We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay- we hope to come back next summer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Lake RV Park
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First stay- we hope to come back next summer”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Spruce Lake RV Resort. We had a campsite near the Big Thompson River (more of a stream at the campground - but still very nice). It was a convenient location to explore the Rocky Mountain National Park. The campground is very clean and the staff ware friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    29
    23
    28
See reviews for
100
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virgin, UT
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The website and reviews left me expecting something other than a flashback to an old comedic movie about a vacation road trip. That said, if you pay for the deluxe site they are wide and for someone with dogs (or kids) this almost works like a tiny yard. This place is humming with activity that I don't enjoy on a vacation. It's clean, I had a poor experience in their laundry, it couldn't be more convenient to RMNP, which is the whole point after all?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am sorry that we were not what you expected. We are family friendly and make every effort to have activities over the weekends. If this is not what you enjoy I would suggest that in the future when you make your reservations you ask about the park being family friendly and if they have activities.

We are not able to please everybody all of the time. Again, I am sorry for the fact that you did not enjoy yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I once again stayed here and it was as good as before. I do wish they would do some updating such as new paint etc... The WIFI is still slow and undependable and some of the staff act as though they would rather be somewhere else. Overall I would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our first time Rv'ing and we found this place to be fine, unlike other reviews. We pulled in late as office was just closing. Check in was prompt and got an escort to our site (thankfully because they are not visible in the dark!). As the other reviewers mentioned, I do agree that this place is good for the stopover/base idea. We stayed two nights and it was fine. Laundy room was clean. Didn't use bathrooms so I don't know their condition. We were located in the back with the rushing river so that was a nice view and the rushing river sound was peaceful. The lake just got stocked the day before but we didn't have any luck when fishing, however, a few other people did. The playground was fine for my 4 kids (8,7,6,4). Mini golf was $1 - not worth it to us. The town shuttle picks you up at the market across the river and up a driveway which was great since we didn't two a car. If I had to do it again, I'd stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourtohaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Spruce Lake RV Park for 3 days in early July. We were very pleased to have a river front site so relaxing sound of the rushing water was a constant reminder that you were in the mountains and if the sound wasn't enough the mountain views in three directions were great.There was a small bridge across the river that took you right to a small market/grocery store and central Estes Park was only a short drive of a couple of miles.
On to the campground itself; the sites were well layed out and decent sized. The bathrooms were never overly crowded and always seemed to be in good condition, well stocked and clean. The dumpsters were stuffed to overflowing at one point but were emptied the next day. It would have been convenient if the office hours had been longer, there were a couple of times we would have liked to stop for information after they were already gone. Recreation was good with a small (and a bit dilapidated) mini-golf course, a small but clean pool, and a small fishing lake.. Overall I would recommend Spruce Lake RV Park to friends and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved the riverfront site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I CHECKED THE REVIEWS BEFORE I WENT, AND THEY HAD GOOD REVIEWS, UNTIL RECENTLY. NOW FOR SOME REASON THIS PLACE IS GOING TO H-- IN A HANDBASKET.
Needs a lot of maintence.. Bathroom was not cleaned at all one day, and trash can was overflowing,and one tolit was plugged up.. The staff is friendly, and will take time to chat with you, But maybe they should do a little less chatting, and a little more working. Bottom line is, this place is not 5 star, and not worth $59 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. You mentioned the bathrooms not cleaned at all one day, we make every effort to get the restrooms cleaned early in the day but, sometimes our housekeepers are very busy and it's later in the day before they get done but we do them every day. If the housekeepers are unable to get to the the maint. staff steps up and gets it done. If you do not wish to "chat" with the staff please, tell them you are busy and that will end it. We make ever effort to provide a clean safe environment for our guests. Please remember we are a rustic park at the enterance of Rocky Mountain National Park, we are not a Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Although the setting is beautiful and the place seems well-maintained, we were pretty disappointed by the campground. Everything we read made it sound like a kid-friendly place, but it didn't seem that way during our visit. Our kids were excited about the pool and hot tub. You have to be 18 to go in the hot tub and two of our five kids were reprimanded for typical kid pool behavior. Putt-putt golf costs $1 each time you play. There is a playground, but we heard a child get reprimanded for being too big to play on it. We felt like we were walking on eggshells most of the time we were there - it wasn't nearly as kid-friendly as we thought.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank 501KellyB501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estes Park
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#51 of 78 in Estes Park
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anniversary Inn Bed and Breakfast
18.9 mi away
Riverview RV Park
Riverview RV Park
#2 of 5 in Loveland
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lake RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lake RV Park

Property: Spruce Lake RV Park
Address: 1050 Marys Lake Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-8222
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Spruce Lake Rv Park Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing