bucks. Its just nice not to have some place stick it to you like the airlines and car rentals do. They had a library with some DVD’s and VHS tapes. We watched some movies during the snow and that was nice. No fee for rentals, just sign them out. They also had roller blades, balls, Frisbees, and other toys to sign out. They may have had bikes as well, but I never asked. I saw a bunch of them by the office that looked to be available to anyone.

The Staff
As mentioned the staff was very nice and helped us when ever we asked. One woman at the front desk appeared to be a bit on the short side when I asked for a map to the airport but not a huge deal. We never needed much from the staff, but anything we needed they found us – even a piece of duct tape to seal up a bottle before we packed our bags. No problem.

Location
The place is located off of highway 66, and like all of Colorado roads, somewhat difficult to find, but then again I’m a tourist. Across the road is a nice grove with elk milling around, which is cool. Down the road is the dunraven restaurant which we parked at one day to hike in to moraine park without paying a fee (a free tip).

Summary –
We picked this place because if the high ratings and I can see why its rated high. There is little to complain about. The people are nice, the accommodations are great and the location is close to RMNP and downtown estes park.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MN_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We had a family reunion at this resort in early June, 2008, and I'm struggling to find anything negative to say. We rented 4 cabins and all of them were great! They were very clean, fully equipped with everything you'd ever need...down to the grilling utensils.

The cabins were decorated very "rustic" which added to the ambiance of being in the mountains. The location was less than a mile to the entrance of the Rocky Mountain National Forrest. We saw deer, coyotes, rabbits, racoons, chipmunks, etc... all on property.

The staff is very friendly...as I said, I just can't find anything to complain about...you'll love it.

As we were leaving on June 8th, the summer "season" was starting. The resort was quickly filling up with tons of kids and young families. It was getting noisy and "busy", but you have kids, all the merrier!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed at the Rams Horn Village Resort from March 14 through the 21, 2008. Our party consisted of my wife and two children under thirteen. Our unit was a two bedroom, two bath with a full kitchen. The kitchen comes in very useful because during the winter months many of the resturants in Estes Park are closed. We made breakfast in our unit everyday. Most days we came back and ate lunch in the unit as well. We went out for dinner everynight. One resturant we really enjoyed and highly recommend was Smokin Dave's BBQ and Tap House. It is about a mile from the resort.
We purchased a seven day Rocky Mountain National Park visitor pass which cost $20.00 for the four of us to drive into the park. Words can not describe the beauty of the park. I can't believe I waited so long to visit. We rented snow shoes at the Warming Hut which is about a mile from the resort and went on the ranger led snow shoe trip. You can learn about this and other activities in the park by going to the web site. We saw elk, deer, coyotes and a large herd of big horn sheep outside Estes Park on highway 34. I was told by locals that seeing the big horn sheep is rare without hiking into the park. There is a snow play area in the park called Hidden Valley. I'm told this used to be a small ski resort. I wish they would bring the ski resort back beacuse it is only minutes from the resort. The next closet ski resort is about an hour away. It snowed about three inches one day which was nice. The roads were cleared and we were able to drive with no problems. Our unit had a fire place and was always warm and comfortable. We wanted for nothing except for more time. This resort is a timeshare and I traded into it through RCI. We highly recomend this resort. The staff was helpful and friendly. There are BBQ's outside most units, The spas were warm and clean and the grounds were well manicured. The units are some of the cleanest I've seen. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank walkondirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,521 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#33 of 78 in Estes Park
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rams Horn Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rams Horn Village Resort

Address: 1565 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Estes Park, Colorado Vacation Homes (Vacation Rentals, Fractional Ownership, and Timeshares) sit on seven beautifully landscaped acres. Rams Horn Village Resort is perfectly located one mile from downtown Estes Park and less than 5 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. Rams Horn Village Resort a great choice for a summer family vacation or weekend getaway in the fall, winter or spring. Custom comforters, 600 count linens, upscale furnishings. Our luxury cabins are also a cozy, romantic escape for couples. Each cabin offers two master suites, making them perfect for two couples as well. On site heated pool (seasonal), year round hot tubs, fast-free wifi, fitness center, playground, firepits, grills, clubhouse, bikes, sleds, lawn games and more. Wildlife often on site, mountain views and great restaurants nearby. Close to downtown Estes Park, but away from the hustle of town. Long-term, local staff with caring service! 25 years of providing great vacations! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rams Horn Village Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing