We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Lake RV Park
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reasonable place”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Aug 1-2, 2013. This was our first stay in an RV ever, so at the time we had nothing to compare it to. But the location was perfect for exploring RMNP, and the annoyances other reviewers mention (overstuffed dumpster, crowded, etc.) didn't bother us much. In fact, one thing we really liked was that the sound from the stream in back created a soothing natural wash that helped us all sleep in our first couple of nights in the camper.

It does seem pricey after comparing it to some other places we tried along the way. But for these East Coast travelers, to be able to lift our eyes up and see mountains all around us was a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    28
    21
    26
See reviews for
94
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silsbee, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for the first and LAST TIME in July 2013......Huge Garbage bin stuffed full and stunk to high heavens!!!! Laundry was a rip off.....dryers were set on lowest they could be set on took 4 times to dry clothes and they were small loads...looked like people lived there Not on vacation....Office personnel not very friendly. Paid 60.00 a night.....rip off... stayed 2 nights...would of stayed one but they wouldn't refund for second night and there were vacant places. .My husband is handicapped and I told them this when I called to make reservations and they placed us way away from laundry and restroom....too far for him to walk...and there was vacant spots close to restroom and laundry both days we were there...We left and stayed gone the first day because of the garbage smell....Left early the second morning as fast as we could.....Not an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Don't Bother staying here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am sorry you had problems when you stayed in our park. You complained about the garbage smell, you are right, when the bins get 3/4 full we call waste management to come empty them. Most of the times they are there within a couple of hours. Twice this summer it took them 3 days, this was beyond our control. You mentioned that some sites looked like people lived there and were not on vacation. Our work campers do live here for the entire season. You accused us of setting the dryers to the lowest setting, these are set at the factory, drying times are determine by the size of the load you put in. You mentioned that we put your handicap husband so far from the restrooms that he couldn't use them, if you were that far from the restrooms how could you smell garbage that was in front of the restrooms? You rated our rooms and sleep quality poor, if you were in your own RV how is this our problem?

Again I am sorry for your problems, we have never claimed to be a Holiday Inn, we are a small country RV park.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Calhan, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at Spruce Lake RV Park for 3 nights Aug 10 - 13, 2013. I have stayed in 2 other parks in Estes Park and wanted to try out something new. The pictures were nice and the reviews were good for the most part. We travelled in a 32 ft motorhome and had a full size extended cab truck as there 5 adults and 1 dog in our group. Although the campsite was big enough to park the RV, there was no room for the truck without either hanging out on the park road or parking in an unoccupied campsite. After being told by camp ground personnel to "park here, park there, now you have to move it again", we had no choice but having to park halfway in the park road and were worried about getting clipped by another vehicle. I like the sites by the river but they only have electricy and water. The restrooms/shower facilities were clean. The pool was nice as was the hot tub. The staff was not outwardly rude but conveyed an uncaring attitude. One afternoon myself, my mother-in-law and my stepson (all adults) went for a swim and a soak in the hot tub. I noticed that an afternoon thunderstorm was moving in and mentioned to the others that we would have to leave the hot tub pretty soon. Just about then a campground employee stepped out of the office building, looked at us and jerked his thumb to gesture us to get out of the pool. I would have at least expected him to verbalize his request in a somewhat polite manner. There seems to be no consistency as to what they enforce and what they deem not so important. Here's and example: the campsites are sort of back to back. During our first night another RV pulled into the space behind us. The back of their RV as approx 2 feet into our site. Not a big deal. We even told them to tell the campground folks we did not care and there was no reason for them to move. After coming back to our trip into RMNP, the other campers told us that they were made to move anyways. Every morning starting about 9:30 the 'golf cart patrol' went through park and reminded everyone who was supposed to check out that day that they had till 11 to check out. Really! On the other hand, kids were running wild and using the bathrooms to hide creating a mess. No one seemed bothered by that.
I won't stay here again. Next time I go to Estes Park I will stay at the Manor RV Park (right next door) were the sites are grassy, the people are helpful without being obnoxious and the river sites have full hook-ups.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

over priced for very cramped quarters, 200+ dogs, two muzzled for meaness, and a very pretty river. avoid space 65H as it is facing the front road. Our space 88 was one of the better ones. Location is conveniently located and walking distance from activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I do take some exceptions to your comments. We are pet friendly and have a dog walk the full length of the river. I seriously doubt that there were 200+ dogs in the park, we only have 110 sites? You claim to have seen 2 with muzzles due to meanness , we control the breads that are allowed in the park to avoid the "mean" breeds. As far as being cramped, 98% of our sites are wide enough for an RV to be on one side and a car, carpet and picnic table to fill the other side. We are a campsite not a Walmart with unlimited parking.

I am sorry for your issues and your disappointed expectations, we are only a small RV park in the mountains of Colorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Spruce Lake RV Resort. We had a campsite near the Big Thompson River (more of a stream at the campground - but still very nice). It was a convenient location to explore the Rocky Mountain National Park. The campground is very clean and the staff ware friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin, UT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The website and reviews left me expecting something other than a flashback to an old comedic movie about a vacation road trip. That said, if you pay for the deluxe site they are wide and for someone with dogs (or kids) this almost works like a tiny yard. This place is humming with activity that I don't enjoy on a vacation. It's clean, I had a poor experience in their laundry, it couldn't be more convenient to RMNP, which is the whole point after all?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am sorry that we were not what you expected. We are family friendly and make every effort to have activities over the weekends. If this is not what you enjoy I would suggest that in the future when you make your reservations you ask about the park being family friendly and if they have activities.

We are not able to please everybody all of the time. Again, I am sorry for the fact that you did not enjoy yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I once again stayed here and it was as good as before. I do wish they would do some updating such as new paint etc... The WIFI is still slow and undependable and some of the staff act as though they would rather be somewhere else. Overall I would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estes Park
0.1 mi away
Anniversary Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#41 of 78 in Estes Park
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#49 of 78 in Estes Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
WorldMark Estes Park
WorldMark Estes Park
#44 of 78 in Estes Park
72 reviews
18.9 mi away
Riverview RV Park
Riverview RV Park
#2 of 5 in Loveland
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lake RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lake RV Park

Property: Spruce Lake RV Park
Address: 1050 Marys Lake Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-8222
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Spruce Lake Rv Park Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing