We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up for Spruce Lake”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Lake RV Park
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up for Spruce Lake”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Our stay at Spruce Lake was very enjoyable. Upon arival my wife went into the office to check in, I looked across the river to see to young Bull Elk standing in the Willows. The facilities were kept very well, including the bathrooms whcih were nearly spotless. My wife and son went to the pool one evening and said it was fine. All the help there was friendly and helpful, we felt very comfortable there. No complaints, next time out to Estes/RMNP we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsm4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    28
    21
    26
See reviews for
94
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
261 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Very pleased with our stay at Spruce Lake. Great accomodating staff when we had RV issues, lots to do for the kids and a great river running next to it. The bath house was spotless every time we went in and the location is great for getting to Rocky Mountain National Park. Wi-Fi worked fine during our stay. Check it out, we were very pleased, you will be too...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
466 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Spruce Lake RV Resort is a great place to stay while exploring Rocky Mountain National Park. It is located at the East Entrance to Rocky Mountain in Estes Park along the Big Thompson River. The sound of water tripping over the rocks wakes you gently in the morning. If you get up early enough, when you step out of your cabin or motorhome, tread quietly among the herd of elk that come to nibble on the grass in the resort.

Spruce Lake Resort offers a hot tub, heated swimming pool for the kids, a huge fishing pond, and a nice souvenir store and restaurant you can easily walk to. There is also a cottage and several cabins for rent. Nightly bonfires, ice cream socials, bingo and miniature golf are also available. Spruce Lake is an easy drive into Estes Park. Don't forget to visit the haunted Stanley Hotel while you're there!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Very clean restrooms and showers on site. Good location that is central to everything in or near Estes Park. Dog walk area left a little to be desired. A little on the pricey side for a nights stay. $48.00 plus taxes and fees. Very busy place so make reservations 3-4 weeks out during prime summer time camping. Camp has strict rules for dogs and kids and quiets down nicely after 10:00pm. Good spot for family camping. Staff was attentive and friendly. Camping spaces are very close together and 'tight'.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed in site next to FREE mini golf course and within 100 feet of river. The sound of river made it very easy to sleep and blocked out any road noise. Bathrooms were spotless and fishing pond was a great touch. Site was plenty large enough for our unit and all the stuff. Did not attempt to use WIFI.

My mom stayed in rental unit that was very clean. Only complaint was lack of utensils for preparing meal(s).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emohlluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have come to Estes Park a couple of times each summer for the past 10 years. Having stayed in several different campgrounds in this area we have found that this is our absolute favorite. The staff at Spruce Lake RV Park is awesome and will pull out the stops to make your stay enjoyable. Our kids fish the lake, play in the playground, miniture golf, swim, ride bikes and have a wonderful time in a very safe, quiet, kid friendly campground.

We Love It Here!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

My grandparents used to bring me to this campground when I was a kid and I thought that it was the best place in the world. When we arrived at the campground last week, I was grossly disappointed. The grounds hadn't been mowed and were full of dandelions, and appeared to make the entire campground look dirty and worn down.
However, as we settled into our spot (right next to the river), the elk started to come around. The sun came out and shined on the rocky mountains that appear to be a stones throw from the campground. We took a walk around the campground and realized that it was actually very nice. The bathrooms were SPOTLESS. Words can't describe, I would have to rate it the #1 campground bath house that I've been to. The pool was also spotless, and VERY warm. My young boys were able to swim in the pool although the outdoor temperature never got above 60 degrees. The kids loved the mini-golf course and the playground too.
They also had an activity center that had several board games and free coffee that overlooked the pond area.
I did not receive the friendliest service from the front desk, but the gentleman who was out and about the campground doing maintenance was very friendly.
All and all, my first impression was way off base. If you are travelling to enjoy the campground grounds itself, this may not be the place for you. If you are looking for a campground with plenty to do, that is clean, and has views to knock the socks off of a horse, then this IS the place for you.
Oh, and we didn't have any trouble with the Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayco1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estes Park
0.1 mi away
Anniversary Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#41 of 78 in Estes Park
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#49 of 78 in Estes Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
WorldMark Estes Park
WorldMark Estes Park
#44 of 78 in Estes Park
72 reviews
18.9 mi away
Riverview RV Park
Riverview RV Park
#2 of 5 in Loveland
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lake RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lake RV Park

Property: Spruce Lake RV Park
Address: 1050 Marys Lake Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-8222
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Spruce Lake Rv Park Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing